Jump to content

Photo

What are my chances of finding intellivision 2 controllers in good conditio


18 replies to this topic

#1 Swami OFFLINE  

Swami

    River Patroller

  • 2,481 posts
  • Location:Twin Cities, MN

Posted Fri Dec 28, 2018 11:31 PM

What are my chances of finding replacement intellivision 2 controllers in good condition?

#2 H454 OFFLINE  

H454

    Moonsweeper

  • 496 posts
  • Location:Twin Cities, MN

Posted Sat Dec 29, 2018 3:56 AM

What are my chances of finding replacement intellivision 2 controllers in good condition?

 

Exactly 0 - 100% - scientifically speaking, of course. :P

 

I was waiting to see anybody was going to the "what about ebay?" line, But I just browsed over the listings and its pretty dry over there.

 

I'd help ya out, but I only have one inty 2 and I think only one the controllers works anyways. Hell, I think I paid more for a power adapter than the unit itself.

 

Are you missing them entirely or they just beyond repair?



#3 the1hatman OFFLINE  

the1hatman

    Stargunner

  • 1,215 posts
  • Location:Ohio, USA

Posted Sat Dec 29, 2018 9:37 AM

While there may not be any listed on eBay at the moment, they do pop up occasionally but you have to be diligent and check every day. An easier method is to look for a cheap Intellivision II console and harvest it for the controllers. This is a little risky since they will be used and have no guarantee of working but there are plenty out there at any given time.



#4 JasonlikesINTV OFFLINE  

JasonlikesINTV

    Quadrunner

  • 9,501 posts
  • Location:Midwest

Posted Sat Dec 29, 2018 10:37 AM

Somewhat reiterating points from the last two posts, it's really hit or miss. I have an Intellivision II with an open box, but the console itself is still sealed in plastic and the number pad on one the controllers is cracked.
Keep an eye out on eBay for a used console on the cheap. If you find one without a power adapter it will likely go cheaper since those alone run $20. Good luck.

#5 H454 OFFLINE  

H454

    Moonsweeper

  • 496 posts
  • Location:Twin Cities, MN

Posted Sat Dec 29, 2018 1:51 PM

Well, Part of the "dry spell" I implied included lots with controllers.

With out controllers are they are averaging $30 and $50-70 with controllers "un-tested".

 

I only got any of my Inty(s) 'cause they came with giant console lots of other stuff that I wanted.

 

I know its not posted in the "wanted" section, but I think the topic was posted with idea that somebody here might "help a brother out". :D



#6 Swami OFFLINE  

Swami

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 2,481 posts
  • Location:Twin Cities, MN

Posted Sat Dec 29, 2018 3:24 PM

I searched around on eBay and AA marketplace history and, surprisingly, no good controllers or even inty's with two good controllers, maybe one "working." Seems slimmer pickings than the atari's or ColecoVisions. I can see why the inty falshbacks are priced so crazy. Folks are probably after the controllers. I don't have an Intellivision system, currently. One issue was room, since I've got a ton of other systems. One reason I didn't get an Inty is because it sounds like it is a tough choice between the 1 and 2. I decided for the time, I would get the controllers since I already have the VisionDapter from 2600dapter that would allow me to use it with the Nostalgia emulator, for starters. I want something I can use the overlays with. I don't know if I were to get ahold of a couple used ones, if I could get them refurbished.

 

P.S. Looks like BSR has ran out of IFB replacement controllers on Intellivisionlives website.



#7 JasonlikesINTV OFFLINE  

JasonlikesINTV

    Quadrunner

  • 9,501 posts
  • Location:Midwest

Posted Sat Dec 29, 2018 6:34 PM

I searched around on eBay and AA marketplace history and, surprisingly, no good controllers or even inty's with two good controllers, maybe one "working." Seems slimmer pickings than the atari's or ColecoVisions. I can see why the inty falshbacks are priced so crazy. Folks are probably after the controllers. I don't have an Intellivision system, currently. One issue was room, since I've got a ton of other systems. One reason I didn't get an Inty is because it sounds like it is a tough choice between the 1 and 2. I decided for the time, I would get the controllers since I already have the VisionDapter from 2600dapter that would allow me to use it with the Nostalgia emulator, for starters. I want something I can use the overlays with. I don't know if I were to get ahold of a couple used ones, if I could get them refurbished.
 
P.S. Looks like BSR has ran out of IFB replacement controllers on Intellivisionlives website.


They might still have the replacement overlays, though. Get them while you can. Don't forget to buy both sets (one has like 10-15 and the other has the rest).

#8 -^CrožBow^- ONLINE  

-^CrožBow^-

    Quadrunner

  • 6,737 posts
  • Collector of Fine Atari and Sega Antiquities!
  • Location:Ivory Tower, Fantasia (Oklahoma)

Posted Sat Dec 29, 2018 7:03 PM

You can use a 5200 power supply with the Intelly 2...and there are plenty of other DC adapters you can get. Just make sure it is 12v and has the larger diameter center opening for the barrel jack to fit. Polarity doesn't matter on the Intelly 2 since it rectifies everything to what it needs anyway. In fact, using a DC adapter is less stress on the internal power board and transformer.

 

But to get back on topic, I have found that the keypad membrane on the Intelly 2 and the INTV III systems seems to disintegrate with age. For that reason along I prefer using Intelly 1 consoles and their controllers.



#9 Swami OFFLINE  

Swami

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 2,481 posts
  • Location:Twin Cities, MN

Posted Sat Dec 29, 2018 7:26 PM

Well, I bought a pair of lightly used inty 1 controllers with no cord and a loose cord like new for about $35. New Listing. Heh. My Vision dapter came with a inty1 to dsub 9 adapter. So, hopefully good timing and that will work. Also found a set of 57 pairs of overlays on eBay.

#10 First Spear OFFLINE  

First Spear

    Stargunner

  • 1,347 posts
  • Location:Somewhere in Uptown

Posted Tue Jan 1, 2019 2:08 PM

Now its time for me to regurgitate the fact that the best setup is Flashback controllers with Nurmix adapters, bar none. :)

Edited by First Spear, Tue Jan 1, 2019 2:08 PM.


#11 mr_me OFFLINE  

mr_me

    River Patroller

  • 3,679 posts
  • Location:Ontario

Posted Tue Jan 1, 2019 3:29 PM

Well, I bought a pair of lightly used inty 1 controllers with no cord and a loose cord like new for about $35. New Listing. Heh. My Vision dapter came with a inty1 to dsub 9 adapter. So, hopefully good timing and that will work. Also found a set of 57 pairs of overlays on eBay.

Open up the controller that has no cable. If it has the connector block inside than you can replace the cable with a sega genesis extension cable.

#12 Swami OFFLINE  

Swami

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 2,481 posts
  • Location:Twin Cities, MN

Posted Tue Jan 1, 2019 6:26 PM

Open up the controller that has no cable. If it has the connector block inside than you can replace the cable with a sega genesis extension cable.

 

Thanks. I have the pinout here:

http://arcarc.xmissi...h/intvcont.html

 

I assume I need some special connector to plug into the interior controller plug inside the inty 1 controller. Any idea how to find one or do I need to bypass the plug and solder directly to the contacts? I could buy and cannabalize a dead inty1 controller, but then I wouldn't need the extension cord.~\_(* *)_/~



#13 Swami OFFLINE  

Swami

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 2,481 posts
  • Location:Twin Cities, MN

Posted Tue Jan 1, 2019 6:29 PM

 

Exactly 0 - 100% - scientifically speaking, of course. :P

 

I was waiting to see anybody was going to the "what about ebay?" line, But I just browsed over the listings and its pretty dry over there.

 

I'd help ya out, but I only have one inty 2 and I think only one the controllers works anyways. Hell, I think I paid more for a power adapter than the unit itself.

 

Thanks. If I decide to get the console, it is looking like the Sears SVA is the most ideal. I hear the inty 2 is incompatible with some games, or have those roms been patched?



#14 mr_me OFFLINE  

mr_me

    River Patroller

  • 3,679 posts
  • Location:Ontario

Posted Tue Jan 1, 2019 7:06 PM

 
Thanks. I have the pinout here:
http://arcarc.xmissi...h/intvcont.html
 
I assume I need some special connector to plug into the interior controller plug inside the inty 1 controller. Any idea how to find one or do I need to bypass the plug and solder directly to the contacts? I could buy and cannabalize a dead inty1 controller, but then I wouldn't need the extension cord.~\_(* *)_/~

If the "interior controller plug" you have is the connector block I'm talking about, then you don't need anything else. The connector block comes apart and takes wires directly from the cable. You don't even need any tools.

You can see the connector block at the end of the cable/wires in this photograph.
http://www.the-liber...-controller.JPG

Edited by mr_me, Tue Jan 1, 2019 7:57 PM.


#15 Swami OFFLINE  

Swami

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 2,481 posts
  • Location:Twin Cities, MN

Posted Tue Jan 1, 2019 9:27 PM

If the "interior controller plug" you have is the connector block I'm talking about, then you don't need anything else. The connector block comes apart and takes wires directly from the cable. You don't even need any tools.

You can see the connector block at the end of the cable/wires in this photograph.
http://www.the-liber...-controller.JPG

 

Okay. This is the picture I had of the cord. Not sure of the correspondence.

Attached Thumbnails

  • aa-l1600.jpg


#16 mr_me OFFLINE  

mr_me

    River Patroller

  • 3,679 posts
  • Location:Ontario

Posted Tue Jan 1, 2019 9:51 PM

The connector block is at the end of the cable at the bottom of the photo. You have two controllers; you need two connector blocks to make them both useable.

#17 Swami OFFLINE  

Swami

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 2,481 posts
  • Location:Twin Cities, MN

Posted Tue Jan 1, 2019 9:56 PM

The connector block is at the end of the cable at the bottom of the photo. You have two controllers; you need two connector blocks to make them both useable.

 

Okay. Thanks. I'll check the cordless one for a connector block when it arrives and go from there.



#18 fdr4prez OFFLINE  

fdr4prez

    Stargunner

  • 1,847 posts

Posted Tue Jan 1, 2019 10:01 PM

Swami - head over to Champlin and pick this up Inty FB:

https://offerup.com/...tail/458583512/



#19 Swami OFFLINE  

Swami

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 2,481 posts
  • Location:Twin Cities, MN

Posted Sun Jan 6, 2019 7:32 PM

Swami - head over to Champlin and pick this up Inty FB:

https://offerup.com/...tail/458583512/

 

I wonder if that one may be gone as it is eight months old, but thanks. I ended finding an even better deal on Cragslist for a new sealed INtv FB for $25. Pretty happy about that. Now the questions...$25 sealed INtv - open or save as collectible (always tempting)? I also just ordered a couple rolodex 120 credit card books to organize my overlays for INtv, ColecoVision and 5200.






0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users