Jump to content

Photo

Make your own S-Video for your 8-bit card easily and quickly

s-video

14 replies to this topic

#1 Magic Knight ONLINE  

Magic Knight

    Dragonstomper

  • 543 posts
  • Waiting for SHATRON to be released...
  • Location:Castle of Karn (Scotland UK)

Posted Fri Jan 11, 2019 9:07 AM

Hi

 

Heres how you can make your own top quality S-Video video board for almost any Atari 8 bit.  It uses few parts and would take minutes to install.

 

The Atari series shares the same common IC graphics chip (GTIA) and has Luma and chroma produced at a high level.  Unfortunately Atari made an ass of this on the XL series (particularly the 600XL) and didnt improve much with the XE series.

 

I produced a module that did this a few years back but thought i would make the details on how you can make your own here. Ive photographed my own for clarity, but ive some ataris with just the components hard wired on to the boards with wires,

 

The circuit has been tested on:

 

400

800XL

600XL

65XE

130XE

800XE

XEGs

 

it will definitely work on 1200XL's and 800's, however the 800 has good native s-video, so it would be best to leave alone or use Jurgens 800 color board as the components needed to remove are more fiddly.

 

 

Parts required:

 

33 Ohm  resistor (any wattage - a 0.25w one is suggested)

50 ohm trimmer

16V 22uF capacitor (10uf value will work also)

 

 

The circuit looks like this (both on cad and in simple layout)

 

s-vid schematic-mini.jpg s-vid schematic - basic.jpg   s-vid board pcb- mini.jpg

 

 

The layout should be similar to this:

 

20190111_144113-mini.jpg        20190111_144048-mini2.jpg

 

 

 

The circuit can easily be hard wired together or put on prototype board etc.

 

The instruction on installation to your Atari can be found here (ignore the fact its a module and substitute for the board/circuit)   Attached File  Magic Knights XL-XE module instruction.pdf   2.07MB   80 downloads

 

Anyone wanting to make their own PCB - heres the gerber files etc : Attached File  XL s-video 1.00f_2018-12-04.zip   32.88KB   25 downloads

 

 

Comments and questions welcome!

 

Richard


Edited by Magic Knight, Fri Jan 11, 2019 9:08 AM.


#2 xrbrevin ONLINE  

xrbrevin

    Moonsweeper

  • 333 posts
  • Mr Ziggy loves to extend the 1050 heatsink!
  • Location:UK

Posted Fri Jan 11, 2019 12:06 PM

nice and neat - can you upload a screenshot?



#3 manterola ONLINE  

manterola

    Moonsweeper

  • 286 posts
  • Location:Washington metropolitan area, USA

Posted Fri Jan 11, 2019 12:33 PM

Hi, this look great. I have a question though. I have a 600XL with UAV installed that have a nice video output, and a 800XL with chroma mod and a simple mod i don't remember right now (a simple one I got from here: I basically lifted a resistor, as far as I remember), That 800XL also look great in my Dell 2007fp monitor. But When I connect my 65XE (64x4 motherboard) with stock video output the image is totally wrong. I need to decrease the saturation control in the monitor setting to make it look similar to the other ones.

So the question is: Will the variable resistor here will help me adjust the saturation level on this 65XE (130XE motherboard)?



#4 Magic Knight ONLINE  

Magic Knight

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 543 posts
  • Waiting for SHATRON to be released...
  • Location:Castle of Karn (Scotland UK)

Posted Fri Jan 11, 2019 12:51 PM

nice and neat - can you upload a screenshot?

Heres a couple of quickies

20190111_182646.jpg

20190111_182842.jpg

Blue screen looks multi shaded but is a single colour as we know graphics 0 cant do that in the flesh! My camera being as it is..

#5 Magic Knight ONLINE  

Magic Knight

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 543 posts
  • Waiting for SHATRON to be released...
  • Location:Castle of Karn (Scotland UK)

Posted Fri Jan 11, 2019 12:57 PM

Hi, this look great. I have a question though. I have a 600XL with UAV installed that have a nice video output, and a 800XL with chroma mod and a simple mod i don't remember right now (a simple one I got from here: I basically lifted a resistor, as far as I remember), That 800XL also look great in my Dell 2007fp monitor. But When I connect my 65XE (64x4 motherboard) with stock video output the image is totally wrong. I need to decrease the saturation control in the monitor setting to make it look similar to the other ones.
So the question is: Will the variable resistor here will help me adjust the saturation level on this 65XE (130XE motherboard)?


If your using the built in gash from the monitor port then theres (probably) not a lot of point trying to manipulate the crippled signal. Having straight off the Gtia is the purest way and straight the horses mouth so to speak.

The resistor may help but any noise will still be there. Try a 68 or 75 ohm first to see if it works.

#6 Sugarland OFFLINE  

Sugarland

    Chopper Commander

  • 221 posts

Posted Sat Jan 12, 2019 1:22 AM

Blue screen looks multi shaded but is a single colour as we know graphics 0 cant do that in the flesh! My camera being as it is..

 

I don't think that's your camera creating that effect. Looks like a product of TN (twisted nematic) monitors where the top is darker than the bottom.  https://www.tnpanel.com/tn-vs-ips-va/ It's normal.

 

Thank you for sharing this video upgrade!!


Edited by Sugarland, Sat Jan 12, 2019 1:25 AM.


#7 _The Doctor__ ONLINE  

_The Doctor__

    Flux Capacitor Master Craftsman

  • 6,266 posts
  • Location:10-0-11-00:02

Posted Sat Jan 12, 2019 10:12 AM

 

I don't think that's your camera creating that effect. Looks like a product of TN (twisted nematic) monitors where the top is darker than the bottom.  https://www.tnpanel.com/tn-vs-ips-va/ It's normal.

 

Thank you for sharing this video upgrade!!

and the lighting source can be moved/ adjusted to minimize the effect on some or those monitors, what a pain... never liked it!



#8 Stephen OFFLINE  

Stephen

    Quadrunner

  • 7,464 posts
  • A8 Gear Head
  • Location:No longer in Crakron, Ohio

Posted Sat Jan 12, 2019 6:28 PM

and the lighting source can be moved/ adjusted to minimize the effect on some or those monitors, what a pain... never liked it!

I still have to use CRT on my real rigs.  I gotta say though - PAL flicker is rough on me, living in NTSC land, and being ultra sensitive to flicker even at 60Hz monitors, fluorescent tubes, etc..

 


#9 cbelcher OFFLINE  

cbelcher

    Space Invader

  • 15 posts

Posted Mon Jan 14, 2019 8:28 AM

Thanks for releasing the information!

 

Could you please post the installation instructions / modifications for an Atari 400?

 

Thanks!



#10 Magic Knight ONLINE  

Magic Knight

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 543 posts
  • Waiting for SHATRON to be released...
  • Location:Castle of Karn (Scotland UK)

Posted Mon Jan 14, 2019 12:57 PM

I should really update the manual, but the info can be found here:

http://atariage.com/...ed#entry2750598

#11 flashjazzcat ONLINE  

flashjazzcat

    Quadrunner

  • 14,332 posts
  • Location:United Kingdom

Posted Mon Jan 14, 2019 1:06 PM

Is this based on the boards KJMann was selling a few years ago?



#12 slx OFFLINE  

slx

    Stargunner

  • 1,681 posts
  • Location:Vienna, Austria

Posted Mon Jan 14, 2019 1:20 PM

Thanks for sharing your design.

Is this PAL/NTSC specific or does it work for both?



#13 Magic Knight ONLINE  

Magic Knight

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 543 posts
  • Waiting for SHATRON to be released...
  • Location:Castle of Karn (Scotland UK)

Posted Mon Jan 14, 2019 1:42 PM

Is this based on the boards KJMann was selling a few years ago?

 

Yes, the installation was incomplete for some models of 8 bits and needed new documentation. Also was surprised this wasnt the norm for s-video out as theres lttle help needed from the Gtia (other than bi-passing Ataris awful handling of the signal).

 

Thanks for sharing your design.
Is this PAL/NTSC specific or does it work for both?

works for both. Just tones down the signal for the monitors- using least qty passive components where only required.

#14 Level42 OFFLINE  

Level42

    River Patroller

  • 2,602 posts
  • Location:Ridderkerk, The Netherlands

Posted Mon Jan 14, 2019 3:12 PM

 

I still have to use CRT on my real rigs.  I gotta say though - PAL flicker is rough on me, living in NTSC land, and being ultra sensitive to flicker even at 60Hz monitors, fluorescent tubes, etc..

 

 

 

It's funny how we never "noticed" the 50Hz flicker in Europe BITD......we didn't know better ! 
I do remember noticing it from the corner of my eyes more than when directly looking at it, this is because of the "design" of our eye...movement from the sides is faster detected around the center of our view field because of obvious reasons....

Today I run my 600XL in "semi" NTSC mode about 95% of the time because of the the obvious advantages: faster games, 60Hz much steadier on the eye, correct aspect ratio, better colors.



#15 mytek OFFLINE  

mytek

    River Patroller

  • 3,231 posts
  • Location:Santa Rosa, CA

Posted Mon Jan 14, 2019 6:29 PM

 

Today I run my 600XL in "semi" NTSC mode about 95% of the time because of the the obvious advantages: faster games, 60Hz much steadier on the eye, correct aspect ratio, better colors.

 

That's funny, I run my systems 95% of time in PAL mode.

 

I guess sometimes we want what we never had  :grin: .







Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: s-video

0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users