IGNORED

Connecting many classic consoles to modern TV - Revisited

Hi,

I'm in my late 40's now. I am kind of new here but, been reading for many years. I work in IT and do the home theater thing so I know A/V stuff very well.

If you have been watching my posts over the last month or so, I have been trying to get all my classic consoles together, I am going to buy a 6' X 6' Ikea shelfing ( https://www.ikea.com/us/en/catalog/products/50360146/#/70301537) and MODIFY it so it can fit all these consoles, put a back on it(white back sheets) so you cant see through it (keep wires hidden as well). Route out a channel on the tops so I can put LED lights to light up each shelf with a central dimmer so I can adjust the brightness. My wife is not too crazy about this idea but, she knows it's GOING TO HAPPEN. Personally, I think it's going to look epic.

The lay out of the cabinets will allow me to setup 20 classic consoles (bottom level will be used for storage, controllers, etc), with another shelfing unit that I use for current consoles. The TV in this room (the layout would not allow a 2nd tv, so no CRT) is a LG 65" 4K TV. I have about 20-25 classic consoles NOT including anything from the last 8 or so years (Wii is classic, WiiU is not... for example). I have been testing them ONE BY ONE, all controllers, games, etc and they are all in a large spreadsheet with serial numbers

So, rattling my brain around this one. It's a VERY, very complex setup. The first part, get everything connected so it can be switched to use each system (I have a PRONTO remote that can do that). Then show/play on the TV with the best results.

So, we have RF, Composite, S-video, component, AND HDMI. The other major issue I have noticed. Lower res stuff over HDMI deals with a level of HDMI lag. I have read that it's close to 50ms on some res on my TV (cant replace it).