Jump to content

Photo

retroTINK?


38 replies to this topic

#26 OLD CS1 OFFLINE  

OLD CS1

    Technomancer

  • 5,865 posts
  • Technology Samurai
  • Location:Tallahassee, FL

Posted Thu Jan 3, 2019 5:26 PM

Good news first: it works quite well with the TI.  I will test with an HDMI video capture later for the fun.

 

Bad news, my Onkyo receiver is finicky about its inputs and often causes problems for HDMI sources.  My Intel NUC media computer, for instance, video playback will lock up any time anything changes with the Onlyo (like turning on the second video output, etc.)  When the retroTINK is idle it displays a color bar pattern in 480p.  Turn on the TI and you get the power-on "honk," then the Onkyo flips out for a few seconds before bringing up the screen.  Afterward there is no sound.

 

I tested directly to an HDMI monitor and everything works fine.  As well, this does not happen with the NES.  Bummer.  I might see if this is something which can be fixed in the retroTINK.  The Onkyo works fine for composite input on its own, but it does treat the signal as interlaced so the standard tearing applies.

 

Otherwise, for portable purposes this will work for me.



#27 DavidC OFFLINE  

DavidC

    Star Raider

  • Topic Starter
  • 80 posts

Posted Fri Jan 4, 2019 4:28 PM

@OLD CS1

You wouldn't possibly also have a C64 you could try...would you? I'm very curious if the TINK works with that as well. It will still be a few weeks until mine arrives...

#28 OLD CS1 OFFLINE  

OLD CS1

    Technomancer

  • 5,865 posts
  • Technology Samurai
  • Location:Tallahassee, FL

Posted Fri Jan 4, 2019 6:11 PM

@OLD CS1

You wouldn't possibly also have a C64 you could try...would you? I'm very curious if the TINK works with that as well. It will still be a few weeks until mine arrives...

 

I do. Standard 64C, 64Reloaded Mk2, and a 128D ready to try out.  Should have time this weekend.



#29 OLD CS1 OFFLINE  

OLD CS1

    Technomancer

  • 5,865 posts
  • Technology Samurai
  • Location:Tallahassee, FL

Posted Mon Jan 7, 2019 7:09 AM

Unfortunately I worked 13 hours yesterday and did not have time.  I should have time tonight after taking down Christmas lights and blowing leaves off the roof.

 

I also need to come up with a way to measure latency.  Several people complain about latency on the TheC64 Mini, but I do not perceive it when playing. Thus, I do not expect to be able to perceive latency on the retroTINK unless it is just off-the-scale horrible.



#30 OLD CS1 OFFLINE  

OLD CS1

    Technomancer

  • 5,865 posts
  • Technology Samurai
  • Location:Tallahassee, FL

Posted Mon Jan 7, 2019 10:58 PM

Well, with the C64... the results are not good.  Really bad, actually.  Video is dim, whether using straight composite or S-Video output (both custom cable and C64 Reloaded Mk2 output.)  Sounds are over-amplified.  The retroTINK refuses to sync properly upon computer power-up, showing black-and-white, requiring the video cable be removed and plugged back in.

 

For me, this is turning out to be quite a disappointment.  I get no sound when using the TI, and the video quality from my C64s is disappointing.  I made some videos but the audio is screwy due to a dirty 6581 pin.  If you want, I will extract some frames of the video.



#31 OLD CS1 OFFLINE  

OLD CS1

    Technomancer

  • 5,865 posts
  • Technology Samurai
  • Location:Tallahassee, FL

Posted Tue Jan 8, 2019 12:02 AM

Okay, to be fair to the retroTINK, the over-amplified audio is actually clipping.  The output from the 64 is pretty high.

 

I recorded Stereo SID Player playing "Johnny B. Goode".  Turn your volume down before clicking play.

 

Dr. J5's "Johnny B. Goode" in Stereo SID Player

 

 

In the video you can see the sync problem.



#32 DavidC OFFLINE  

DavidC

    Star Raider

  • Topic Starter
  • 80 posts

Posted Tue Jan 8, 2019 2:20 PM

Well, with the C64... the results are not good.  Really bad, actually.  Video is dim, whether using straight composite or S-Video output (both custom cable and C64 Reloaded Mk2 output.)  Sounds are over-amplified.  The retroTINK refuses to sync properly upon computer power-up, showing black-and-white, requiring the video cable be removed and plugged back in.
 
For me, this is turning out to be quite a disappointment.  I get no sound when using the TI, and the video quality from my C64s is disappointing.  I made some videos but the audio is screwy due to a dirty 6581 pin.  If you want, I will extract some frames of the video.



Well, that blows. I was really hoping for it to work with the 64. I've been waiting for over a month for mine to ship (I knew it would be a wait, so that's ok). But the results of your tests are very disappointing. I do have nintendos and stuff to use it with but I use my computers way more than my consoles. It was a gamble, I was aware of that....oh well. Maybe I can sell mine if it turns out to be useless to me. Thanks for sharing the outcome of your tests.

#33 DavidC OFFLINE  

DavidC

    Star Raider

  • Topic Starter
  • 80 posts

Posted Tue Jan 8, 2019 6:25 PM

Good news first: it works quite well with the TI.  I will test with an HDMI video capture later for the fun.
 
Bad news, my Onkyo receiver is finicky about its inputs and often causes problems for HDMI sources..

I've thought about this topic, and remembered this. Is it possible your monitor/tv is not thrilled about the TINK? Maybe on a $98 Walmart LED tv it might work! Maybe...maybe...please! Lol. I will try it and hopefully be pleasantly surprised. (Grasping at straws..)

Edited by DavidC, Tue Jan 8, 2019 6:28 PM.


#34 OLD CS1 OFFLINE  

OLD CS1

    Technomancer

  • 5,865 posts
  • Technology Samurai
  • Location:Tallahassee, FL

Posted Tue Jan 8, 2019 8:49 PM

I've thought about this topic, and remembered this. Is it possible your monitor/tv is not thrilled about the TINK? Maybe on a $98 Walmart LED tv it might work! Maybe...maybe...please! Lol. I will try it and hopefully be pleasantly surprised. (Grasping at straws..)

 

I tried the TI-99/4A on on Onkyo receiver, Optoma projector, and an HDMI monitor.  Only the Onkyo presented the audio problem, but since it was my plan to use the rT with my entertainment system, this fact makes it only good for mobile purposes.  The problem for the TI was the Onkyo, to be perfectly fair.

 

However, with the Commodore 64, I tried the HDMI monitor, Optoma projector, and my USB3 HDMI capture device.  All devices showed the same behavior with the rT.

 

I was not able to try my 128D output for reasons.  I am going to pull out another 64C to see if maybe my video output from the test unit is less than optimal.



#35 Asmusr ONLINE  

Asmusr

    River Patroller

  • 3,000 posts
  • Location:Denmark

Posted Mon Jan 14, 2019 12:37 PM

I'm getting a reasonably good picture with sound from the RetroTINK using my NTSC TI-99/4A console and a rather old flat screen TV. I don't think the picture is better than connecting the composite output directly to the TV, but it's much easier to find a capture device that works with HDMI than composite.



#36 DavidC OFFLINE  

DavidC

    Star Raider

  • Topic Starter
  • 80 posts

Posted Mon Jan 14, 2019 10:58 PM

With much less enthusiasm than I had, 2 months ago, I'm still waiting. Maybe it will be fine....haha. Yeah.

#37 OLD CS1 OFFLINE  

OLD CS1

    Technomancer

  • 5,865 posts
  • Technology Samurai
  • Location:Tallahassee, FL

Posted Mon Jan 14, 2019 11:02 PM

I expect to finally have time tomorrow to try out another C64 just to be sure.  I will let you know what I find.  I am also going to see if I can prevent the lost sound on the TI because, as Rasmus noted with his, the TI video is quite nice.



#38 arcadeshopper ONLINE  

arcadeshopper

    River Patroller

  • 4,068 posts
  • Location:Portland, Oregon USA

Posted Tue Jan 15, 2019 12:09 AM

I have a buddy at work who brought in his
to hook up a vic 20. Had interference on the screen.. Not impressed

Sent from my LG-H872 using Tapatalk

#39 DavidC OFFLINE  

DavidC

    Star Raider

  • Topic Starter
  • 80 posts

Posted Wed Jan 16, 2019 5:31 PM

I will be happy if it works well with my TI, because my f18 modded console does not get along with my cf7+ and I can't use my nanoPEB because my f18 console has 32k expansion built in....so.. If it works with my OEM TI, I will be happy.

The C64 would just be a added bonus.


I hope that made sense...lol.

Edited by DavidC, Wed Jan 16, 2019 5:48 PM.





0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users