Jump to content

Photo

A MACHDOS Question.


6 replies to this topic

#1 DavidMil OFFLINE  

DavidMil

    Dragonstomper

  • 793 posts
  • Location:Kingwood, Texas

Posted Sat Mar 16, 2019 7:37 PM

I came across a disk with MACHDOS 3.7 and a few other files.  Is MACHDOS a European DOS?

 

The files I don't recognize are:

 

CPY800PL.EXE

ATASPRT (no extension)

MYDOSPLS ( no extension)

 

The machine will boot up to the MACHDOS DOS screen but nothing works (as in, the is no keyboard response from ANY key on the computer).  I 

have to do a cold reboot to get the machine to respond again.  The MACHDOS.DOC file is corrupt and the only way I can look at it is using

DiskWizard.  None of the three unknown files will load in Basic or binary format.  I haven't looked at any of these three files in DiskWizard... yet.

Suggestions anyone?

 

Thanks,

DavidMil  



#2 Kyle22 ONLINE  

Kyle22

    River Patroller

  • 3,892 posts
  • Call my BBS! telnet://broadway1.lorexddns.net
  • Location:McKees Rocks (Pittsburgh), PA

Posted Sat Mar 16, 2019 8:11 PM

Manual: https://seriouscompu....7 - Manual.pdf

 

Fox-1 has it here: http://atari.fox-1.n.../mach-dos-3-7a/

 

File: Attached File  MachDos-3.7a-130XE.atr   90.02KB   15 downloads

 

Hope this helps.

 

 

 

 



#3 DavidMil OFFLINE  

DavidMil

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 793 posts
  • Location:Kingwood, Texas

Posted Sat Mar 16, 2019 9:51 PM

After downloading the manual (thank you Kyle22)  and finding a good download of MACHDOS ver. 3.7, I have discovered

that all the files on my disk are the same as the downloaded version with the exception of the three additional files I had listed

above.  So, anyone have any idea what they might be?  I'm going to run DiskWizard on them to make sure the files are good, or

try and repair them if not.

 

DavidMil



#4 Kyle22 ONLINE  

Kyle22

    River Patroller

  • 3,892 posts
  • Call my BBS! telnet://broadway1.lorexddns.net
  • Location:McKees Rocks (Pittsburgh), PA

Posted Sat Mar 16, 2019 10:06 PM

Not including your earlier offending files, is the MachDOS disk from the link I sent to you working?



#5 _The Doctor__ OFFLINE  

_The Doctor__

    Flux Capacitor Master Craftsman

  • 6,542 posts
  • Location:10-0-11-00:02

Posted Sun Mar 17, 2019 10:57 AM

Why not make an ATR/ATX and post it up for a look-see



#6 DavidMil OFFLINE  

DavidMil

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 793 posts
  • Location:Kingwood, Texas

Posted Sun Mar 17, 2019 11:56 AM

Not including your earlier offending files, is the MachDOS disk from the link I sent to you working?

 

No, I got the MACHDOS download from the internet.  The one I downloaded didn't have the 130XE after it. 

I have downloaded your 130XE version also, and they do look alike.  Again, Thank you.

 

 

Why not make an ATR/ATX and post it up for a look-see

 

The problem is that the files all appear to be corrupt.  I'm working on them though.  If I can get anything I will most definitely post 'em.

 

David



#7 1050 OFFLINE  

1050

    Stargunner

  • 1,084 posts

Posted Tue Mar 19, 2019 12:40 AM

The beauty of the ATR image idea first is not to have
corrected files. You might not know which end of the
gun to look at to put it in a manner that I hope is
not too offensive to you. And certainly no offense is
intended here, just the point that you might trample
the roses so bad it's not a rose garden anymore.

In any event an ATR image will capture exactly what is
there now without your possible and not even needed
missteps in "correcting" the files as is.

The truth is "as is" always, we ask for the truth.
A DCM file made of the disk would be of equal value as
the asked for unaltered ATR. DCM is for all intents
and purposes a sector copier that has it's data
compressed and turned into a common Atari file
format. It cares nothing about fixed or not fixed
files either, just raw sector for sector imaging.




0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users