Jump to content

Photo

CorComp FDC and FinalGROM (conflict)


11 replies to this topic

#1 Opry99er OFFLINE  

Opry99er

    Quadrunner

  • 10,587 posts
  • Location:Hustisford, WI

Posted Sat Feb 2, 2019 10:38 PM

We had a fun day today at the CTIUG meeting. Something kind of wonky happened though, and I thought I would bring it up here.

We were trying to use the FinalGROM99 cartridge with my brand new CorComp 9900 FDC and some weird crap happened. When accessing the main FG menu, the screen went goofy and the screaming tone of death flooded the speakers. Not sure if this has been seen before, but it seems to be a conflict between these two pieces of hardware. I'm thinking the system takeover and startup routine in the FDC are the culprits.

I have ordered the MG upgrade EPROMs from Hummingbird, and I hope this will fix the problem. Below I have posted a picture and also linked to the video. You can see this behavior around the 2:00:00 mark.


Attached File  0EADD32A-F3F2-4E49-A4BC-C3CFAF85E527.jpeg   349.56KB   2 downloads




#2 Shift838 OFFLINE  

Shift838

    River Patroller

  • 2,505 posts
  • SHIFT838
  • Location:Deer Park, Texas

Posted Sat Feb 2, 2019 11:30 PM

You already mentioned the recommendation I would have given.  MG EPROMS...

 

Let us know how they work when you get them if it correct the problem.



#3 peterfleeman OFFLINE  

peterfleeman

    Space Invader

  • 44 posts

Posted Sun Feb 3, 2019 12:26 AM

I had this same problem. The MG ROMs fixed it for me.

#4 Opry99er OFFLINE  

Opry99er

    Quadrunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 10,587 posts
  • Location:Hustisford, WI

Posted Sun Feb 3, 2019 1:23 AM

Thanks guys! EPROMs are on their way!

#5 InsaneMultitasker OFFLINE  

InsaneMultitasker

    River Patroller

  • 2,360 posts

Posted Sun Feb 3, 2019 3:03 AM

My card has the original EPROMs and it does not play nicely with the ubergrom cartridge and PGRAM card.  I should probably take the same path to update my card.  I don't use it very often but it is nice when running a handful of programs that won't run properly from a Myarc card due to programmer assumptions about certain DSR/memory configurations.



#6 videofx OFFLINE  

videofx

    Moonsweeper

  • 252 posts

Posted Sun Feb 3, 2019 8:44 AM

Yup, I had the same problem and the EPROMS fixed the problem



#7 atrax27407 OFFLINE  

atrax27407

    Stargunner

  • 1,202 posts

Posted Sun Feb 3, 2019 10:15 AM

For those who need them, I have the MG EPROMs among my inventory. They are $14 for the 2 chip set. Just send me a PM and I'll get them shipped out.



#8 Opry99er OFFLINE  

Opry99er

    Quadrunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 10,587 posts
  • Location:Hustisford, WI

Posted Sun Feb 3, 2019 10:23 AM

Thanks so much for the service, Bob! :)

#9 apersson850 OFFLINE  

apersson850

    Dragonstomper

  • 567 posts

Posted Mon Feb 4, 2019 6:48 AM

I changed to the MG Eproms way back, and that took away all CorComp controller issues.



#10 adamantyr ONLINE  

adamantyr

    Stargunner

  • 1,448 posts

Posted Mon Feb 4, 2019 12:03 PM

yeah same here. MG Eproms. The Extended BASIC 2.7 cartridge also doesn't work quite right without them.



#11 Opry99er OFFLINE  

Opry99er

    Quadrunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 10,587 posts
  • Location:Hustisford, WI

Posted Mon Feb 4, 2019 12:42 PM

Ooh.... I couldn't function without XB2.7

:D

#12 BuckoBrand OFFLINE  

BuckoBrand

    Chopper Commander

  • 190 posts
  • Sans
  • Location:Hustisford, WI

Posted Mon Feb 4, 2019 2:52 PM

Hmm... Dad, Mustard says hi.

 

 

Mustard the cat: MEOW!!!


Edited by BuckoBrand, Mon Feb 4, 2019 2:53 PM.





0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users