Jump to content

Photo

Is 10 FPS a too low framerate for a LYNX tile based game?


82 replies to this topic

#76 karri OFFLINE  

karri

    River Patroller

  • 2,547 posts
  • Location:Espoo, Finland

Posted Yesterday, 12:48 PM

A few years ago I had discussions with AtariAge people and we kind of agreed on a few more fields in the header. This is what cc65 tries to maintain today.
 

; ------------------------------------------------------------------------
; EXE header
        .segment "EXEHDR"
        .byte   'L','Y','N','X'                         ; magic
        .word   __BLOCKSIZE__                           ; bank 0 page size
        .word   0                                       ; bank 1 page size
        .word   1                                       ; version number
        .asciiz "Cart name                      "       ; 32 bytes cart name
        .asciiz "Manufacturer   "                       ; 16 bytes manufacturer
        .byte   0                                       ; rotation 1=left
                                                        ; rotation 2=right
        .byte   0                                       ; aud bits 1=in use for addressing
        .byte   0                                       ; eeprom
                                                        ; eeprom [2:0] -
                                                        ; 0 - no eeprom
                                                        ; 1 - 93c46 16 bit mode (used in Ttris, SIMIS, Alpine Games, ..., MegaPak I at least)
                                                        ; 2        56
                                                        ; 3 - 93c66 16 bit mode
                                                        ; 4        76
                                                        ; 5 - 93c86 16 bit mode
                                                        ; (remark: size in bits is 2^(value+9) -- (please recheck!)
                                                        ; eeprom [3-5] - reserved - keep it to 0 for further usage
                                                        ; eeprom [6] - 0 - real eeprom, 1 - eeprom as a file in /saves/flappy.hi on SD cart
                                                        ; eeprom [7] - 0 - 16 bit mode, 1 - 8 bit mode
        .byte   0,0,0                                   ; spare

As you can see we even have an option for putting the eeprom in the /saves folder on a SD cart. I actually even have some dedicated binaries intended for the SD cart that could use this feature. But the SD firmware must support this and not turn off the controller after programming if the eeprom bit 6 is on.



#77 Nop90 OFFLINE  

Nop90

    Space Invader

  • Topic Starter
  • 42 posts
  • Location:Italy

Posted Yesterday, 1:38 PM

Set to 1 the eeprom byte, but nothing



#78 karri OFFLINE  

karri

    River Patroller

  • 2,547 posts
  • Location:Espoo, Finland

Posted Yesterday, 2:39 PM

I also tried to run my homebrew games with handy v0.95 but no success with eeprom. 

 

The sound is also horrible compared to Mednafen.



#79 sage OFFLINE  

sage

    Dragonstomper

  • 976 posts
  • Location:Germany

Posted Yesterday, 8:04 PM

Set to 1 the eeprom byte, but nothing

update the emulator?



#80 Nop90 OFFLINE  

Nop90

    Space Invader

  • Topic Starter
  • 42 posts
  • Location:Italy

Posted Today, 1:28 AM

update the emulator?

update to what?

 

Handy 0.95 should be the ltest.

 

Tried libretro (handy core) that creates an eeprom files on game start, but it's almost always empty. A cuople of times it had the correct values but it's cleaned on exiting the game.

 

I this situation I don't know if I'm doing something wrong, so I'm going to write a simple test code that I can share.



#81 Nop90 OFFLINE  

Nop90

    Space Invader

  • Topic Starter
  • 42 posts
  • Location:Italy

Posted Today, 2:14 AM

Update:

 

analyzed the retroarch lynx core and it dumps the eeprom content on file only when the game is restarted or closed, but I think there is a bug in the closing code because there the eeprom is also cleared (probably to clear the state of the emulator), but this seems to happen before saving the eeprom content to file (so the saved content result always in a bunch of 0).

 

Since on starting/restarting a rom the emulator loads the eeprom file on memory, the cleaning part should be moved before the load eproom call to fix the problem.

 

Knowing this I tricked the emulator. Made a correct file save of the eeprom resetting the rom, changed the file name and closed the emulator. Than restored the filename and restarted the emulator and the gam: this way everything worked fine.

 

Now I know my code works as expected.



#82 LX.NET OFFLINE  

LX.NET

    Dragonstomper

  • 759 posts
  • Location:The Netherlands

Posted Today, 10:51 AM

You will need sage's newer Handy version to support this.

#83 Nop90 OFFLINE  

Nop90

    Space Invader

  • Topic Starter
  • 42 posts
  • Location:Italy

Posted Today, 11:15 AM

You will need sage's newer Handy version to support this.

 

Found this http://atariage.com/...testers-please/






0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users