Jump to content

Photo

load atari basic programs in turbo basic xl


14 replies to this topic

#1 pmgraphics OFFLINE  

pmgraphics

    Space Invader

  • 23 posts

Posted Fri Nov 9, 2018 5:21 PM

I read that turbo basic xl can run atari basic programs at about 3 times the speed. I have some atari basic programs that I made ages ago that are slow. I tried to load them with turbo basic xl but I keep getting an error 170 ?FILE. The progams load fine in atari basic. is it not possible to load atari basic programs in turbo basic xl?

 

I am using Altirra 2.7 as 600XL/800XL.

 

thanks

 



#2 gozar OFFLINE  

gozar

    Dragonstomper

  • 909 posts
  • Location:Ohio

Posted Fri Nov 9, 2018 6:48 PM

I read that turbo basic xl can run atari basic programs at about 3 times the speed. I have some atari basic programs that I made ages ago that are slow. I tried to load them with turbo basic xl but I keep getting an error 170 ?FILE. The progams load fine in atari basic. is it not possible to load atari basic programs in turbo basic xl?

 

I am using Altirra 2.7 as 600XL/800XL.

 

thanks

 

 

Error 170 is "File not found". In TBXL type DIR to get a drive listing. Double-check the filename.



#3 Kyle22 OFFLINE  

Kyle22

    River Patroller

  • 3,660 posts
  • Call my BBS! telnet://broadway1.lorexddns.net
  • Location:McKees Rocks (Pittsburgh), PA

Posted Fri Nov 9, 2018 10:12 PM

LOAD "D:FILENAME.EXT" or, if they are saved as text files, ENTER "D:FILENAME.EXT"



#4 pmgraphics OFFLINE  

pmgraphics

    Space Invader

  • Topic Starter
  • 23 posts

Posted Fri Nov 9, 2018 10:41 PM

The file name is correct, it's QUEST.SAV. whether I use load "D:QUEST.SAV" or load "D:QUEST.EXT" they both have the same error-   170 ?file.

 

Using load "D:QUEST.SAV" in atari basic the program loads and runs.

 

In altirra I attach

disk one to: Turbo_Basic_XL.atr

disk two to: my_programs.atr


Edited by pmgraphics, Fri Nov 9, 2018 10:51 PM.


#5 MrFish OFFLINE  

MrFish

    River Patroller

  • 4,993 posts
  • Location:1010-1010

Posted Fri Nov 9, 2018 11:31 PM

The file name is correct, it's QUEST.SAV. whether I use load "D:QUEST.SAV" or load "D:QUEST.EXT" they both have the same error-   170 ?file.

 

Using load "D:QUEST.SAV" in atari basic the program loads and runs.

 

In altirra I attach

disk one to: Turbo_Basic_XL.atr

disk two to: my_programs.atr

 

Well, there's your problem...

 

If your programs are in D2, then your load command should be LOAD "D2:QUEST.SAV"... not "D:QUEST.SAV".


Edited by MrFish, Fri Nov 9, 2018 11:33 PM.


#6 _The Doctor__ OFFLINE  

_The Doctor__

    Quadrunner

  • 5,535 posts
  • Location:10-0-11-00:02

Posted Sat Nov 10, 2018 7:20 AM

face palm...



#7 pmgraphics OFFLINE  

pmgraphics

    Space Invader

  • Topic Starter
  • 23 posts

Posted Sat Nov 10, 2018 4:03 PM

Actually I did use LOAD "D2:QUEST.SAV". the D was just a typo in this post. 



#8 slx OFFLINE  

slx

    Stargunner

  • 1,551 posts
  • Location:Vienna, Austria

Posted Sat Nov 10, 2018 4:16 PM

Actually I did use LOAD "D2:QUEST.SAV". the D was just a typo in this post. 

 

Do you see your file if you do DIR "D2:*.* ?

 

If you don't load Turbo BASIC, does it load normally from Disk 2?

 

Depending on the DOS you use, is the DOS set up for dual drives?

 

I have attached a more or less "blank" Turbo BASIC XL with XDOS which is capable of dual drives. You can boot with that version and try if it loads from Disk 2. 

 

AFAIK Turbo BASIC XL will not work correctly with DOSes that use memory below the OS (as TBXL uses that area for itself). It didn't work with DOS XL for me but I have not tried a lot of others. Depending on the DOS you use you might have to remove the RAMDISK.

Attached Files


Edited by slx, Sat Nov 10, 2018 4:18 PM.


#9 pmgraphics OFFLINE  

pmgraphics

    Space Invader

  • Topic Starter
  • 23 posts

Posted Sat Nov 10, 2018 8:37 PM

The command DIR "D2:*.* produces the message: 999+free sectors.

 

If I use the disk (the atr file) with QUEST on it by itself, the game does load and play. 

 

>is the DOS set up for dual drives

I can use this atr in drive2 and a second atr in drive1, load a program from drive1 and save it to drive2.

The atr file is DOS3 if that matters. 

 

I tried your turbobasicxl_dos.atr and it produced the same load error and DIR "D2:*.*" created a similar message: ??? free sectors.

 

If I need to transfer my programs from dos3 atr files to a different dos atr file, how can I do that?

 

Thanks



#10 Sikor OFFLINE  

Sikor

    Stargunner

  • 1,424 posts
  • Location:Warsaw/Poland

Posted Sun Nov 11, 2018 1:44 AM

@pmgraphics: extension *.sav? I think, you dont use any DOS and save savestate of altirra, yes? So, simplyu copy your listing as text in altirra, next - load Turbo Basic XL with any DOS, paste text from clipboard and save as "D:name.ext". Run it now.

Edit:

ohh, you attach Load from D2. You load Turbo Basic first? Step by step:

- Attach disk 1 with Turbo Basic XL and DOS

- attach disk 2 with your programs

- boot without Basic

- load Turbo Basic XL

- DIR "D2:*.*" - list of your games

- now LOAD "D2:name.ext"

good luck.


Edited by Sikor, Sun Nov 11, 2018 2:05 AM.


#11 phaeron OFFLINE  

phaeron

    River Patroller

  • 2,595 posts
  • Location:Bay Area, CA, USA

Posted Sun Nov 11, 2018 1:49 PM

Your disk being DOS 3 formatted is the problem. Those disks typically can't be read from any other DOS, including the one that Turbo-Basic XL is booting from.

 

To resolve this, upgrade to Altirra 3.10 and use its option to convert the disk from DOS 3 to DOS 2 format. This option is on the triangle button for the drive in the Disk Drives dialog, under Convert Filesystem > DOS 2.0S/2.5. Do this on a copy of the disk image. You can also use Disk Explorer to copy the files out to the PC and back into a DOS 2 disk image.



#12 _The Doctor__ OFFLINE  

_The Doctor__

    Quadrunner

  • 5,535 posts
  • Location:10-0-11-00:02

Posted Sun Nov 11, 2018 2:22 PM

or copy the turbo basic disk to a dos 3 disk if it's not going to be a memory conflict.... all of these DOS disk came with conversion utils to copy from one format to another... 2-3 3-2.5 (and that would cover 2 if sd) etc. etc.

 

but seriously, who would think to try to use incompatible formats together like this, it is akin to using dos 2 and trying to read a dos 2.5 extended file or even just using a MyDos disk to read SDFS or something...

 

we don't have his specific disks so we can't know what DOS he is using on his turbo basic disk... even though folks tried to get him to copy his files to other dos disks to be certain about this..

 

so again. Palm - Face

 

on the other hand it's probably solved so :) thumbs up.


Edited by _The Doctor__, Sun Nov 11, 2018 2:32 PM.


#13 pmgraphics OFFLINE  

pmgraphics

    Space Invader

  • Topic Starter
  • 23 posts

Posted Sun Nov 11, 2018 8:24 PM

the basic turbo xl atr, according to disk explorer, is DOS 2.x. So I need to get my programs from the DOS3 atr onto a DOS 2 atr. How exactly do I, "...use Disk Explorer to copy the files out to the PC and back into a DOS 2 disk image," as phaeron mentioned. In disc explorer I don't see the option to copy files out to the Pc and back then back into altirra.

 

Also the DOS3 menu system seems to only have an option to convert DOS2 to DOS3, if I understood it correctly, as below, the source is DOS2 and destination DOS3.

Access DOS 2 utility
Copyright 1983, Atari
 
Source drive number? 2
DOS 2 filename? Q.SAV
 
Destination drive number? 3
DOS 3 filename?


#14 Wrathchild OFFLINE  

Wrathchild

    River Patroller

  • 2,108 posts
  • Location:Reading, UK.

Posted Sun Nov 11, 2018 8:31 PM

You can drag drop files between the disk explorer window and a file explorer window and vice-versa

#15 pmgraphics OFFLINE  

pmgraphics

    Space Invader

  • Topic Starter
  • 23 posts

Posted Sun Nov 11, 2018 8:52 PM

Thanks Wrathchild that was simple. My program now loads in turbo basic xl, and it is fast, crazy fast. (thanks phaeron, I now see what you meant)


Edited by pmgraphics, Sun Nov 11, 2018 9:10 PM.





0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users