Photo

Atari 1200XL needs help

9 replies to this topic

#1 hueyjones70 OFFLINE  

hueyjones70

Chopper Commander

• 201 posts

Posted Wed Dec 5, 2018 8:06 PM

I have a 1200XL that doesn't boot. I get an audio click at power on but nothing on the screen. The power light does not come on but there is power through the switch and power at various places on the board. I have another working 1200XL and I used it to check every chip on the MB. All checked out. I guess that leaves resistors, capacitors, and broken traces. Does any one have any advice based on experience.

#2 DrVenkman OFFLINE  

DrVenkman

River Patroller

• 3,603 posts
  • Back off, man! I'm a scientist.

Posted Wed Dec 5, 2018 8:20 PM

I went through this process a year and a half ago with one of my 1200XL’s, so I feel your pain.

Even though the screen is dark, if you boot with START pressed, do you get the cassette boot sound? If so, you may have a video issue. If you boot with a drive or drive-emulator device attached to the SIO port, do you get any sounds? Have you tried booting STAR RAIDERS, which ID’s itself to the system as a “diagnostic” cart and thus will sometimes boot when the rest of the OS can’t or won’t.

If all the chips on the non-booting machine work in another machine, then there’s the possibility (likelihood?) of either a faulty socket (or three!). Did your swap tests include the OS ROMS and all the support logic as well? On my 1200XL’s, all of those are socketed except the Delay Line chip, which is soldered.

My suggestion is to get the Sam’s 800XL Computerfacts PDF from AtariMania and a cheap logic probe and start seeing if all the chips are producing the expected results when you try to boot the troublesome machine. Even though the schematics aren’t quite accurate for the 1200XL, they are illustrative and you can figure out what you need to by comparing the 800XL stuff with the physical traces on the board in front of you.