Jump to content

Photo

Rapid fire


40 replies to this topic

#1 grips03 OFFLINE  

grips03

    River Patroller

  • 3,806 posts
  • Location:New England

Posted Sun Nov 18, 2018 9:48 AM

What games besides Raiden benefit from rapid fire?

 

In Raiden A and B are used to shoot.  What other buttons besides A or B benefit from rapid fire?



#2 Songbird OFFLINE  

Songbird

    Stargunner

  • 1,582 posts

Posted Sun Nov 18, 2018 2:55 PM

Zero 5 and Trevor McFur also benefit from rapid fire.



#3 grips03 OFFLINE  

grips03

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 3,806 posts
  • Location:New England

Posted Sun Nov 18, 2018 3:23 PM

Zero 5 and Trevor McFur are both "B" for fire, same as Raiden.



#4 walter_J64bit OFFLINE  

walter_J64bit

    Quadrunner

  • 5,201 posts
  • Location:Goldsboro NC

Posted Sun Nov 18, 2018 5:11 PM

Put me on the list for a Rapid fire mod I've been looking for some time now.  ;)


Edited by walter_J64bit, Sun Nov 18, 2018 5:11 PM.


#5 walter_J64bit OFFLINE  

walter_J64bit

    Quadrunner

  • 5,201 posts
  • Location:Goldsboro NC

Posted Sun Nov 18, 2018 5:17 PM

Zero 5 and Trevor McFur are both "B" for fire, same as Raiden.

I think all games default "B" as the fire button.


Edited by walter_J64bit, Sun Nov 18, 2018 5:18 PM.


#6 CD-i OFFLINE  

CD-i

    Moonsweeper

  • 272 posts

Posted Sun Nov 18, 2018 6:04 PM

cybermorph too

#7 grips03 OFFLINE  

grips03

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 3,806 posts
  • Location:New England

Posted Sun Nov 18, 2018 6:21 PM

There are four controllers cases, right?

 

Gray keypad

Black keypad

Pro Controller

Pro Controller remake

 

Or five if you count arcade sticks

NeoGeoX



#8 Zerosquare OFFLINE  

Zerosquare

    River Patroller

  • 2,757 posts
  • Location:France

Posted Sun Nov 18, 2018 6:38 PM

There's a part in the tech docs called "Jaguar Development Standards" (yes, there IS such a thing :D) that says this about the buttons:

The "B" button should be used as the primary action button; the "A" button should be used as the secondary action button. The "C" button should be used as the third action button. If a button is not used then it should be used as another "B" button. There must be an option to allow users to reconfigure the default settings.

Buttons must be implemented this way.


Edited by Zerosquare, Sun Nov 18, 2018 6:38 PM.


#9 walter_J64bit OFFLINE  

walter_J64bit

    Quadrunner

  • 5,201 posts
  • Location:Goldsboro NC

Posted Sun Nov 18, 2018 6:59 PM

There are four controllers cases, right?

 

Gray keypad

Black keypad

Pro Controller

Pro Controller remake

 

Or five if you count arcade sticks

NeoGeoX

There is one call the Power Pad it was made for STe and Falcon line of computers but Atari sent them out with Jaguar Development Systems, I didn't think many Jag fans have them but I have one. :P   http://atariage.com/...-1463063761.jpg


Edited by walter_J64bit, Sun Nov 18, 2018 7:00 PM.


#10 grips03 OFFLINE  

grips03

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 3,806 posts
  • Location:New England

Posted Sun Nov 18, 2018 7:12 PM

I'm going to assume that Power Pad shell looks like either the Gray or Black keypad shells. 

 

If you want to open it and take picture of inside of case that would help.



#11 walter_J64bit OFFLINE  

walter_J64bit

    Quadrunner

  • 5,201 posts
  • Location:Goldsboro NC

Posted Sun Nov 18, 2018 9:06 PM

This is a first, I've haven't been inside of the power pad.

Attached Thumbnails

  • image.jpg
  • image.jpg
  • image.jpg
  • image.jpg


#12 grips03 OFFLINE  

grips03

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 3,806 posts
  • Location:New England

Posted Sun Nov 18, 2018 9:16 PM

Same as the Black keypad model.



#13 walter_J64bit OFFLINE  

walter_J64bit

    Quadrunner

  • 5,201 posts
  • Location:Goldsboro NC

Posted Sun Nov 18, 2018 9:38 PM

Same as the Black keypad model.

Good to know if I'm in need of parts. :P



#14 grips03 OFFLINE  

grips03

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 3,806 posts
  • Location:New England

Posted Sun Nov 18, 2018 9:40 PM

D-pad on the Power Pad seems nicer.



#15 walter_J64bit OFFLINE  

walter_J64bit

    Quadrunner

  • 5,201 posts
  • Location:Goldsboro NC

Posted Sun Nov 18, 2018 9:48 PM

D-pad on the Power Pad seems nicer.

You get "Nintendo Thumb" when using the Atari Power Pad :? so it not my daily driver.



#16 Lynxpro OFFLINE  

Lynxpro

    River Patroller

  • 3,713 posts
  • Location:Sacramento, CA

Posted Mon Nov 19, 2018 1:23 AM

D-pad on the Power Pad seems nicer.

 

They also have shorter cables because Atari Corp's thinking was the player would be sitting right in front of their Atari STe/Falcon030, whereas the Panther/Jaguar would've been more for couch gaming and thus had longer cables.

 

The ST Power Pads were virtually impossible to buy in the States back then; same with the 7800 "EuroPads"... Funny how that was.



#17 grips03 OFFLINE  

grips03

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 3,806 posts
  • Location:New England

Posted Mon Nov 19, 2018 10:42 AM

Is there a joystick test rom that supports Team Tap?



#18 Zerosquare OFFLINE  

Zerosquare

    River Patroller

  • 2,757 posts
  • Location:France

Posted Mon Nov 19, 2018 2:02 PM

http://mdgames.de/jag_eng.htm
Search for " Joypad-testing program".

Edited by Zerosquare, Mon Nov 19, 2018 2:02 PM.


#19 skip OFFLINE  

skip

    Moonsweeper

  • 411 posts
  • Location:Adelaide, SA

Posted Mon Nov 19, 2018 4:30 PM

Does anyone have a Danny Galaga rapid fire kit theyd want to sell me? Or, even better for the community, is there a schematic that could be applied / adapted? Many many years ago when I made my Jag arcade stick/rotary I had plans to include a rapid fire mode for button B, even going so far as to draw up example schematics using a 555 timer chip. I couldnt quite nail the design, and I know that my applied knowledge of such things is much worse now than it ever was then ;)

Im feeling the desire to gut my existing arcade stick and / or remake one. Having a professional looking arcade stick with 8 buttons, keypad, a spinner, and rapid fire (preferably with an adjustable pot) would be the best thing ever :) As an aside, I wonder how much people would pay for such a thing lol. ;)

Edited by skip, Mon Nov 19, 2018 4:30 PM.


#20 Zerosquare OFFLINE  

Zerosquare

    River Patroller

  • 2,757 posts
  • Location:France

Posted Mon Nov 19, 2018 4:43 PM

https://www.jagware....d-autofire-mod/

#21 rayik OFFLINE  

rayik

    Moonsweeper

  • 438 posts
  • Location:DFW area, Texas

Posted Tue Nov 20, 2018 7:33 AM

I was lucky enough to get one of danny galaga's rapid fire kits. Rapid fire is nice to have but as this thread shows, not many games benefit from it. More of a novelty than something that will be used often.

#22 walter_J64bit OFFLINE  

walter_J64bit

    Quadrunner

  • 5,201 posts
  • Location:Goldsboro NC

Posted Tue Nov 20, 2018 1:37 PM

Thanks Zerosquare, your knowledge of the Jag is awesome!  :thumbsup:  :thumbsup:  Has anyone tried this mod out yet?



#23 Major Havoc 2049 OFFLINE  

Major Havoc 2049

    Dragonstomper

  • 947 posts
  • Location:California, USA

Posted Wed Nov 21, 2018 1:14 PM

 

They also have shorter cables because Atari Corp's thinking was the player would be sitting right in front of their Atari STe/Falcon030, whereas the Panther/Jaguar would've been more for couch gaming and thus had longer cables.

 

The ST Power Pads were virtually impossible to buy in the States back then; same with the 7800 "EuroPads"... Funny how that was.

 

The initial run of pack-in controllers from the 1993 Jaguar launch also have short cords.  Atari Power Pads were available at Atari ST computer dealers in the US back when they came out, but by 1993 and 1994, there were only a handful left.  So ya, they were virtually impossible to buy.  I bought my Atari Power Pad at Toad Computers in Maryland.

 

vTBMiY7.jpg


Edited by Major Havoc 2049, Wed Nov 21, 2018 1:25 PM.


#24 grips03 OFFLINE  

grips03

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 3,806 posts
  • Location:New England

Posted Fri Nov 23, 2018 11:29 AM

Is anyone interested in a new rapid fire kit for Jaguar 3 button controllers? 

Rapid fire would work by turning rapid fire ON and then holding down the button.  Rapid fire would be tuned for Raiden.

 

If rapid fire was only for button B would that be good enough?

Would you pay $15 more for rapid fire LED.  Small Red LED would be above the button(s).

If you had two pick two buttons for rapid fire they would be B and A, or B and C?

If you wanted to turn on/off rapid fire per action button would you pay $10 more?

Figure a base kit price of ~$30-35, B button only and no LED



#25 Machine OFFLINE  

Machine

    Dragonstomper

  • 579 posts
  • Location:Colorado

Posted Fri Nov 23, 2018 12:54 PM

Is anyone interested in a new rapid fire kit for Jaguar 3 button controllers? 

Rapid fire would work by turning rapid fire ON and then holding down the button.  Rapid fire would be tuned for Raiden.

 

If rapid fire was only for button B would that be good enough?

Would you pay $15 more for rapid fire LED.  Small Red LED would be above the button(s).

If you had two pick two buttons for rapid fire they would be B and A, or B and C?

If you wanted to turn on/off rapid fire per action button would you pay $10 more?

Figure a base kit price of ~$30-35, B button only and no LED

 

I would want at least two!

Would you be willing to do install?






0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users