Jump to content

Photo

Calling the masters of TI automation... ;)


31 replies to this topic

#1 --- Ω --- OFFLINE  

--- Ω ---

    Sunbaenim

  • 13,495 posts

Posted Fri Nov 9, 2018 9:57 AM

Hey buddy, 

I have a question for you to ponder (when you have time).  Seeing that the P-Box version of the TIPI stays on and active 24/7, I thought, "What if?"

 

First, before I ask you the question, it would be assumed that Matt & Corey would 'add a function to the TIPI' before this could work.  That function would be to take a status poll on a regular basis, say once an hour and if the result is positive, send a signal to a USB port.

 

Okay Vorticon, now for your part! ;)

How would you take a signal from a USB port and process it to turn on three devices in sequence?

You might be wondering what am I talking about.  Well, here is an example... say you have a Chatti message, once the TIPI knows you have one waiting, it sends a usable signal to a device plugged into the RPi USB port.  The item plugged into the USB port would have to take the signal and then turn on three separate items in sequence, the P-Box, the TI console and then the monitor.

 

Of course a gadget like this could be used for other items as well, and there might have to be an auto-shut off worked into the thing after a pre-determined length of time, but I'm curious on what you think the best method would be.



#2 --- Ω --- OFFLINE  

--- Ω ---

    Sunbaenim

  • Topic Starter
  • 13,495 posts

Posted Sat Nov 10, 2018 6:53 AM

In thinking about this a little more, if a function like this was ever added to TIPI, it could also be accessed via any computer or cellphone on one's home network.  You could actually turn on your TI from the other room.   ;)

 

gallery_35324_1027_1936.jpg



#3 OLD CS1 OFFLINE  

OLD CS1

    Technomancer

  • 5,865 posts
  • Technology Samurai
  • Location:Tallahassee, FL

Posted Sat Nov 10, 2018 8:34 AM

eBay Auction -- Item Number: 253945136742



#4 OLD CS1 OFFLINE  

OLD CS1

    Technomancer

  • 5,865 posts
  • Technology Samurai
  • Location:Tallahassee, FL

Posted Sat Nov 10, 2018 10:10 AM

Last post was short, but the APC MasterSwitches are both serial and SNMP managed, eight individually addressable outlets.  I use these extensively.



#5 --- Ω --- OFFLINE  

--- Ω ---

    Sunbaenim

  • Topic Starter
  • 13,495 posts

Posted Sat Nov 10, 2018 5:15 PM

What about these << INEXPENSIVE WiFi OUTLETS >>?

 

Getting the RPI to do the task would be the hardest part.  I could also imagine a TI based control program too.

The day's of X10 have pretty much come and gone, this SEEMS like a viable modern day alternative that would enable us to use our TI's is so many new, exciting and fun ways.

 

A cordless solution!



#6 --- Ω --- OFFLINE  

--- Ω ---

    Sunbaenim

  • Topic Starter
  • 13,495 posts

Posted Sun Nov 11, 2018 12:22 AM

Nothing for the TIPI/RPi may ever develop, but the outlets are cheap, so decided to pop for a couple since they appear kinda neat and it'll be fun to experiment with them.

 

Now all I have to do is figure out a way to automate and switch batch file configurations for 4A/DOS.  Maybe a batch file that renames a couple of batch files, and another batch file that reverses the process?  This way I could set it up to automatically load Chatti on powerup... but if I did that, I'd have to figure out a way to swap it back to the normal batch file (selection screen) if I wanted.   Arrgh...

 

This video is a little weird and quirky, but it has some info...

 

 

But with a different APP, tinkerers might find this interesting...

 



#7 Vorticon OFFLINE  

Vorticon

    River Patroller

  • 3,495 posts
  • Location:Eagan, MN, USA

Posted Sun Nov 11, 2018 6:47 AM

I have really no idea how to do that altgough it is an interesting concept. Sounds like you are on the right path however :)
I'm sure smarter and more qualified people on this forum can help you out, starting with Old CS1.

#8 JB OFFLINE  

JB

    Quadrunner

  • 9,271 posts
  • With Stereo-Of-The-Art-Sound

Posted Sun Nov 11, 2018 7:54 AM

They actually still make X10 modules, and this is a task that is well-suited to their simplicity. It is also a well-documented and easy-to-implement protocol that isn't dependent on a remote server controlled by someone else.

I wouldn't build a full smart home with X10, but for a simple remote power switch, there's a compelling case to be made.

 

I'd use two appliance modules, one dedicated to the P-Box and the other connected to a short power strip so the console and monitor can be on one module. 

 

As a bonus... *puts on mad scientist hat*...

With X10 having RS-232 interfaces available, you don't need any TIPI updates. You could have a master TI running without a display monitoring CHATTI, and when it sees a message, it could hit the RS-232 card/sidecar to send out X10 commands to turn on the slave system's PBox, then a second later send the command turn on the slave's console and monitor. One TI turning on another remotely, the way absolutely no one ever intended.

And then when you're done, you can have the TI you're using send out commands to turn off the same X10 modules, "killing" itself until the next time... if you're lucky, and the timing works out right. 

All this done by a real mainframe-grade processor, instead of letting some silly ARM toy designed for cellphones take over the show. 

 

*takes off mad scientist hat*

 

 

 

 

 

There IS an X10 wifi module now, but... it doesn't really look like a good option.


Edited by JB, Sun Nov 11, 2018 7:54 AM.


#9 RXB OFFLINE  

RXB

    River Patroller

  • 3,458 posts
  • Location:Vancouver, Washington, USA

Posted Mon Nov 12, 2018 7:25 PM

What the hell is it with FAILURE TO ALLOW WIFI FROM COMPUTERS?

 

I mean I do not own a Smart or Mobile Phone as I am Retired, I need a Smartphone like I need a 5th leg.

 

I tried to get a WIFI Home Thermostat and guess what they only work with PHONES?

 

I actually sent a message to Honeywell asking why they ignored 99% of Uses that have a Computer but no phone? 

 

That is one hell of a lot of customers being ignored? Who is the moron that runs Honeywell?????

 

Anyway this device has the same issue and only works with Android....like Computers that run 99.9999% of internet do not exist?


Edited by RXB, Mon Nov 12, 2018 7:26 PM.


#10 OLD CS1 OFFLINE  

OLD CS1

    Technomancer

  • 5,865 posts
  • Technology Samurai
  • Location:Tallahassee, FL

Posted Mon Nov 12, 2018 7:44 PM

http://www.pewintern...t-sheet/mobile/



#11 --- Ω --- OFFLINE  

--- Ω ---

    Sunbaenim

  • Topic Starter
  • 13,495 posts

Posted Mon Nov 12, 2018 7:48 PM

Hi JB,

   I've always tended to lean more towards simplicity (for the user) and a low price point, which usually affords for a larger user pool.  Lately I've also been on a cord reduction quest and WiFi certainly leads to cost reduction and fewer cords.

 

   I still use X10 in my home, all for lighting.  I would have liked to control a few other things, but those appliance modules seem to have issues with wall warts.  I've also tried to get the Firecracker module to work with the TI in the past, to no avail.

 

   TIPI has hinted a the possibility of becoming the TI's "Swiss Army Knife", we'll see what happens as it matures.



#12 --- Ω --- OFFLINE  

--- Ω ---

    Sunbaenim

  • Topic Starter
  • 13,495 posts

Posted Mon Nov 12, 2018 8:01 PM

What the hell is it with FAILURE TO ALLOW WIFI FROM COMPUTERS?

 

I mean I do not own a Smart or Mobile Phone as I am Retired, I need a Smartphone like I need a 5th leg.

 

I tried to get a WIFI Home Thermostat and guess what they only work with PHONES?

 

I actually sent a message to Honeywell asking why they ignored 99% of Uses that have a Computer but no phone? 

 

That is one hell of a lot of customers being ignored? Who is the moron that runs Honeywell?????

 

Anyway this device has the same issue and only works with Android....like Computers that run 99.9999% of internet do not exist?

 

Being that corporations have a duty to their stock holders, the target demographic is usually the largest (most profitable).  It's hard to justify spending millions to develop something that may never give a reasonable return on investment.

 

Now from one POINT OF VIEW, I'm not sure I'd "need" to control my thermostat from my home computer, I'd just get my big butt out of my chair and adjust it manually, HOWEVER controlling it while I'm away makes sense on a cellphone which most people have anyway.

 

So, this begs the question... Who's going to write a cellphone emulator for Windows?  ;) 



#13 HOME AUTOMATION OFFLINE  

HOME AUTOMATION

    Chopper Commander

  • 245 posts
  • Location:"trapped in interspace"

Posted Mon Nov 12, 2018 9:07 PM

I have been known to dabble in "automation... ;)" from time to time myself. If I might be so bold... Though I do appreciate the many reasons for "auto-sequence start". I imagine you might be able to ahh... "when all is ready... I throw this switch!" instead... Or with an electrical box, wire up something with spade connectors. Like...

 

6c09a5d0054bf0ed.jpg

M@'s site mentions a CHATTI upgrade... I don't think you'll get far until you can get that message waiting signal... probably simple if you know PYTHON(I don't) or are intimately familiar with TIPI/CHATTI. Sounds like an RPI I\O PIN would serve well. perhaps a tiny wireless remote set would simplify connecting the two.
 

88988.02-1.jpg


Edited by HOME AUTOMATION, Mon Nov 12, 2018 9:16 PM.


#14 OLD CS1 OFFLINE  

OLD CS1

    Technomancer

  • 5,865 posts
  • Technology Samurai
  • Location:Tallahassee, FL

Posted Mon Nov 12, 2018 9:22 PM

 

So, this begs the question... Who's going to write a cellphone emulator for Windows?  ;) 

 

Already exists.  I used a Windows Mobile emulator way back when to show off what Windows Mobile could do for customers (already obsolete, obvs,) but also qemu does some damn amazing stuff.  Including running Android.



#15 arcadeshopper ONLINE  

arcadeshopper

    River Patroller

  • 4,069 posts
  • Location:Portland, Oregon USA

Posted Tue Nov 13, 2018 12:10 PM

What the hell is it with FAILURE TO ALLOW WIFI FROM COMPUTERS?

 

I mean I do not own a Smart or Mobile Phone as I am Retired, I need a Smartphone like I need a 5th leg.

 

I tried to get a WIFI Home Thermostat and guess what they only work with PHONES?

 

I actually sent a message to Honeywell asking why they ignored 99% of Uses that have a Computer but no phone? 

 

That is one hell of a lot of customers being ignored? Who is the moron that runs Honeywell?????

 

Anyway this device has the same issue and only works with Android....like Computers that run 99.9999% of internet do not exist?

 

you can load up a phone emu on your pc.. google android emulator



#16 --- Ω --- OFFLINE  

--- Ω ---

    Sunbaenim

  • Topic Starter
  • 13,495 posts

Posted Tue Nov 13, 2018 2:14 PM

I can confirm the switches work great!  :thumbsup:

I went with the Tuya APP.  It was easy to get everything up running and paired, which was good because it came without instructions.   



#17 RXB OFFLINE  

RXB

    River Patroller

  • 3,458 posts
  • Location:Vancouver, Washington, USA

Posted Tue Nov 13, 2018 5:17 PM

 

you can load up a phone emu on your pc.. google android emulator

Yea tried that and it  was both painful and zero documentation, again written by people that do hardware and do not explain how it works or how to load and run it.

 

Got the Android emulator for Windows 10 and spent 3 days trying to get it to work....no luck. Documentation is almost useless.

 

LOL said it can not talk to the WIFI device but sees every other WIFI device EXCEPT THE ONLY ANDROID DEVICE I OWN? (Yea it sucks that much!)



#18 OLD CS1 OFFLINE  

OLD CS1

    Technomancer

  • 5,865 posts
  • Technology Samurai
  • Location:Tallahassee, FL

Posted Tue Nov 13, 2018 7:52 PM

I run Android x86 in a VirtualBox VM I use for testing.  Not terrible.  I have it bridged to my wireless network adapter for internal network stuff when I need it, otherwise it stays on the NAT network.



#19 --- Ω --- OFFLINE  

--- Ω ---

    Sunbaenim

  • Topic Starter
  • 13,495 posts

Posted Tue Nov 13, 2018 9:43 PM

While it would be nice, I have serious doubts that a program will even be made for the TI/TIPI that works with these WiFi outlets.

First the program would have to be analysed to figure out how it communicates with the server, and they might not take too kindly to hobbyist applications using their network.

There is of course the pass code for the account and you must provide your WiFi password for the devices to work, although I do not know if that information stays isolated or if it's shared with the servers. 

 

Since the TI/TIPI/RPi resides in your home, it might be possible to do an end-run around the need to use their network and access it directly, but someone would need to do a lot of packet sniffing to decode all the felgercarb.



#20 Vorticon OFFLINE  

Vorticon

    River Patroller

  • 3,495 posts
  • Location:Eagan, MN, USA

Posted Wed Nov 14, 2018 2:24 PM

Could we please change the title of this post? I think my skills are way oversold here...  :P



#21 RXB OFFLINE  

RXB

    River Patroller

  • 3,458 posts
  • Location:Vancouver, Washington, USA

Posted Wed Nov 14, 2018 4:59 PM

 

you can load up a phone emu on your pc.. google android emulator

Yea could not get it to see the only Android device in house? LOL what a piece of junk software.

 

Netgear Router could see the Android Thermostat but could not get it to communicate.

HP Desktop and Laptop could see  the Android Thermostat but could not get it to communicate.

 

I mean what a bunch of idiots make a device WIFI and only a Android Phone can talk to it?

Oh unless you have a Apple Phone and load a special app to do that. (same app will not work on Mac Pro Tower????)

 

But no PC version app? (What a bunch of morons.)


Edited by RXB, Wed Nov 14, 2018 5:06 PM.


#22 --- Ω --- OFFLINE  

--- Ω ---

    Sunbaenim

  • Topic Starter
  • 13,495 posts

Posted Wed Nov 14, 2018 6:46 PM

Could we please change the title of this post? I think my skills are way oversold here...  :P

 

Done!  ;-)



#23 HOME AUTOMATION OFFLINE  

HOME AUTOMATION

    Chopper Commander

  • 245 posts
  • Location:"trapped in interspace"

Posted Wed Nov 14, 2018 9:54 PM

You did say 3...



CPS UNIVERSAL AC POWER SWITCH (U-X3)

Spoiler
:)



#24 --- Ω --- OFFLINE  

--- Ω ---

    Sunbaenim

  • Topic Starter
  • 13,495 posts

Posted Wed Nov 14, 2018 11:37 PM

 

But no PC version app? (What a bunch of morons.)

 

I seem to recall hearing something about Cortana (Within Windows 10) being able to control SmartHome devices and light switches and stuff, but for the life of me I've not been able to find the proper screen to enable it.



#25 RXB OFFLINE  

RXB

    River Patroller

  • 3,458 posts
  • Location:Vancouver, Washington, USA

Posted Thu Nov 15, 2018 3:35 PM

 

I seem to recall hearing something about Cortana (Within Windows 10) being able to control SmartHome devices and light switches and stuff, but for the life of me I've not been able to find the proper screen to enable it.

Hmm Honeywell devices will not talk to anything but Android and nothing else.

Why you need a Apple Iphone special Android app, and load NOX (CRAPWARE) a Android Emulator for Windows.

 

The fact that many Corporations think Smart Phones over Computers boggles the mind.

Smart Phones are easy to lose, steal, and have the memory of a USB stick and are slow to only running very very small unsophisticated programs.


Edited by RXB, Thu Nov 15, 2018 3:35 PM.





0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users