Jump to content

Photo

Sophia DVI compatible monitors

sophia dvi monitor compatible

67 replies to this topic

#1 Sleepy OFFLINE  

Sleepy

    Moonsweeper

  • 356 posts

Posted Wed Feb 6, 2019 2:34 AM

Hi,

by reason of fitting my XEL with sophia dvi, I tested some monitors for compatibility.

 

PAL, sophia programmed for 1536x960

working:
HP Compag LA2405x
HP EliteDisplay E241i
HP LP2065
LG IPS LED 24EB23
Samsung SyncMaster 2443BW

not working:
HP Compaq LA2205wg
Samsung SyncMaster 2493HM

You can ad your own experiences here, maybe it´s a decision support for users looking for a compatible monitor.

 

 

Sleepy


Edited by Sleepy, Wed Feb 6, 2019 2:36 AM.


#2 Rybags OFFLINE  

Rybags

    Gridrunner

  • 16,103 posts
  • Location:Australia

Posted Wed Feb 6, 2019 3:15 AM

With PAL the compatibility issue can be more of a thing.  Though I've even tried digital TV tuners set to NTSC using HDMI to DVI adaptors and 2 of my monitors wanted nothing to do with them.

 

I would suggest that sort of thing is probably a good easy way for people to test before committing - just make sure the modern day device isn't set to a resolution or mode that the monitor can't handle.  If a TV tuner works chances are the Atari should be OK too.



#3 jowi OFFLINE  

jowi

    Chopper Commander

  • 173 posts
  • Location:Rotterdam, The Netherlands

Posted Wed Feb 6, 2019 6:00 AM

Not working:

  • Pioneer Kuro KRP-600M (Elite 141 series) television
  • JVC DILA X7500 projector
  • Acer S243HL monitor
  • DVDO iScan VP50 scaler (!)
  • Lumagen Vision HDP scaler (!)
  • Also no valid signal on HDFury Vertex

Working:

  • Dell U3011
  • HP LP2465

(Tested with 1280x960 and 1280x1024 Sophia)



#4 jowi OFFLINE  

jowi

    Chopper Commander

  • 173 posts
  • Location:Rotterdam, The Netherlands

Posted Wed Feb 6, 2019 6:03 AM

If a TV tuner works chances are the Atari should be OK too.

This makes no sense. The Sophia board is outputting a digital DVI signal.



#5 Rybags OFFLINE  

Rybags

    Gridrunner

  • 16,103 posts
  • Location:Australia

Posted Wed Feb 6, 2019 7:13 AM

A set top device like Bluray or digital tuner will output HDMI.

 

HDMI and DVI are practically identical except DVI doesn't usually carry audio.  You can get converter plugs and they're passive devices.



#6 jowi OFFLINE  

jowi

    Chopper Commander

  • 173 posts
  • Location:Rotterdam, The Netherlands

Posted Wed Feb 6, 2019 8:04 AM

A set top device like Bluray or digital tuner will output HDMI.

I still have no clue what this has to do with the Sophia board... you know what the Sophia board is or not?

Attached Thumbnails

  • IMG_2691.jpg
  • IMG_2596.jpg

Edited by jowi, Wed Feb 6, 2019 8:07 AM.


#7 _The Doctor__ OFFLINE  

_The Doctor__

    Flux Capacitor Master Craftsman

  • 6,789 posts
  • Location:10-0-11-00:02

Posted Wed Feb 6, 2019 11:02 AM

He is saying, you can get a dvi to hdmi connector and plug to hdmi devices you may have to get creative to get audio included.



#8 jowi OFFLINE  

jowi

    Chopper Commander

  • 173 posts
  • Location:Rotterdam, The Netherlands

Posted Wed Feb 6, 2019 12:04 PM

I still don't get why a tv tuner is mentioned.



#9 jowi OFFLINE  

jowi

    Chopper Commander

  • 173 posts
  • Location:Rotterdam, The Netherlands

Posted Wed Feb 6, 2019 12:07 PM

Also does NOT work: Monoprice DVI to HDMI converter: https://www.monopric...&seq=1&format=2

That is, it works fine, but it will not 'fix' the DVI signal, so if your monitor/tv doesn't accept Sophia's DVI output directly, neither will it accept the HDMI signal coming from this.

 

81241.jpg


Edited by jowi, Wed Feb 6, 2019 12:09 PM.


#10 _The Doctor__ OFFLINE  

_The Doctor__

    Flux Capacitor Master Craftsman

  • 6,789 posts
  • Location:10-0-11-00:02

Posted Wed Feb 6, 2019 12:12 PM

Here's an idea, list what does work, and yes a blue ray recorder can have a dvi with separate audio input and output an hdmi stream that includes that audio...

 

I have a samsung that takes hdmi picture only on one of it's ports and has a separate audio in... I use that input for a laptop that has dvi only, I use a dvi to hdmi cable and run a separate mini jack from the laptop to the tv.

 

you can also look to some home stereos that convert between formats and allow mixing.

 

There are all different ways to skin the animals of your choice. It's best to list what works, it's more efficient that way....

 

if the goals is to go on and on about what doesn't work and get some new device made or try to get a redesign, how about you come right out and say that and ask permission to build on what he did, or start a new thread for your own device or asking someone to make the device you envision or desire..


Edited by _The Doctor__, Wed Feb 6, 2019 12:14 PM.


#11 flashjazzcat OFFLINE  

flashjazzcat

    Quadrunner

  • 14,503 posts
  • Location:United Kingdom

Posted Wed Feb 6, 2019 12:38 PM

I think the puzzlement over the tuner statement stems form the fact that a tuner working over an HDMI port has no apparent bearing on whether Sophia's DVI signal is compatible with the same monitor, unless Simius has flooded the market with DTB tuners. :)

 

@Jowi: I think the DVI to HDMI adapter was suggested primarily as a means of handling audio, not as a potential method of improving video signal compatibility. Usually DVI/HDMI conversion and vice versa can be accomplished with a passive cable.

 

Listing what doesn't work isn't without value. If one owns a monitor which would have been on the 'not working' list but the not working list doesn't exist, one could waste a lot of time and money.



#12 _The Doctor__ OFFLINE  

_The Doctor__

    Flux Capacitor Master Craftsman

  • 6,789 posts
  • Location:10-0-11-00:02

Posted Wed Feb 6, 2019 1:10 PM

that may be the issue, where is the working, not working list...  who will go through all the posts and generate that list...  :)

Some fastidiousness would be required and that is no longer me.


Edited by _The Doctor__, Wed Feb 6, 2019 1:11 PM.


#13 flashjazzcat OFFLINE  

flashjazzcat

    Quadrunner

  • 14,503 posts
  • Location:United Kingdom

Posted Wed Feb 6, 2019 2:39 PM

where is the working, not working list...


This thread I think? Anyway: those who come after may have to brave the rarely used forum search facility, but if the information is there, I'm sure it'll be useful to someone. :)

#14 _The Doctor__ OFFLINE  

_The Doctor__

    Flux Capacitor Master Craftsman

  • 6,789 posts
  • Location:10-0-11-00:02

Posted Wed Feb 6, 2019 2:49 PM

tbh the forum search is a little weak, it requires using the fiddly interface to change the search dates etc etc etc... and of course the proper choice of terms etc etc etc.

This is where we lose a number of folks, and the goog avenue even using site search is terrible these days, your are more likely to end up with a list of modern day Atari published software or other such prattle than what you were looking for. That is unless you are already a long time Atari search artist in which case goog might bend all your results to this sort of stuff.  I've noticed a good deal of folks are already frustrated before they work up the nerve to start posting, or asking... the search fu becomes more difficult as the user loses grasp of reality as they travel down the rabbit hole. Speaking of which, where are the carrots?



#15 flashjazzcat OFFLINE  

flashjazzcat

    Quadrunner

  • 14,503 posts
  • Location:United Kingdom

Posted Wed Feb 6, 2019 3:08 PM

I commonly resort to Google when searching the forum and I must have amazing 'search fu' since it works really well for me. :) I don't think Google is flattering me with tailored results, but simply obeying 'site:atariage.com' in the search criteria. That narrows it down a bit.

As for newcomers being frustrated: unless an initial query is prefixed with 'I tried searching the forum, but...', it's usually safe to assume they didn't bother, and if they did at least make some token attempt to establish whether relevant information already exists and simply failed to find it, no-one's going to have a problem with that.



#16 _The Doctor__ OFFLINE  

_The Doctor__

    Flux Capacitor Master Craftsman

  • 6,789 posts
  • Location:10-0-11-00:02

Posted Wed Feb 6, 2019 3:18 PM

All you lurkers come out of the shadows! Make a post, it's okay!



#17 David Hefner OFFLINE  

David Hefner

    Star Raider

  • 81 posts

Posted Wed Feb 6, 2019 8:11 PM

Works (1280x1024 Sophia):

  • BENQ BL3200PT
  • NEC Multisync LCD1970NX
  • NEC Multisync EA190M (Rev 1A)

2019-02-04%2021.32.59.jpg?dl=1


Edited by David Hefner, Wed Feb 6, 2019 8:13 PM.


#18 Panther OFFLINE  

Panther

    Moonsweeper

  • 295 posts
  • Location:California

Posted Wed Feb 6, 2019 8:58 PM

Also works well with the NEC AccuSync AS193i.



#19 Simius OFFLINE  

Simius

    Dragonstomper

  • 546 posts
  • Location:Warszawa, Poland

Posted Thu Feb 7, 2019 4:34 AM

Please let us know also the color system - PAL or NTSC. It is important. 



#20 Simius OFFLINE  

Simius

    Dragonstomper

  • 546 posts
  • Location:Warszawa, Poland

Posted Thu Feb 7, 2019 4:37 AM

NTSC/PAL:

 

Dell U2412M: +/-

Dell U2913WM: +/+
Dell U2713HM: -/-
Dell U3014: +/+
LG 24MP47HQ: +/-

LG E2242T: +/-
LG E2441V: +/-

LG W2600H: +/+
HP LP2465
 +/+


Edited by Simius, Thu Feb 7, 2019 4:37 AM.


#21 mytek OFFLINE  

mytek

    River Patroller

  • 3,389 posts
  • Location:Santa Rosa, CA

Posted Thu Feb 7, 2019 8:25 AM

Having these lists of what monitors work with Sophia is great, but not all that useful in the form of multiple posts in a forum that requires searching through many pages. Forums are great for discussing ideas, but not good for finding specific information on a product. I've suggested in the past that products require a website where information, and supporting downloads can always be easily located. Weebly or WIX provide the means to easily create a FREE website that can provide this much needed product support. For an example of what can be done in this regard using Weebly, check out my website AtariBits in my signature.

These FREE website builders appear to also include an ecommerce aspect, thus seemingly making it easier to purchase products as well. I haven't personally tried this myself, since my creations are in the public domain and meant to be DIY.

In the meantime it is still valuable for people to create topics like this one and add any monitors that they have tested to be Sophia friendly and with what resolutions. Also good to know PAL/NTSC compatibility.

Another possibility if the website idea is not of any interest, would be to ask Albert to enable the first page of this topic to be always editable, so that a compatible monitor list can be kept up to date, as well as provide for downloads (or links to where they can be found) of the different resolution cores that are available. This would also be a good place to provide specs on what programmer to use, instructions on it's usage, and perhaps links to purchase the required apparatus for re-flashing the core.

#22 Sleepy OFFLINE  

Sleepy

    Moonsweeper

  • Topic Starter
  • 356 posts

Posted Thu Feb 7, 2019 9:17 AM

O.K., I copied all details together. Please copy the list and add your model; so you don´t have to read the whole thread, but just look at the last entry. ;-)

 

 

Working:

Model / Resolution / NTSC/PAL:

BENQ BL3200PT 1280x1024 ?/?

Dell U2412M: +/-
Dell U2913WM: +/+
Dell U2713HM: -/-
Dell U3011 1280x960 & 1280x1024 ?/?
Dell U3014: +/+

HP EliteDisplay E241i 1536x960 ?/+
HP Compag LA2405x 1536x960 ?/+
HP LP2065 1536x960 ?/+
HP LP2465 1280x960 & 1280x1024 ?/?

LG 24MP47HQ: +/-
LG E2242T: +/-
LG E2441V: +/-
LG IPS LED 24EB23 1536x960 ?/+
LG W2600H: +/+

NEC Multisync LCD1970NX 1280x1024 ?/?
NEC Multisync EA190M (Rev 1A) 1280x1024 ?/?

HP LP2465 +/+

Samsung SyncMaster 2443BW 1536x960 ?/+


Not working

Acer S243HL monitor
DVDO iScan VP50 scaler (!)
JVC DILA X7500 projector
HDFury Vertex
HP Compaq LA2205wg
Lumagen Vision HDP scaler (!)
Pioneer Kuro KRP-600M (Elite 141 series) television
Samsung SyncMaster 2443BW 1536x960 ?/+


Edited by Sleepy, Thu Feb 7, 2019 9:17 AM.


#23 foft OFFLINE  

foft

    Dragonstomper

  • 798 posts
  • Location:Nyon, Switzerland

Posted Thu Feb 7, 2019 11:30 AM

Does -/- mean it doesnt work?

#24 David Hefner OFFLINE  

David Hefner

    Star Raider

  • 81 posts

Posted Thu Feb 7, 2019 11:39 AM

The BENQ BL3200PT, NEC 1970NX & EA190M were all tried with my NTSC 800XL, not sure how I'd test it in PAL.

 

O.K., I copied all details together. Please copy the list and add your model; so you don´t have to read the whole thread, but just look at the last entry. ;-)

 

 

Working:

Model / Resolution / NTSC/PAL:

BENQ BL3200PT 1280x1024 ?/?

Dell U2412M: +/-
Dell U2913WM: +/+
Dell U2713HM: -/-
Dell U3011 1280x960 & 1280x1024 ?/?
Dell U3014: +/+

HP EliteDisplay E241i 1536x960 ?/+
HP Compag LA2405x 1536x960 ?/+
HP LP2065 1536x960 ?/+
HP LP2465 1280x960 & 1280x1024 ?/?

LG 24MP47HQ: +/-
LG E2242T: +/-
LG E2441V: +/-
LG IPS LED 24EB23 1536x960 ?/+
LG W2600H: +/+

NEC Multisync LCD1970NX 1280x1024 ?/?
NEC Multisync EA190M (Rev 1A) 1280x1024 ?/?

HP LP2465 +/+

Samsung SyncMaster 2443BW 1536x960 ?/+


Not working

Acer S243HL monitor
DVDO iScan VP50 scaler (!)
JVC DILA X7500 projector
HDFury Vertex
HP Compaq LA2205wg
Lumagen Vision HDP scaler (!)
Pioneer Kuro KRP-600M (Elite 141 series) television
Samsung SyncMaster 2443BW 1536x960 ?/+



#25 Sleepy OFFLINE  

Sleepy

    Moonsweeper

  • Topic Starter
  • 356 posts

Posted Thu Feb 7, 2019 11:40 PM

Does -/- mean it doesnt work?

The first sign means:

 

"-" -> doesn´t work with NTSC

"+" -> works with NTSC

 

The second sign means:

 

"-" -> doesn´t work with PAL

"+" -> works with PAL

 

A "?" means not tested.

 

So "-/-" means it neither works in NTSC nor in PAL.

 

If there are two "?" means that the person who did the entry, didn´t told what color system was used. Probable NTSC, but I´m not shure.

 

Sleepy


Edited by Sleepy, Thu Feb 7, 2019 11:42 PM.






Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: sophia, dvi, monitor, compatible

1 user(s) are browsing this forum

1 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users