Jump to content

Photo

Super video arcade graphics issue


38 replies to this topic

#1 Zack OFFLINE  

Zack

    Space Invader

  • 49 posts

Posted Thu Jan 31, 2019 8:55 PM

I'm having an issue with my sva where some of the startup screens are wonky ex. Atari logo being blocky. And also sprites do not appear on screen, I'm pretty familiar with electronics and soldering. Anybody know what the issue is?

#2 -^CrožBow^- OFFLINE  

-^CrožBow^-

    Quadrunner

  • 6,878 posts
  • Collector of Fine Atari and Sega Antiquities!
  • Location:Ivory Tower, Fantasia (Oklahoma)

Posted Thu Jan 31, 2019 9:20 PM

Seems this is a common issue lately. I had a clients Intellivision model 2 start doing this not too long after they got it from me and it ended up being the STIC going bad. I believe there is another Intelly SVA in this section with the same issue as you have described. Also pointing to a bad STIC chip in that one too. Maybe I should order 1 or two for myself just in case as I've got 4 soon to be 5 variants of the Intellivsion here at the 'Tower'.



#3 Zack OFFLINE  

Zack

    Space Invader

  • Topic Starter
  • 49 posts

Posted Thu Jan 31, 2019 10:20 PM

Is it worth fixing

#4 JasonlikesINTV OFFLINE  

JasonlikesINTV

    Quadrunner

  • 9,579 posts
  • Location:Midwest

Posted Thu Jan 31, 2019 10:24 PM

It's the damn polar vortex I tell ya.

#5 -^CrožBow^- OFFLINE  

-^CrožBow^-

    Quadrunner

  • 6,878 posts
  • Collector of Fine Atari and Sega Antiquities!
  • Location:Ivory Tower, Fantasia (Oklahoma)

Posted Thu Jan 31, 2019 11:13 PM

It's the damn polar vortex I tell ya.

LOL!

 

And yes all SVAs and hell Intellivisions in general are worth saving if they can be saved.



#6 IMBerzerk OFFLINE  

IMBerzerk

    Moonsweeper

  • 256 posts
  • Location:Long Island, NY

Posted Thu Jan 31, 2019 11:54 PM

I agree!



#7 Zack OFFLINE  

Zack

    Space Invader

  • Topic Starter
  • 49 posts

Posted Fri Feb 1, 2019 8:28 PM

Is there any hope or do I just sell it

#8 IMBerzerk OFFLINE  

IMBerzerk

    Moonsweeper

  • 256 posts
  • Location:Long Island, NY

Posted Fri Feb 1, 2019 9:40 PM

What is the condition of the case?  Do the controllers work?  Does it shut-off by itself, or do anything else odd?

 

If not and the case is good.. .then yes, keep it and fix it.


Edited by IMBerzerk, Fri Feb 1, 2019 9:40 PM.


#9 Zack OFFLINE  

Zack

    Space Invader

  • Topic Starter
  • 49 posts

Posted Sat Feb 2, 2019 8:57 AM

Well I bought it off eBay with the matching box and 8 controllers. For 80 bucks! I definitely want to fix it but don't know how, is there somewhere with details?

#10 -^CrožBow^- OFFLINE  

-^CrožBow^-

    Quadrunner

  • 6,878 posts
  • Collector of Fine Atari and Sega Antiquities!
  • Location:Ivory Tower, Fantasia (Oklahoma)

Posted Sat Feb 2, 2019 9:04 AM

Well I bought it off eBay with the matching box and 8 controllers. For 80 bucks! I definitely want to fix it but don't know how, is there somewhere with details?

 

Where are you located roughly?



#11 Zack OFFLINE  

Zack

    Space Invader

  • Topic Starter
  • 49 posts

Posted Sat Feb 2, 2019 9:25 AM

63376 mo

#12 JasonlikesINTV OFFLINE  

JasonlikesINTV

    Quadrunner

  • 9,579 posts
  • Location:Midwest

Posted Sat Feb 2, 2019 9:47 AM

63376 mo

Screenshot_20190202-094307.png
(I'm in StL City)

Edited by JasonlikesINTV, Sat Feb 2, 2019 9:48 AM.


#13 blainelocklair ONLINE  

blainelocklair

    Moonsweeper

  • 277 posts
  • Location:Summerville, SC

Posted Sat Feb 2, 2019 9:54 AM

The STIC went flaky on my Intellivision II recently and showed the exact same problems you are having. In the Model II, the STIC is socketed (or at least is in mine), so just popped the old one out and replaced it. Problem solved right away. I don't know for sure if the STIC is socketed or soldered directly to the board on the SVA. Either way, it's worth saving. STICs aren't terribly expensive and a working one will likely clear up the problem.

 

Eight controllers? All SVA style? Wow! Those are worth as much (or maybe more) than the $80 you paid for the whole bundle. Nice job.



#14 -^CrožBow^- OFFLINE  

-^CrožBow^-

    Quadrunner

  • 6,878 posts
  • Collector of Fine Atari and Sega Antiquities!
  • Location:Ivory Tower, Fantasia (Oklahoma)

Posted Sun Feb 3, 2019 4:30 PM

I'm in Tulsa and the chips are likely socketed and shouldn't be any big deal to change out.

#15 Zack OFFLINE  

Zack

    Space Invader

  • Topic Starter
  • 49 posts

Posted Sun Feb 3, 2019 10:04 PM

So I did an oopsie, I sold it not knowing I could fix it. Do I try to back out and fix to keeping it with the matching sn box, I already told him he could have it, but he seems pretty understanding. Also where do I by a stic chip


Are any of you interested in the controllers, I have no need sadly, or should I hold on? Otherwise we could make a deal

#16 Zack OFFLINE  

Zack

    Space Invader

  • Topic Starter
  • 49 posts

Posted Sun Feb 3, 2019 10:07 PM

Funny story too, Im pretty sure I wasn't supposed to get the 8 controllers. I had noticed that they were listed on his profile on eBay, and really wanted for 20 a peice, but couldn't justify, but then the sva showed up and u crack it open and spill it out on a table, and was spooked to find the controllers in there.

#17 Zack OFFLINE  

Zack

    Space Invader

  • Topic Starter
  • 49 posts

Posted Sun Feb 3, 2019 10:09 PM

Any one iterested in the whole lot acctualy, I'll do the system, needing stic chip, and the 8 controllers, the matching box for the console for 200

#18 -^CrožBow^- OFFLINE  

-^CrožBow^-

    Quadrunner

  • 6,878 posts
  • Collector of Fine Atari and Sega Antiquities!
  • Location:Ivory Tower, Fantasia (Oklahoma)

Posted Sun Feb 3, 2019 10:12 PM

The STIC is inexpensive. Just send a PM to Humblejack as he has them on hand. Or he did when I had him send one to Blaine about 2 weeks back to fix up his Intelly 2.



#19 Swami OFFLINE  

Swami

    River Patroller

  • 2,620 posts
  • Location:Twin Cities, MN

Posted Sun Feb 3, 2019 10:45 PM

bought for $80, sell for $200...AA discount??



#20 Zack OFFLINE  

Zack

    Space Invader

  • Topic Starter
  • 49 posts

Posted Sun Feb 3, 2019 10:50 PM

Oof



#21 Zack OFFLINE  

Zack

    Space Invader

  • Topic Starter
  • 49 posts

Posted Sun Feb 3, 2019 10:53 PM

Well I'm not selling it for 80

That's for sure



#22 IMBerzerk OFFLINE  

IMBerzerk

    Moonsweeper

  • 256 posts
  • Location:Long Island, NY

Posted Sun Feb 3, 2019 10:58 PM

got pics?



#23 Zack OFFLINE  

Zack

    Space Invader

  • Topic Starter
  • 49 posts

Posted Sun Feb 3, 2019 11:02 PM

https://rover.ebay.c...tm/292833518628
That's from when I bought it

#24 mr_me OFFLINE  

mr_me

    River Patroller

  • 3,827 posts
  • Location:Ontario

Posted Mon Feb 4, 2019 6:58 AM

Are all the spare controllers beige sears type?

#25 Humblejack ONLINE  

Humblejack

    Dragonstomper

  • 630 posts

Posted Mon Feb 4, 2019 9:52 AM

So I did an oopsie, I sold it not knowing I could fix it. Do I try to back out and fix to keeping it with the matching sn box, I already told him he could have it, but he seems pretty understanding. Also where do I by a stic chip


Are any of you interested in the controllers, I have no need sadly, or should I hold on? Otherwise we could make a deal

 

PLEASE, PLEASE, PLEASE, for the love of all that's Holy, do not separate the SN box from the unit. Please keep them together.






0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users