Jump to content

Photo

40 column routine or early version of XB24 for XB

xb24 40 column call link

32 replies to this topic

#26 HOME AUTOMATION OFFLINE  

HOME AUTOMATION

    Moonsweeper

  • 428 posts
  • Location:"trapped in interspace"

Posted Wed Apr 10, 2019 1:24 PM

that has always been my biggest complaint with TIXB. The TI was the only computer (that I'm aware of) that the majority of it's video capabilities were not accessible from it's advanced BASIC.  which leads me to a question, if TI, when the memory expansion was attached, had moved all the tables to the main memory out of the VDP, would that have worked? that way all the VDP could been used for graphics. I know now that would cause a lot of compatibility issues but if it been done form the getgo would it worked?

as for the tables cutting into the main programming area, it wouldn't been any different than the other computers of the era.

The TABLES are mapped to the VDPs internal hardware. So really... only moving the program out to CPU RAM makes any sense.

A sort of desperate approach to use VRAM for an interpreted program in the first place. :)



#27 hloberg OFFLINE  

hloberg

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 773 posts
  • Location:Land of the Road Runners (they don't go beep,beep)

Posted Wed Apr 10, 2019 7:49 PM

It's late and so I will just post this and let you read the docs. Have fun.

Here is a demo for T80XB. The utilities are virtually the same, except for 40 columns instead of 80.

gallery_34177_1071_33847.gif

40 Column, inverse and scrolling; I can now translate most my Atari BASIC programs without to much of overhauling the format. Thanks!



#28 hloberg OFFLINE  

hloberg

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 773 posts
  • Location:Land of the Road Runners (they don't go beep,beep)

Posted Wed Apr 17, 2019 4:22 PM

found a minor bug. Seems to only be in classic99 as it doesn't seem to manifest itself in MESS. while using the T40XB, every now and then classic99 will lock up. I can't seem to find a pattern. may only do it a couple times in an hour or not at all.

It could be I started using:

CALL PR(A$)

CALL LINK("PRINT",1,25,A$)

ENDSUB

so I can use CALL PR("TEXT") instead of call link. I know this eats into the VDP ram area. But like I said it doesn't seem to happen in MESS. It's no big deal to me just thought I would let you know.



#29 senior_falcon ONLINE  

senior_falcon

    Stargunner

  • 1,487 posts
  • Location:Lansing, NY, USA

Posted Wed Apr 17, 2019 7:22 PM

With XB256 and The Missing Link, I found that sometimes there were problems on program startup, but usually once the program was running it was OK. I think classic99 tended to do this more than a real TI99. But I don't remember it locking up; it would just give an error on startup and running the program again would make it work. This has something to do with the liberties the interrupt routine takes with the VDP stack pointer. For XB256 I added some code to the loader that tries to change the stack pointer in the grom code of the XB cartridge. For this to work you must enable GRAM at >6000. That seems to cure the problem. T40XB uses the same procedure to adjust the stack pointer, so I suppose this might help here as well.


Edited by senior_falcon, Wed Apr 17, 2019 7:24 PM.


#30 senior_falcon ONLINE  

senior_falcon

    Stargunner

  • 1,487 posts
  • Location:Lansing, NY, USA

Posted Wed Apr 17, 2019 9:14 PM

Give this a try. Now you can enable GRAM @>6000 and the loader will modify the XB cartridge and with any luck your problems will end. The docs are updated to describe this addition.

 

One of the things I have noticed is that the newest version of Classic99 tends to lock up on me. There is no pattern to this. Tursi wants to see the debug log, but the program is completely frozen so that is unavailable. It could be my system - an old Dell optiplex 780 rescued from the trash running linux mint, which runs virtualbox, which runs Windows XP, which runs Classic99. So there are lots of layers where it could be failing.

Attached Files


Edited by senior_falcon, Wed Apr 17, 2019 9:14 PM.


#31 hloberg OFFLINE  

hloberg

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 773 posts
  • Location:Land of the Road Runners (they don't go beep,beep)

Posted Wed Apr 17, 2019 9:44 PM

Ah, we got a pattern here. I'm also running Classic 99 on Virtualbox with XP, on a Win10 laptop. I can't get TIDIR to run on my Win10 so all the TI stuff go in the VB. Sounds like a Classic99 issue.

So I just tried Classic99 on my Win7 machine, which runs Classic99 directly (and TIDIR without issue) and, what little testing I did, there was no lock up.

I'll download your new version and see what happens.


Edited by hloberg, Wed Apr 17, 2019 9:45 PM.


#32 Tursi OFFLINE  

Tursi

    Quadrunner

  • 5,638 posts
  • HarmlessLion
  • Location:BUR

Posted Wed Apr 17, 2019 9:48 PM

I've actually seen one lockup myself... but it wasn't something I could troubleshoot.

The next update to Classic99 requires me to fix something I broke pretty badly in the timing system, so that may be related. It'll be a little while yet though, bear with me. :)

#33 hloberg OFFLINE  

hloberg

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 773 posts
  • Location:Land of the Road Runners (they don't go beep,beep)

Posted Wed Apr 17, 2019 10:32 PM

I've actually seen one lockup myself... but it wasn't something I could troubleshoot.

The next update to Classic99 requires me to fix something I broke pretty badly in the timing system, so that may be related. It'll be a little while yet though, bear with me. :)

No problem. for some reason it stopped locking up. In fact, I did several things and I can't tell you which one made it stop. Even I my VB WinXP it doesn't lock up anymore. I ran the program in a loop with T40XB and it won't lock up. Throttled it and it won't lock up (but it does slow way down at points).






0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users