Jump to content

Photo

Jzintv4droid multi touch


20 replies to this topic

#1 Bamse OFFLINE  

Bamse

    Moonsweeper

  • 271 posts

Posted Mon Feb 4, 2019 4:12 AM

I would like to be able to play intellivision games on the move and have jzintv4droid installed on both my phone and tablet but there is a problem with the controls which I just want to check if its intrinsic to the software.

My screens allow multi tap so I can press 2 seperate parts of the screen at the same time and both will be registered independently of each other. However, within jzintv4droid I can only press 1 spot at a time. So I can't press the disc and the side buttons together. This makes so many games unplayable.

Does anyone know of a way around this or have a solution?

Thanks :)

#2 mr_me ONLINE  

mr_me

    River Patroller

  • 3,825 posts
  • Location:Ontario

Posted Mon Feb 4, 2019 6:56 AM

Multitouch works for me.

#3 Bamse OFFLINE  

Bamse

    Moonsweeper

  • Topic Starter
  • 271 posts

Posted Mon Feb 4, 2019 7:25 AM

Multitouch works for me.


Great, so it must be possible. Do you know if its a setting within the app itself?

#4 mr_me ONLINE  

mr_me

    River Patroller

  • 3,825 posts
  • Location:Ontario

Posted Mon Feb 4, 2019 7:30 AM

In options I turned off vibration, and turned on invert controls, large side buttons, use overlays.

#5 Bamse OFFLINE  

Bamse

    Moonsweeper

  • Topic Starter
  • 271 posts

Posted Mon Feb 4, 2019 7:34 AM

Thanks. Still doesn't work :(

#6 Lathe26 OFFLINE  

Lathe26

    River Patroller

  • 3,820 posts

Posted Wed Feb 6, 2019 1:55 PM

Multitouch works for me as well.

Have you confirmed your phone supports multitouch? I'm 99% sure it does. Some early Android phones didn't but these days almost all of them these days do.

#7 Bamse OFFLINE  

Bamse

    Moonsweeper

  • Topic Starter
  • 271 posts

Posted Wed Feb 6, 2019 1:59 PM

I have a Samsung s7 which does but just to check, I downloaded an app that shows it can identify more than five seperate same time touches

#8 Bamse OFFLINE  

Bamse

    Moonsweeper

  • Topic Starter
  • 271 posts

Posted Wed Feb 6, 2019 1:59 PM

This is very strange

#9 dpisacane OFFLINE  

dpisacane

    Star Raider

  • 81 posts
  • Location:Massachusetts, USA

Posted Wed Feb 6, 2019 5:51 PM

I have exactly the same problem, Bamse. It's interesting, when I touch two parts of the screen I know that the multitouch registers because of the haptic feedback.

I tested this out with Demon Attack (the bane of my existence ) and was unable to move and shoot at the same time. There definitely is a problem for me with this.

Sent from my Pixel 2 using Tapatalk

#10 Bamse OFFLINE  

Bamse

    Moonsweeper

  • Topic Starter
  • 271 posts

Posted Wed Feb 6, 2019 6:47 PM

Yeah, I've tried it with my tablet and my phone. I turned on Show Touches so I could definitely see that with JZINTV4DROID the screen registers 2 seperate touches, the app itself seems to only allow 1 touch at a time though. Tried in Demon attack and Astrosmash. It's unplayable like this.

So, ive downloaded Retroarch on my table and use the Freeintv emulator core in that. This works very well with multi-tap but even better, it's supports external controllers so I can now play with my ps3 controller. So much better :)

#11 mr_me ONLINE  

mr_me

    River Patroller

  • 3,825 posts
  • Location:Ontario

Posted Thu Feb 7, 2019 12:44 AM

I'm using an old android v4.4. Maybe this is a problem with modern android.

A touchscreen is a terrible way to play these types of games anyway. Works okay for treasure of tarmin.

#12 Bamse OFFLINE  

Bamse

    Moonsweeper

  • Topic Starter
  • 271 posts

Posted Thu Feb 7, 2019 2:25 AM

I agree, touchscreen is terrible for these games. I had bought a stick on thumb joystick which works really well but the single touch problem makes it unplayable.
It could be that my devices are relatively new or maybe, you have an older version of jzintv4droid?

#13 mr_me ONLINE  

mr_me

    River Patroller

  • 3,825 posts
  • Location:Ontario

Posted Thu Feb 7, 2019 7:08 AM

I have thd current jzntv4droid but i don't think much work has been done on it for a long time.

#14 Bamse OFFLINE  

Bamse

    Moonsweeper

  • Topic Starter
  • 271 posts

Posted Thu Feb 7, 2019 7:39 AM

No, i don't think so either.
To be fair, even if someone did have a solution for me, I probably still would have uninstalled it now that I've tried Freeintv through retroarch using PS3 controller. So much better using a controller instead of a touchscreen and jzintv4droid doesn't support controllers anyway.

Thanks all for your input, it's very much appreciated as always :)

#15 mr_me ONLINE  

mr_me

    River Patroller

  • 3,825 posts
  • Location:Ontario

Posted Thu Feb 7, 2019 7:50 AM

True but using an external controller is not as portable. I forgot about those stick-on buttons.

Another problem is jzintv4droid is fixed to a vertical orientation. I assume you can use a horizontal orientation with retroarch.

Edited by mr_me, Thu Feb 7, 2019 7:55 AM.


#16 Bamse OFFLINE  

Bamse

    Moonsweeper

  • Topic Starter
  • 271 posts

Posted Thu Feb 7, 2019 8:00 AM

No, you have to think to take the controller with you in advance so its not as convenient as just being able to get your phone out and play. Retroarch has an overlay control as well though so it's not much different to using the JZINTV4DROID touch controls (except of course Multitouch works for me in Retroarch :D )

This, you can play landscape or portrait in Retroarch plus, it supports save states so you can save your games.

Edited by Bamse, Thu Feb 7, 2019 8:00 AM.


#17 mr_me ONLINE  

mr_me

    River Patroller

  • 3,825 posts
  • Location:Ontario

Posted Thu Feb 7, 2019 8:09 AM

So can you have the keypad on the touchscreen all the time? Freeintv on a PC was limited to only mapping one keypad button at a time (you can change that mapping on the fly).

Edited by mr_me, Thu Feb 7, 2019 8:10 AM.


#18 Bamse OFFLINE  

Bamse

    Moonsweeper

  • Topic Starter
  • 271 posts

Posted Thu Feb 7, 2019 8:16 AM

No, it's kind of a weird one that. The key pad is only visible when you press and hold R1 on the controller so a game like Tron DD would be pretty unplayable unless, you mapped the the Dpad as the detections for the disc to shoot I suppose.

#19 Bamse OFFLINE  

Bamse

    Moonsweeper

  • Topic Starter
  • 271 posts

Posted Thu Feb 7, 2019 8:19 AM

I thought I'd heard in an intellivisionaries podcast that someone was looking into making Jzintv compatible with Retroarch. This would be an ideal solution.

#20 mr_me ONLINE  

mr_me

    River Patroller

  • 3,825 posts
  • Location:Ontario

Posted Thu Feb 7, 2019 8:22 AM

Not sure if you can map the dpad to buttons in retroarch. I just read in the libretro forum that they've mapped keypad 1-4,6-9 to the right analog stick. That's pretty good if you don't mind playing left handed. If they ever implement Netplay in freeintv they might have something.

Edited by mr_me, Thu Feb 7, 2019 8:25 AM.


#21 Bamse OFFLINE  

Bamse

    Moonsweeper

  • Topic Starter
  • 271 posts

Posted Thu Feb 7, 2019 8:32 AM

I see. I only installed it last night so haven't really had much of a chance to play around yet. For me, with my touch screen problems it would be a better option anyway. Yes, net play would be nice :)




0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users