Jump to content

Photo

SIO cables


56 replies to this topic

#1 Gunstar OFFLINE  

Gunstar

    Gunstar

  • 9,755 posts
  • Location:Kellyville, Oklahoma

Posted Sat Dec 8, 2018 7:49 PM

So, I've been short a few cables in recent years to be able to connect all my Atari gear at once, needing 3 cables to be precise. Now I've been given an 800 and 810 and am about to assemble a SDrive Max, only missing the SIO cable for it. So that's 5 cables I now need. But prices seem a bit steep on them to me, it seems like I used to be able to get at least 3 ft. cables for $5-10, maybe I'm misremembering. Does anyone know a source of them that's under $20 at least? 

 

Also, I've plenty of 15-wire shielded cable on hand from other projects, at least 25-50ft worth. Is there any place to buy just SIO plugs for a decent price? I saw some 3D printed ones for sale on either ebay or amazon, but I don't think they came with pins installed, it didn't say. But $10 each is hardly better than $25 cables I found on ebay, plus all the extra work, especially if I have to install the pins myself too. I'm hoping to have pins and just solder the wires directly or if they are pinch style or whatever. 

 

It's just a bit hard for me to swallow $125 or more, plus shipping, just for 5 cables. 

 

I already have one APElink SIO extender in-between, maybe I just have to buy a couple more of those and half the cables and just cut them all in half and direct wire to the APElink, have all male cables coming out.

 

Maybe it's time for someone to make SIO-to-VGA cable adapter plugs; I can find those a dime a dozen at thrift stores and garage sales, etc.!


Edited by Gunstar, Sat Dec 8, 2018 7:52 PM.


#2 Nezgar OFFLINE  

Nezgar

    Stargunner

  • 1,340 posts
  • Location:Regina SK Canada

Posted Sat Dec 8, 2018 8:09 PM

I see Lotharek offers fully assembled cables and just plug sets too. Made with custom plastic injection mold, not 3d printed. (There's a video on the product page showing the machine in action)

Sio-Sio cable 1m - 39.99 PLN ($10.61 USD)
https://lotharek.pl/...tail.php?id=113

Sio PLUG set BLACK - 25.99 PLN ($6.99 USD)
https://lotharek.pl/...tail.php?id=103

there's also 2M sio-sio, and 1/2 sio cables with only 5 signals wired.

#3 Gunstar OFFLINE  

Gunstar

    Gunstar

  • Topic Starter
  • 9,755 posts
  • Location:Kellyville, Oklahoma

Posted Sat Dec 8, 2018 8:15 PM

Thanks, that's what I'm looking for, if shipping isn't too bad to the states. I never noticed them available on the site; I'm there often, "window" shopping, drooling over upgrades I have to wait until I finish remodeling my house before I can afford them. 

 

I'll just order the plugs and finally use up some of this VGA cable I've had lying around for 15 years!


Edited by Gunstar, Sat Dec 8, 2018 8:19 PM.


#4 Nezgar OFFLINE  

Nezgar

    Stargunner

  • 1,340 posts
  • Location:Regina SK Canada

Posted Sat Dec 8, 2018 8:27 PM

For reference, back in Feb 2017 I ordered a sio2pc-usb and a Side2 cart, shipping for those was 19.99 EUR to Canada. ($22.76 USD)

I see there's also discounts on the cables if you buy more. i.e:
for 5 pieces and more - 6% (37.59 PLN)
for 10 pieces and more - 9% (36.39 PLN)

Guess it's always best to decide what else you might need and get it all at once. :)

#5 Kyle22 OFFLINE  

Kyle22

    River Patroller

  • 3,725 posts
  • Call my BBS! telnet://broadway1.lorexddns.net
  • Location:McKees Rocks (Pittsburgh), PA

Posted Sat Dec 8, 2018 8:45 PM

I see Lotharek offers fully assembled cables and just plug sets too. Made with custom plastic injection mold, not 3d printed. (There's a video on the product page showing the machine in action)

Sio-Sio cable 1m - 39.99 PLN ($10.61 USD)
https://lotharek.pl/...tail.php?id=113

Sio PLUG set BLACK - 25.99 PLN ($6.99 USD)
https://lotharek.pl/...tail.php?id=103

there's also 2M sio-sio, and 1/2 sio cables with only 5 signals wired.

 

Just don't use the Lotharek cable before an R:Verter, SX-212, MIDI or Cassette device. IIRC, it is missing the Motor Control line.



#6 BillC OFFLINE  

BillC

    Stargunner

  • 1,872 posts
  • Location:BC Canada

Posted Sat Dec 8, 2018 9:27 PM

Thanks, that's what I'm looking for, if shipping isn't too bad to the states. I never noticed them available on the site; I'm there often, "window" shopping, drooling over upgrades I have to wait until I finish remodeling my house before I can afford them. 

 

I'll just order the plugs and finally use up some of this VGA cable I've had lying around for 15 years!

The Sdrive Max only uses 5(6 if using both grounds) SIO signals, since it doesn't implement a pass-thru a cable with more conductors isn't needed

.



#7 Gavin1968 OFFLINE  

Gavin1968

    Space Invader

  • 32 posts
  • Location:Clovis, CA

Posted Sat Dec 8, 2018 9:53 PM

So, I've been short a few cables in recent years to be able to connect all my Atari gear at once, needing 3 cables to be precise. Now I've been given an 800 and 810 and am about to assemble a SDrive Max, only missing the SIO cable for it. So that's 5 cables I now need. But prices seem a bit steep on them to me, it seems like I used to be able to get at least 3 ft. cables for $5-10, maybe I'm misremembering. Does anyone know a source of them that's under $20 at least? 

 

Also, I've plenty of 15-wire shielded cable on hand from other projects, at least 25-50ft worth. Is there any place to buy just SIO plugs for a decent price? I saw some 3D printed ones for sale on either ebay or amazon, but I don't think they came with pins installed, it didn't say. But $10 each is hardly better than $25 cables I found on ebay, plus all the extra work, especially if I have to install the pins myself too. I'm hoping to have pins and just solder the wires directly or if they are pinch style or whatever. 

 

It's just a bit hard for me to swallow $125 or more, plus shipping, just for 5 cables. 

 

I already have one APElink SIO extender in-between, maybe I just have to buy a couple more of those and half the cables and just cut them all in half and direct wire to the APElink, have all male cables coming out.

 

Maybe it's time for someone to make SIO-to-VGA cable adapter plugs; I can find those a dime a dozen at thrift stores and garage sales, etc.!

 

Here you go:

https://www.vintagec...atari-sio-cable

 

If you need SIO cables for SDrive-MAX's I can make those too, $10 for a 3' and it only has 5 conductors. 

Made, and shipped from the US.

 

Gavin



#8 _The Doctor__ OFFLINE  

_The Doctor__

    Quadrunner

  • 5,847 posts
  • Location:10-0-11-00:02

Posted Sat Dec 8, 2018 9:58 PM

 

Here you go:

https://www.vintagec...atari-sio-cable

 

If you need SIO cables for SDrive-MAX's I can make those too, $10 for a 3' and it only has 5 conductors. 

Made, and shipped from the US.

 

Gavin

At least Gavins cable carries all the signals..

The only thing lotherik cables are good for is hacking up for end of chain stuff that does not use all the pins..



#9 Gavin1968 OFFLINE  

Gavin1968

    Space Invader

  • 32 posts
  • Location:Clovis, CA

Posted Sat Dec 8, 2018 10:14 PM

At least Gavins cable carries all the signals..

The only thing lotherik cables are good for is hacking up for end of chain stuff that does not use all the pins..

Well the original SIO cable has all 13 conductors so I wanted to make sure mine do as well. I have the 5 conductor SDrive-MAX cables with diodes as well. 



#10 Gunstar OFFLINE  

Gunstar

    Gunstar

  • Topic Starter
  • 9,755 posts
  • Location:Kellyville, Oklahoma

Posted Sat Dec 8, 2018 10:39 PM

 

Just don't use the Lotharek cable before an R:Verter, SX-212, MIDI or Cassette device. IIRC, it is missing the Motor Control line.

As  I said, I'm just buying the plugs and making them myself, so I can be sure all the correct lines are there. ;)



#11 Gunstar OFFLINE  

Gunstar

    Gunstar

  • Topic Starter
  • 9,755 posts
  • Location:Kellyville, Oklahoma

Posted Sat Dec 8, 2018 10:45 PM

 

Here you go:

https://www.vintagec...atari-sio-cable

 

If you need SIO cables for SDrive-MAX's I can make those too, $10 for a 3' and it only has 5 conductors. 

Made, and shipped from the US.

 

Gavin

 

 

Here you go:

https://www.vintagec...atari-sio-cable

 

If you need SIO cables for SDrive-MAX's I can make those too, $10 for a 3' and it only has 5 conductors. 

Made, and shipped from the US.

 

Gavin

I think I'll be ordering from you very soon, prices are similar to Lotharek's even if I were to just get the plugs, which appear to be $6.89 each even though it's referred to as a set.  Plus a ready-made cable for the SDrive Max sounds good too. Where do you ship from? Are you U.S. based? 

 

EDIT: DUH! Never mind, I guess I can just look at your location under your avatar! :dunce:


Edited by Gunstar, Sat Dec 8, 2018 11:06 PM.


#12 Gavin1968 OFFLINE  

Gavin1968

    Space Invader

  • 32 posts
  • Location:Clovis, CA

Posted Sat Dec 8, 2018 11:01 PM

 

I think I'll be ordering from you very soon, prices are similar to Lotharek's even if I were to just get the plugs, which appear to be $6.89 each even though it's referred to as a set.  Where do you ship from? Are you U.S. based?

I am in California if you go add one to the cart you can see what shipping would be to you. 



#13 Gunstar OFFLINE  

Gunstar

    Gunstar

  • Topic Starter
  • 9,755 posts
  • Location:Kellyville, Oklahoma

Posted Sat Dec 8, 2018 11:21 PM

Thanks everyone for your help.

 

I am in California if you go add one to the cart you can see what shipping would be to you. 

Yeah, I worked it all out. Already ordered. Thanks! I went for 3 SIO cables and 1 SDrive Max cable, to keep it under $100. I won't be using my 1030 modem anytime soon, so a cable for it can wait...it's worth a few extra dollars not to have to assemble the cables myself. It's just not worth $25+ for a length of cable I can assemble myself for $12...if I were to have just bought your plugs.  ;)


Edited by Gunstar, Sat Dec 8, 2018 11:34 PM.


#14 rdea6 OFFLINE  

rdea6

    River Patroller

  • 2,761 posts
  • Location:Arizona USA

Posted Sun Dec 9, 2018 6:18 AM

s-l500.jpg

 

I recently got one of these for a project.  3ft rt angle SIO cord.

 



#15 Gunstar OFFLINE  

Gunstar

    Gunstar

  • Topic Starter
  • 9,755 posts
  • Location:Kellyville, Oklahoma

Posted Sun Dec 9, 2018 8:06 AM

That's something you don't see every day. Do you mean you bought that from Gavin1968?



#16 Mr Robot OFFLINE  

Mr Robot

    Moonsweeper

  • 421 posts
  • Location:Brit ExPat in 'Merica

Posted Sun Dec 9, 2018 8:28 AM

I just got a couple of SIO cables, cut them in half and put DSub 15's on the other end, now all my cabling is super easy and cheap to make up 

 

dsub15m.gif



#17 Gunstar OFFLINE  

Gunstar

    Gunstar

  • Topic Starter
  • 9,755 posts
  • Location:Kellyville, Oklahoma

Posted Sun Dec 9, 2018 9:24 AM

I just got a couple of SIO cables, cut them in half and put DSub 15's on the other end, now all my cabling is super easy and cheap to make up 

 

attachicon.gifdsub15m.gif

I'm not sure I follow completely. The concept yes, it's the same as the adapter I suggested, but with a cable. Of course that was when I thought I couldn't get an SIO cable for less than $25, or SIO plugs for less than $10 to make my own cables. Now that I've found SIO cables for about $15, there's no point, two adapters for each end would probably cost as much or more. But help me understand the point to having the cable. It seems to me you would still need one of these cables for every peripheral, and then Dsub 15 cables in between which is extra work and cost for extra cables that aren't needed: just take out the Dsub 15 middle-man and you have direct connect SIO cables again. What am I missing or not understanding here?.

 

The point of the adapter I suggested was to have one on every SIO port and then just use cheap Dsub 15 cables in between, thinking adapters would be cheaper than whole SIO cables; just the cost of the adapter plugs, hopefully about as cheap as SIO plugs are now, and no assembly required, since old Dsub 15 cables can be had for dirt cheap where ever old used crap is sold. Hell, I must have about a dozen on hand from old VGA monitors over the years. I see them being sold at yard/garage sales, flea markets, thrift stores, etc. for around half a dollar all the time.


Edited by Gunstar, Sun Dec 9, 2018 9:43 AM.


#18 Mr Robot OFFLINE  

Mr Robot

    Moonsweeper

  • 421 posts
  • Location:Brit ExPat in 'Merica

Posted Sun Dec 9, 2018 10:02 AM

You're right about needing an adapter for each SIO device but I have very few original Atari devices now, most of the stuff I plug in is more modern or hobbyist and those devices can all be made with D15s instead of SIO plugs



#19 Gunstar OFFLINE  

Gunstar

    Gunstar

  • Topic Starter
  • 9,755 posts
  • Location:Kellyville, Oklahoma

Posted Sun Dec 9, 2018 10:38 AM

You're right about needing an adapter for each SIO device but I have very few original Atari devices now, most of the stuff I plug in is more modern or hobbyist and those devices can all be made with D15s instead of SIO plugs

Ok. Yeah, I'm mostly legacy and and about a dozen devices, plus a few new ones, but it's better for me to stick with SIO if I can get them for the price I have now.

 

But I do appreciate the schematics for future reference, it will save me a little time thinking it out myself if I decide to make a couple of adapters in the future and use old VGA cables, if SIO are no longer sold by Gavin1968 or Lotharek.


Edited by Gunstar, Sun Dec 9, 2018 10:47 AM.


#20 ivop OFFLINE  

ivop

    Dragonstomper

  • 800 posts
  • Location:The Netherlands

Posted Sun Dec 9, 2018 12:32 PM

The proposed D-sub15 / DB15 cable and connectors originally meant the PC gameport one (two rows, 8 and 7 pins). I reckon you could just as easily use VGA cables and connectors (three rows, 5, 5 and 5 pins), but keep in mind they're not compatible :)



#21 Gunstar OFFLINE  

Gunstar

    Gunstar

  • Topic Starter
  • 9,755 posts
  • Location:Kellyville, Oklahoma

Posted Sun Dec 9, 2018 12:39 PM

The proposed D-sub15 / DB15 cable and connectors originally meant the PC gameport one (two rows, 8 and 7 pins). I reckon you could just as easily use VGA cables and connectors (three rows, 5, 5 and 5 pins), but keep in mind they're not compatible :)

Yes, of course, I overlooked that, I was thinking VGA the entire time even if I swapped D-sub 15 in and out with it. I was only paying attention to the pin count. My mind has been rather groggy this morning for some reason...I better go take my Men's One-a-day vitamins. I would be going VGA route since that's the type I have on hand for connectors too, since I use them also for Atari Jaguar controller ports which use the VGA 5-5-5 standard. Originally the reason I have the cable and connectors on hand in the first place was to make and sell Jaguar rotary and analog controllers for Battlesphere I never got around too, except prototypes.

 

I just wasn't paying enough attention to Mr. Robot's use of different connectors, I was still thinking VGA even while staring at a two-row 8-7 diagram! I think I didn't look closely and mistook the numbers in the middle for another row of pins. So I'll have to draw up my own diagram for my SIO2VGA adapter...if it ever comes to that.


Edited by Gunstar, Sun Dec 9, 2018 12:48 PM.


#22 rdea6 OFFLINE  

rdea6

    River Patroller

  • 2,761 posts
  • Location:Arizona USA

Posted Sun Dec 9, 2018 1:30 PM

That's something you don't see every day. Do you mean you bought that from Gavin1968?

No I got this SIO cable from EBAY 



#23 E474 OFFLINE  

E474

    Chopper Commander

  • 101 posts

Posted Sun Dec 9, 2018 1:57 PM

Hi,

 

   Just for the record, if you're planning on making your own SIO connectors, an SN-28B Dupont Ratchet Crimper and CH 3.96mm Crimp Connectors (Molex KK Style) works fine.



#24 xrbrevin OFFLINE  

xrbrevin

    Moonsweeper

  • 283 posts
  • Mr Ziggy loves to extend the 1050 heatsink!
  • Location:UK

Posted Mon Dec 10, 2018 6:48 AM

i found mine on ebay - search for "KK396"



#25 _The Doctor__ OFFLINE  

_The Doctor__

    Quadrunner

  • 5,847 posts
  • Location:10-0-11-00:02

Posted Tue Dec 11, 2018 11:06 AM

No I got this SIO cable from EBAY 

Only ever good for the 800 and XEGS, gets in the way on all else...






0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users