Jump to content

Photo

Idea:External Atari ST drive transformed to 8-bit (XF551 internals)


132 replies to this topic

#126 hueyjones70 OFFLINE  

hueyjones70

    Moonsweeper

  • 317 posts
  • Location:Clayton, North Carolina

Posted Tue Apr 16, 2019 9:25 AM

I know that my sample size is statistically insignificant, but I started buying 354s and 314s as soon as I knew the PCBs would be a reality and I bought 5 354s and 1 314. None of the 354s have a 34 pin connector; so I wouldn't expect to be able to use the board on a 354. I am going to try to fit a standard 3.5 inside a 354 case. If that is possible, my investment will not be completely wasted.

#127 manterola OFFLINE  

manterola

    Moonsweeper

  • Topic Starter
  • 355 posts
  • Location:Washington metropolitan area, USA

Posted Tue Apr 16, 2019 9:30 AM

I am sure you can create something like this (but the opposite). That should be easier and cleaner than trying to find and  fit a 3.5 mech. in the case front openings.

 

 

Edit: I also found this:

"my notes are somewhat incomplete (nothing for pin 7or 8 )

If I recall correctly, if you fly the ground, you only have to move a couple pins to put the chinon connector right on the even pins of the floppy drive.

14 pin Chinon connector <-> PC 34 pin floppy

14 <-> 30 read data
9 <-> 32 side 0 select
1 <-> 8 index
6 <-> 14 drive 0 select
10 <-> 10 motor on
2 <-> 18 direction in
3 <-> 20 step
5 <-> 24 write gate
12 <-> 26 track 0
13 <-> 28 write protect
4 <-> 22 write data


11 <-> any odd pin (ground)"

Attached Thumbnails

  • IMG_1577.jpg

Edited by manterola, Tue Apr 16, 2019 9:41 AM.


#128 hueyjones70 OFFLINE  

hueyjones70

    Moonsweeper

  • 317 posts
  • Location:Clayton, North Carolina

Posted Tue Apr 16, 2019 6:26 PM

I found the same post and I had the same idea.

#129 manterola OFFLINE  

manterola

    Moonsweeper

  • Topic Starter
  • 355 posts
  • Location:Washington metropolitan area, USA

Posted Tue Apr 16, 2019 7:47 PM

Today I tried to use a cheap and more common Chinese Samsung 1.44 mech. From an old Compaq computer with the new sf551 board by Dropcheck. It worked.
First I needed to locate the drive select and put in DS0. After that was just a matter of connecting but data and power cable. It worked at the first try. I formatted a diskette in mydos to 720kb without problem. I also wrote the DOS files so I was able to boot the computer with the new formatted disk.
I can confirm, that this regular inexpensive 1.44mb drives can be used with Atari: format and read without problems at 720kb.
I even took an old used IBM 1.44mb diskette and covered the HD hole and it also worked.

Attached Thumbnails

  • 2131361811_20190416213227.jpg
  • 2131361811_20190416213255.jpg
  • 2131361811_20190416213327.jpg
  • 2131361811_20190416213151.jpg
  • 2131361811_20190416213124.jpg


#130 Tillek OFFLINE  

Tillek

    Dragonstomper

  • 815 posts
  • Location:NE Ohio, USA

Posted Tue Apr 16, 2019 9:07 PM

Just another question here... Has anyone considered an external option?

 

I'm only asking because I have some other non-Atari ST drives that I'd love to be able to use on my 8-bit if it's possible... For example, the Future Systems GTS 100 and 1000.... Both would be great to use on the A8 (or failing that, a way to take the mech out of the GTS 1000 and use it in an Indus GT as a 360k drive but still have the track display and the buttons.....)

 

Just wondering....



#131 hueyjones70 OFFLINE  

hueyjones70

    Moonsweeper

  • 317 posts
  • Location:Clayton, North Carolina

Posted Tue Apr 16, 2019 9:26 PM

Today I tried to use a cheap and more common Chinese Samsung 1.44 mech. From an old Compaq computer with the new sf551 board by Dropcheck. It worked.
First I needed to locate the drive select and put in DS0. After that was just a matter of connecting but data and power cable. It worked at the first try. I formatted a diskette in mydos to 720kb without problem. I also wrote the DOS files so I was able to boot the computer with the new formatted disk.
I can confirm, that this regular inexpensive 1.44mb drives can be used with Atari: format and read without problems at 720kb.
I even took an old used IBM 1.44mb diskette and covered the HD hole and it also worked.


That is very good to know. I have almost finished my first board, just waiting for the cables to get here so I can wire them together.

#132 hueyjones70 OFFLINE  

hueyjones70

    Moonsweeper

  • 317 posts
  • Location:Clayton, North Carolina

Posted Wed Apr 17, 2019 3:18 PM

I just tried a SF314 drive with a mixed parts board and the hyper XF B and it worked. Loaded DOS 2.5, loaded a file. I had tried it earlier with no success so I took the mech out of the case so I could see is the motor was turning at a reasonable speed. There must be some pinched wires of maybe a bare wire that is grounding on the case so I have some investigating to do.

#133 hueyjones70 OFFLINE  

hueyjones70

    Moonsweeper

  • 317 posts
  • Location:Clayton, North Carolina

Posted Wed Apr 24, 2019 9:53 PM

I finished a board but it isn't working. The computer acts as if there is no disk drive attached. I have triple checked my cable and it appears to be correct and all wires conducting. I think I will just build another board and cross check each step with the non working board to fi d my error.




0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users