Jump to content

Photo

Connecting Atari 800XL to Internet BBS

bbs wifi atari800xl

72 replies to this topic

#51 DrVenkman OFFLINE  

DrVenkman

    River Patroller

  • 4,083 posts
  • Back off, man! I'm a scientist.
  • Location:KMBT

Posted Sat Apr 27, 2019 7:15 AM

I dug out the packaging and checked - I actually use a CX-88 Terminal Cable (I misspoke above when I wrote CX-87).

E0313CBF-61E2-482B-A902-76BE45313D6D.jpeg

Edited by DrVenkman, Sat Apr 27, 2019 7:16 AM.


#52 Bikerbob OFFLINE  

Bikerbob

    Dragonstomper

  • 714 posts
  • Location:Mississauga ON Canada

Posted Sat Apr 27, 2019 10:35 AM

ok, but what seem common(read in multi threads on AA) is.. that Terminal cable for MMS-100 and modem cable for UDS-100.. ???  I have the UDS.. I have made a MODEM cable.. and its not working.

 

James



#53 DrVenkman OFFLINE  

DrVenkman

    River Patroller

  • 4,083 posts
  • Back off, man! I'm a scientist.
  • Location:KMBT

Posted Sat Apr 27, 2019 12:12 PM

ok, but what seem common(read in multi threads on AA) is.. that Terminal cable for MMS-100 and modem cable for UDS-100.. ???  I have the UDS.. I have made a MODEM cable.. and its not working.
 
James

Sorry, I can’t help with the UDS. I use the MSS100 myself.

Are you sure the UDS is working at all? In other words, do you have another way to log in to it, verify the port and network settings, etc? The MSS
lets you connect via the serial port or the Ethernet LAN port, which is handy if you need to reboot it or something.

#54 Bikerbob OFFLINE  

Bikerbob

    Dragonstomper

  • 714 posts
  • Location:Mississauga ON Canada

Posted Sat Apr 27, 2019 12:31 PM

Sorry, I can’t help with the UDS. I use the MSS100 myself.

Are you sure the UDS is working at all? In other words, do you have another way to log in to it, verify the port and network settings, etc? The MSS
lets you connect via the serial port or the Ethernet LAN port, which is handy if you need to reboot it or something.

 

Through my network from my i7pc I have the Lantronix device installer software.. it is seeing it.. I can configure it.. I can telnet into it.. but I cannot seem to get the Atari Terminal program to work with it.

 

James



#55 Tillek OFFLINE  

Tillek

    Dragonstomper

  • 815 posts
  • Location:NE Ohio, USA

Posted Sat Apr 27, 2019 12:36 PM

You can have a Lantronix box work fine in the device installer but not be good on the terminal end.  SFHQ's original MSS-100 wend down that way.



#56 Kyle22 OFFLINE  

Kyle22

    River Patroller

  • 4,097 posts
  • broadway1.lorexddns.net 10001
  • Location:McKees Rocks (Pittsburgh), PA

Posted Sat Apr 27, 2019 7:54 PM

A UDS device uses a CX-87 cable. An MSS device uses a CX-88 cable with a 25 pin gender changer.



#57 DrVenkman OFFLINE  

DrVenkman

    River Patroller

  • 4,083 posts
  • Back off, man! I'm a scientist.
  • Location:KMBT

Posted Sat Apr 27, 2019 8:20 PM

A UDS device uses a CX-87 cable. An MSS device uses a CX-88 cable with a 25 pin gender changer.


Yep, my MSS100 is working quite happily with the CX88 and a DB25 gender changer on the end. :)

#58 Stephen ONLINE  

Stephen

    Quadrunner

  • 7,650 posts
  • A8 Gear Head
  • Location:No longer in Crakron, Ohio

Posted Sun Apr 28, 2019 11:46 AM

A UDS device uses a CX-87 cable. An MSS device uses a CX-88 cable with a 25 pin gender changer.

I always preferred the term "gender bender" :)



#59 Kyle22 OFFLINE  

Kyle22

    River Patroller

  • 4,097 posts
  • broadway1.lorexddns.net 10001
  • Location:McKees Rocks (Pittsburgh), PA

Posted Sun Apr 28, 2019 1:15 PM

I always preferred the term "gender bender" :)

Binary doesn't bend. That is a law of nature.



#60 Stephen ONLINE  

Stephen

    Quadrunner

  • 7,650 posts
  • A8 Gear Head
  • Location:No longer in Crakron, Ohio

Posted Sun Apr 28, 2019 1:20 PM

Binary doesn't bend. That is a law of nature.

I was of course, referring to the connector gender changers :)



#61 Kyle22 OFFLINE  

Kyle22

    River Patroller

  • 4,097 posts
  • broadway1.lorexddns.net 10001
  • Location:McKees Rocks (Pittsburgh), PA

Posted Sun Apr 28, 2019 5:36 PM

I was of course, referring to the connector gender changers :)

 

I know. :)



#62 Bikerbob OFFLINE  

Bikerbob

    Dragonstomper

  • 714 posts
  • Location:Mississauga ON Canada

Posted Sun Apr 28, 2019 6:03 PM

Ok, so we agree I have the right cable. LOL.. now..  I have to figure out why I am still not working.

 

James



#63 Kyle22 OFFLINE  

Kyle22

    River Patroller

  • 4,097 posts
  • broadway1.lorexddns.net 10001
  • Location:McKees Rocks (Pittsburgh), PA

Posted Sun Apr 28, 2019 6:55 PM

Have you tried all baud rate settings both in BobTerm and the device?



#64 Bikerbob OFFLINE  

Bikerbob

    Dragonstomper

  • 714 posts
  • Location:Mississauga ON Canada

Posted Sun Apr 28, 2019 7:27 PM

YES.. it is "working" now.. but no communication I can use.. I could upload a video or link to it I guess. I am right there.. its just some translation issue I think.  Anyone know a terminal program for the windows pc that I could hook the UDS-10 to that.. see if it works the same etc.. on it??

 

James



#65 Kyle22 OFFLINE  

Kyle22

    River Patroller

  • 4,097 posts
  • broadway1.lorexddns.net 10001
  • Location:McKees Rocks (Pittsburgh), PA

Posted Sun Apr 28, 2019 7:34 PM

I use Windows XP Telnet.exe and SyncTerm. Make sure to set SyncTerm up correctly for both keyboard and font.



#66 DrVenkman OFFLINE  

DrVenkman

    River Patroller

  • 4,083 posts
  • Back off, man! I'm a scientist.
  • Location:KMBT

Posted Sun Apr 28, 2019 8:37 PM

PuTTY is great on Winboxes.

#67 Bikerbob OFFLINE  

Bikerbob

    Dragonstomper

  • 714 posts
  • Location:Mississauga ON Canada

Posted Sun Apr 28, 2019 8:48 PM

crap..so it was not me.. it was the host.. I was trying to connect with The Brewing Academy and it was not getting past the login..  but others once I got their numbered addresses were able to work. I think I still might be having some issues with 9600 baud. but overall its working.

 

Seems various boards I log on to have different things.. if it disconnects proper.. if it wants a specific enter to log in etc.. 

 

I have not got IceT to work yet.. but I remember another thread.. so I will be looking there.. that has to do with the PRC.SYS I think.. though I did try it.. and dont remember anything working better.. but we will see.

 

James



#68 Kyle22 OFFLINE  

Kyle22

    River Patroller

  • 4,097 posts
  • broadway1.lorexddns.net 10001
  • Location:McKees Rocks (Pittsburgh), PA

Posted Sun Apr 28, 2019 8:59 PM

Is mine working OK for you Bob?



#69 Tillek OFFLINE  

Tillek

    Dragonstomper

  • 815 posts
  • Location:NE Ohio, USA

Posted Sun Apr 28, 2019 9:52 PM

crap..so it was not me.. it was the host.. I was trying to connect with The Brewing Academy and it was not getting past the login..  but others once I got their numbered addresses were able to work. I think I still might be having some issues with 9600 baud. but overall its working.

 

Seems various boards I log on to have different things.. if it disconnects proper.. if it wants a specific enter to log in etc.. 

 

I have not got IceT to work yet.. but I remember another thread.. so I will be looking there.. that has to do with the PRC.SYS I think.. though I did try it.. and dont remember anything working better.. but we will see.

 

James

I've personally had issues getting to the Brewing Academy myself... I've been relying on JP to verify that link... it's only recently that I've been able to connect myself.

 

That said, do you know the atari BBS list at www.sfqhbbs.org/ataribbslist.php does IP addresses now if you flick the radio button to IP's?

It's a real-time DNS resolution every time you update the page.



#70 _The Doctor__ OFFLINE  

_The Doctor__

    Flux Capacitor Master Craftsman

  • 6,943 posts
  • Location:10-0-11-00:02

Posted Mon Apr 29, 2019 12:27 AM

interesting, I copy paste your link tillek, and I get nothing.... is that down as well?

 

brewing academy did not connect properly using hyper term, ms dos telnet, nor any of my lantronix boxes.... try some other bbs's


Edited by _The Doctor__, Mon Apr 29, 2019 12:29 AM.


#71 Kyle22 OFFLINE  

Kyle22

    River Patroller

  • 4,097 posts
  • broadway1.lorexddns.net 10001
  • Location:McKees Rocks (Pittsburgh), PA

Posted Mon Apr 29, 2019 6:38 PM

This: http://www.sfhqbbs.o...taribbslist.php

works for me.



#72 _The Doctor__ OFFLINE  

_The Doctor__

    Flux Capacitor Master Craftsman

  • 6,943 posts
  • Location:10-0-11-00:02

Posted Mon Apr 29, 2019 7:13 PM

Okay, that worked. tank u kyle



#73 Tillek OFFLINE  

Tillek

    Dragonstomper

  • 815 posts
  • Location:NE Ohio, USA

Posted Mon Apr 29, 2019 7:38 PM

Sorry.... must have typoed it.





Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: bbs, wifi, atari800xl

0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users