Jump to content

Photo

The Hidden Reef


30 replies to this topic

#26 Opry99er ONLINE  

Opry99er

    Quadrunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 10,380 posts
  • Location:Hustisford, WI

Posted Fri Jan 4, 2019 4:42 PM

If you have TI99Dir and the HDX server on your PC---and CFHDXS1 on your TI, you don't need a TIFILES header. Just transfer over the V9T9 file just as it is. It'll run fine. It will also retain its TI name as opposed to carrying with it the PC conversion names

#27 jmazzy OFFLINE  

jmazzy

    Space Invader

  • 43 posts
  • Location:Chicago, Illinois

Posted Fri Jan 4, 2019 9:34 PM

I experienced the same error: http://atariage.com/...port/?p=4134008

 

Here is the solution that worked for me, hopefully it will help you:

http://atariage.com/...port/?p=4139194

Thanks for the post!!! Yes, the manner in which they are transferred to the TI is important. I can send you the individual updated, correct V9T9 file set I transferred using CFHDXS1 if you'd like, jmazzy. What transfer program are you using, by the way?

 

Thank you both for the feedback.

 

Twoodland:  the error message and the LIST output I'm seeing are identical to what you experienced.  But I've checked the Telco disk directory, and I don't seem to see the file naming anomaly you mentioned; all of the filenames still show the '>', not '@'.

 

Owen:  yes, I'd be grateful for a copy of that individual updated V9T9 file set.

 

Below is the process I've been using to transfer files to the TI.  It seems to have worked for other files thus far although, admittedly, I haven't moved many files back and forth.  Sounds like I've been missing a step?...or as Twoodland asked, is there a 'best method' for transferring files?

 

My TI is configured with an original TI 5.25 floppy drive as DSK1 and a Lotharek HxC as DSK2.  My goal is to run Telco from the Lotharek (DSK2). 

 

My main computer is a Macbook, and I've downloaded Telco directly from Vorticon's earlier post.  I've copied that .DSK file from my Mac to my virtual Windows 10 PC (i.e. I'm running VMWare Fusion on my Macbook).  Once in Windows, I run Lotharek's HxCFloppyEmulator software.  I select ->Floppy Image ->Load->TELCO-SSSD.dsk.  Then ->Export->Save As Type: HFE file.  I then copy that .HFE file to the PC's SD card, eject the SD card, and insert it into the Lotharek unit.

 

(Note that I do also use TI99Dir to inspect the files.)

Attached Files



#28 Opry99er ONLINE  

Opry99er

    Quadrunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 10,380 posts
  • Location:Hustisford, WI

Posted Sat Jan 5, 2019 1:13 AM

Jmazzy... I have a few videos I've just taken of the process, but I don't have time to edit, splice, and upload them to YouTube tonight. I can shoot them to you in Facebook messenger if you use that. You can find me by "Owen Brand". I live in Hustisford, WI.

Shoot me a friend request or a message request and I'll shoot you these videos tonight, asap

#29 jmazzy OFFLINE  

jmazzy

    Space Invader

  • 43 posts
  • Location:Chicago, Illinois

Posted Sat Jan 5, 2019 1:32 PM

Jmazzy... I have a few videos I've just taken of the process, but I don't have time to edit, splice, and upload them to YouTube tonight. I can shoot them to you in Facebook messenger if you use that. You can find me by "Owen Brand". I live in Hustisford, WI.

Shoot me a friend request or a message request and I'll shoot you these videos tonight, asap

 

I genuinely appreciate it, thanks.  Totally no rush.

 

I wouldn't mind experimenting with that updated Telco V9T9 file set you have, if you wouldn't mind posting it.  Again, no rush.



#30 jmazzy OFFLINE  

jmazzy

    Space Invader

  • 43 posts
  • Location:Chicago, Illinois

Posted Sat Jan 5, 2019 4:29 PM

I run mine from my HRD16 RAMdisk on DSK7. I took the easy way out and used a sector editor to edit DSK1 to DSK7 (or use your preferred drive designation). There are two instances - one in TELCO and another in TELCQ.

 

I decided to take a stab at using a sector editor, too.  Success!  Thanks for the tip.

 

Owen:  looks like I won't need that updated V9T9 file set after all, although I will have a closer look at the CFHDXS1 / HDX server combo for long-term use. 

 

Now on the next challenge:  actually getting Telco to work.  ;-)

Attached Files



#31 Opry99er ONLINE  

Opry99er

    Quadrunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 10,380 posts
  • Location:Hustisford, WI

Posted Sat Jan 5, 2019 4:34 PM

Oh great!  :)

 

I was sitting here working on a zipfile for you and a video.  Glad it's up and running!






0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users