Jump to content

Photo

Stella 6.0 released

stella new release cycle-exact audio debugger

69 replies to this topic

#51 Keatah ONLINE  

Keatah

    Missile Commander

  • 21,843 posts

Posted Tue Jan 8, 2019 4:14 PM

Will be addressed in https://github.com/s...ella/issues/352 for 6.1. And hopefully after that, it will be the last time this topic comes up.


I'm happy that its being addressed in a favorable manner this time. I mentioned it once before (IIRC) and it was dismissed. As emulators continue to take on more options and functionality, configurability/customization become more important than ever.

FWIW I experimented around with the multi-thread option and noted a very slight few percent increase with it on. On a single core single thread processor too.

Edited by Keatah, Tue Jan 8, 2019 4:20 PM.


#52 iesposta OFFLINE  

iesposta

    River Patroller

  • 3,880 posts
  • Retro-gaming w/my VCS
  • Location:Pennsylvania

Posted Wed Jan 9, 2019 4:05 PM

@ieposta: Can you post all your video settings, please? (screenshots would be nice)

 

 It was only when using built-in video, and then only when scanline setting _ Interpolation was not checked: 1st & 2nd Pictures.

Third picture shows built-in video with Interpolation checked is perfect.

 

When using the laptop's NVIDIA graphics, checked or unchecked it is perfect.

Attached Thumbnails

  • Stella 6.0_ _flush-40years-v1.0_ 1_9_2019 4_41_56 PM.png
  • Stella 6.0_ _flush-40years-v1.0_ 1_9_2019 4_42_07 PM.png
  • Stella 6.0_ _flush-40years-v1.0_ 1_9_2019 4_43_02 PM.png

Attached Files



#53 Thomas Jentzsch OFFLINE  

Thomas Jentzsch

    Thrust, Jammed, SWOOPS!, Boulder Dash, THREE·S, Star Castle

  • 23,933 posts
  • Always left from right here!
  • Location:Düsseldorf, Germany, Europe, Earth

Posted Wed Jan 9, 2019 4:08 PM

Seems like an issue with your video driver then, no?



#54 iesposta OFFLINE  

iesposta

    River Patroller

  • 3,880 posts
  • Retro-gaming w/my VCS
  • Location:Pennsylvania

Posted Wed Jan 9, 2019 8:16 PM

Seems like an issue with your video driver then, no?


Yes. For now.
Unless someone else should report something.

#55 splendidnut OFFLINE  

splendidnut

    Chopper Commander

  • 142 posts
  • Location:PA/NY Border

Posted Thu Jan 24, 2019 9:39 PM

While going thru and viewing all the nominations for the 2018 Atari Awards, I ran into the following issue when trying to run Mappy in Stella 6:

 

stella illegal instruction issue.png

 

It seems to happen with other CDF and DPC+ roms too.

 

Running Windows 7 with the 32-bit version of Stella 6.0.

 

EDIT: Just tried 64-bit version of Stella and it happens there too.



#56 Thomas Jentzsch OFFLINE  

Thomas Jentzsch

    Thrust, Jammed, SWOOPS!, Boulder Dash, THREE·S, Star Castle

  • 23,933 posts
  • Always left from right here!
  • Location:Düsseldorf, Germany, Europe, Earth

Posted Fri Jan 25, 2019 1:21 AM

Have you maybe enabled some Developer options?



#57 splendidnut OFFLINE  

splendidnut

    Chopper Commander

  • 142 posts
  • Location:PA/NY Border

Posted Fri Jan 25, 2019 6:12 PM

Yup, turning off developer options completely appears to fix it.  I tried turning off just the fatal ARM exception flag, but, surprisingly, that didn't help.



#58 stephena OFFLINE  

stephena

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 3,355 posts
  • Stella maintainer
  • Location:Newfoundland, Canada

Posted Fri Jan 25, 2019 11:11 PM

Some of the developer options really are dialed up to 11, and pick up on many things.  This is a very good thing for developers, but obviously is not as useful for an end-user that just wants to play a game.

 

That being said, the fact that errors are being thrown may indicate a problem with the code, and while obviously not relevant to most people, perhaps the developer of Mappy would like to know about it.  Can you confirm which specific option was causing the issue, or did you just turn them all off?



#59 Thomas Jentzsch OFFLINE  

Thomas Jentzsch

    Thrust, Jammed, SWOOPS!, Boulder Dash, THREE·S, Star Castle

  • 23,933 posts
  • Always left from right here!
  • Location:Düsseldorf, Germany, Europe, Earth

Posted Sat Jan 26, 2019 2:27 AM

Probably the it was the Random Startup Bank setting. Then, since the hardware used for Mappy always starts in bank 6, this is no bug.



#60 splendidnut OFFLINE  

splendidnut

    Chopper Commander

  • 142 posts
  • Location:PA/NY Border

Posted Sat Jan 26, 2019 9:43 AM

Some of the developer options really are dialed up to 11, and pick up on many things.  This is a very good thing for developers, but obviously is not as useful for an end-user that just wants to play a game.

 

That being said, the fact that errors are being thrown may indicate a problem with the code, and while obviously not relevant to most people, perhaps the developer of Mappy would like to know about it.  Can you confirm which specific option was causing the issue, or did you just turn them all off?

 

Probably the it was the Random Startup Bank setting. Then, since the hardware used for Mappy always starts in bank 6, this is no bug.

 

i can confirm that for Mappy and other DPC+/CDF games, the issue was the random startup bank setting.  I'll just have to keep this is mind when switching between playing and developing games :)



#61 splendidnut OFFLINE  

splendidnut

    Chopper Commander

  • 142 posts
  • Location:PA/NY Border

Posted Sat Jan 26, 2019 2:44 PM

Why is the player/developer settings radio button inside the tabbed groups when it applies across the tabs?  

 

I found this to be a bit confusing for two reasons:

  1.  I didn't realize that you could have settings for both.  The UI layout doesn't really give much indication of this, since the options are indented under the Developer option... So, at least I thought that they only applied when developer was set.  If they were laid out horizontally with a separator line underneath, it would make more sense.
  2. I didn't realize that the Time Machine debugging facility defaults to off when in player mode, partly because I didn't realize that these tabs all had the radio buttons and that they stayed set when switching tabs.  If the radio buttons lived above the tabs, I may have realized that I need to make sure the other tabs had the settings I wanted set when I switched between Developer and Player.

With that said, it's really cool that you can have two sets of settings.



#62 Thomas Jentzsch OFFLINE  

Thomas Jentzsch

    Thrust, Jammed, SWOOPS!, Boulder Dash, THREE·S, Star Castle

  • 23,933 posts
  • Always left from right here!
  • Location:Düsseldorf, Germany, Europe, Earth

Posted Sat Jan 26, 2019 3:03 PM

Thanks for providing feedback about the UI. This is always helpful. Here is why it is as it is now:

  1. Arranging the buttons horizontally is no problem, but I think that is even more confusing. I had thought about a checkbox, but that also doesn't work well.
  2. Putting the buttons above the tabs creates a problem with the Debugger tab, because that one has no separate options (they make no sense there).

Maybe a master tab for each setting would work, which then contains the current sub tabs (except for Debugger). But I am not sure here and the current framework doesn't support such a layout.

 

I am open for more suggestions.



#63 stephena OFFLINE  

stephena

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 3,355 posts
  • Stella maintainer
  • Location:Newfoundland, Canada

Posted Sat Jan 26, 2019 3:06 PM

The idea with the two sets of settings is for developers to be able to quickly change to 'player' mode to test games normally, and then to 'developer' mode to do development.  And toggling it all with one button is much more convenient.

 

That being said, the breakdown of what belongs where, and the UI to present the info, is still in flux.



#64 splendidnut OFFLINE  

splendidnut

    Chopper Commander

  • 142 posts
  • Location:PA/NY Border

Posted Sat Jan 26, 2019 4:21 PM

I am open for more suggestions.

 

Personally, I would opt for moving the debugger tab to the user interface settings window since that contains mostly UI options.  The only odd-man out setting is the "Trap on ghost reads"... but that could potentially be remedied by moving it to the Time Machine tab and renaming that tab "Debugger".   Although it's kinda nice that the tab is currently labeled Time Machine.

 

 

The idea with the two sets of settings is for developers to be able to quickly change to 'player' mode to test games normally, and then to 'developer' mode to do development.  And toggling it all with one button is much more convenient.

 

Yeah, now that I see how it works it's a nice feature to have.   Maybe it would be best if the settings were split into two different windows and then have a set of radio buttons on the ROM launcher itself to toggle between the two?



#65 splendidnut OFFLINE  

splendidnut

    Chopper Commander

  • 142 posts
  • Location:PA/NY Border

Posted Sat Jan 26, 2019 4:29 PM

By the way, the Time Machine is a fantastic feature.  I know it's been around for a while, but thank you for adding it!



#66 stephena OFFLINE  

stephena

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 3,355 posts
  • Stella maintainer
  • Location:Newfoundland, Canada

Posted Sat Jan 26, 2019 4:30 PM

I leave the UI details themselves to Thomas, as he is taking the lead on this part of the code.



#67 stephena OFFLINE  

stephena

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 3,355 posts
  • Stella maintainer
  • Location:Newfoundland, Canada

Posted Sat Jan 26, 2019 4:33 PM

At some point, someone really needs to sit down and do a proper tutorial of using Stella as a developer.  I feel there are dozens of features that people are only finding by accident, but when they do find them, they end up being very useful.

 

Stella is becoming the '2600 developers emulator', and there is quite a lot of functionality there (and we have plans for more in the future).  But I guess we need to advertise these features more often.



#68 Thomas Jentzsch OFFLINE  

Thomas Jentzsch

    Thrust, Jammed, SWOOPS!, Boulder Dash, THREE·S, Star Castle

  • 23,933 posts
  • Always left from right here!
  • Location:Düsseldorf, Germany, Europe, Earth

Posted Sun Jan 27, 2019 3:48 AM

By the way, the Time Machine is a fantastic feature.  I know it's been around for a while, but thank you for adding it!

Thank you very much for the positive feedback. Usually we get only complains or no feedback at all.



#69 Thomas Jentzsch OFFLINE  

Thomas Jentzsch

    Thrust, Jammed, SWOOPS!, Boulder Dash, THREE·S, Star Castle

  • 23,933 posts
  • Always left from right here!
  • Location:Düsseldorf, Germany, Europe, Earth

Posted Sun Jan 27, 2019 3:50 AM

At some point, someone really needs to sit down and do a proper tutorial of using Stella as a developer.  I feel there are dozens of features that people are only finding by accident, but when they do find them, they end up being very useful.

Everything is documented in the accompanied two documents. If people do not read these documents, I doubt they will read your tutorial. 



#70 stephena OFFLINE  

stephena

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 3,355 posts
  • Stella maintainer
  • Location:Newfoundland, Canada

Posted Sun Jan 27, 2019 8:13 AM

Well, yes, there's that.  Something about leading a horse to water ...







Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: stella, new release, cycle-exact audio, debugger

0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users