Photo

RespeQt on a small, low priced netbook?

8 replies to this topic

#1 6BQ5 OFFLINE  

6BQ5

Chopper Commander

• 226 posts

Posted Wed Mar 13, 2019 8:19 AM

My Windows 10 and 130XE computers arent very close together. It would be a major undertaking to rearrange my computer lab. I was thinking it may be easier to get a small (used?) netbook computer dedicated to running RespeQt. It wouldnt need a lot of RAM or storage space.

Any thoughts? Bad idea? Good idea?

#2 DrVenkman OFFLINE  

DrVenkman

River Patroller

• 3,974 posts
  • Back off, man! I'm a scientist.

Posted Wed Mar 13, 2019 9:35 AM

My Windows 10 and 130XE computers arent very close together. It would be a major undertaking to rearrange my computer lab. I was thinking it may be easier to get a small (used?) netbook computer dedicated to running RespeQt. It wouldnt need a lot of RAM or storage space.

Any thoughts? Bad idea? Good idea?

I run RespeQt on Raspberry Pi boards so any “real” laptop will be fine.

#3 _The Doctor__ OFFLINE  

_The Doctor__

Flux Capacitor Master Craftsman

• 6,768 posts

Posted Wed Mar 13, 2019 10:13 AM

I use 10 year old small laptops for the task don't think there should be an issue

#4 RodLightning OFFLINE  

RodLightning

Dragonstomper

• 757 posts

Posted Wed Mar 13, 2019 10:41 AM

I have used an old Asus eeePC 904ha netbook; 2gb ram, running 32 bit XP Home Edition and respeqt.  It runs with no issues.

You won't need a lot of horsepower to run it and a netbook fits just fine on top of a 1050 floppy drive.  :thumbsup:

#5 Nezgar OFFLINE  

Nezgar

Stargunner

• 1,854 posts

Posted Wed Mar 20, 2019 1:45 AM

I have used an old Asus eeePC 904ha netbook; 2gb ram, running 32 bit XP Home Edition and respeqt.  It runs with no issues.
You won't need a lot of horsepower to run it and a netbook fits just fine on top of a 1050 floppy drive.  :thumbsup:

I tried Windows 10 32-bit on a 1GB Lenovo netbook, Serving RespeQt. The system was overall sluggish, but it worked just fine.