Jump to content

Photo

PLATOTERM 1.2 test release with FAST-IO!

platoterm irata.online cyber1.org mr. atari fast sio r-verter 850

37 replies to this topic

#26 Gunstar OFFLINE  

Gunstar

    Gunstar

  • 10,248 posts
  • Location:Kellyville, Oklahoma

Posted Thu Apr 18, 2019 8:01 AM

attachicon.gifDSCN1089.JPGattachicon.gifDSCN1091.JPGattachicon.gifDSCN1090.JPG

 

 

This is my rendition with a esp8622 I did about a year ago. 19200 is pretty snappy on a 8bit. Both SIO ports work. The blue LED is activity. A free hand design, basically just an R-verter and esp with level shifter. I did steal someone else firmware.

I think I will do this with my 1030 instead of trying to fit and SX212 or other faster modem in it. This is the wi-fi solution, correct?

 

Do you have schematics to share so I don't have to start from scratch? I like how you kept part of the 1030 board for the SIO/Power and the front PSU swtich and LED's. That was what I was planning on doing when I was going to make it into and SIO2PC & SIO2SD solution, but chose installing my SIO2PC in my 1050 and have an SDrive Max instead now too, so now I want to keep it a "modem."


Edited by Gunstar, Thu Apr 18, 2019 8:05 AM.


#27 mr-atari OFFLINE  

mr-atari

    Dragonstomper

  • 586 posts
  • Location:netherlands

Posted Thu Apr 18, 2019 8:27 AM

Are these fast I/O versions that say "no mouse" mean they are only keyboard controlled? How about touch tablet or joystick?


yes, keyboard only.

#28 manterola OFFLINE  

manterola

    Moonsweeper

  • 355 posts
  • Location:Washington metropolitan area, USA

Posted Thu Apr 18, 2019 9:14 AM

I think I will do this with my 1030 instead of trying to fit and SX212 or other faster modem in it. This is the wi-fi solution, correct?

 

Do you have schematics to share so I don't have to start from scratch? I like how you kept part of the 1030 board for the SIO/Power and the front PSU swtich and LED's. That was what I was planning on doing when I was going to make it into and SIO2PC & SIO2SD solution, but chose installing my SIO2PC in my 1050 and have an SDrive Max instead now too, so now I want to keep it a "modem."

Check this thread. Post #165 some pictures of 1030 modem used along with the esp8266... post #209 there is schematic. Post #273 shows a way to turn on the Carrier Detect LED of the 1030 modem when connected to a BBS (this is obviously optional, just something to recreate better the full experience).

Post #286 another take on the circuit (same circuit, we called it half Rverter since it does not have the max232 level shifter and other signals as the original rverter has).

In post #374 Dropcheck posted a nice PDF with initial instructions.and post #397 another one with the actual connection to the Atari.

I also highly recommend the mr-atari site where he covers same topic and provides a great utility to decrease the default baud rate of the esp8266 to something that Atari terminal programs can manage.

 

http://atariage.com/...-esp8266/page-7

http://www.mr-atari....Atari/SIO2WiFi/


Edited by manterola, Thu Apr 18, 2019 9:17 AM.


#29 Umberto OFFLINE  

Umberto

    Moonsweeper

  • 321 posts
  • Location:Washington State

Posted Thu Apr 18, 2019 9:59 AM

I think I will do this with my 1030 instead of trying to fit and SX212 or other faster modem in it. This is the wi-fi solution, correct?

 

Do you have schematics to share so I don't have to start from scratch? I like how you kept part of the 1030 board for the SIO/Power and the front PSU swtich and LED's. That was what I was planning on doing when I was going to make it into and SIO2PC & SIO2SD solution, but chose installing my SIO2PC in my 1050 and have an SDrive Max instead now too, so now I want to keep it a "modem."

Its basically an R-verter minus the Max 232, I used a sparkfun style level shifter to get to 3.3 volts. FD access raises havoc with the ESP and vise versa, due to the R-verter handler. I use a myide ][ cart, so it doesn't effect me at all. Thom's new rom works great with it. 



#30 tschak909 OFFLINE  

tschak909

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 3,246 posts
  • Location:USA

Posted Thu Apr 18, 2019 11:31 AM

One of the next evolutions of the ROMable code will be to shove all the touch drivers in the ROM and be able to bank switch them in. 

I have no idea how to do this, yet.

 

-Thom



#31 mr-atari OFFLINE  

mr-atari

    Dragonstomper

  • 586 posts
  • Location:netherlands

Posted Fri Apr 19, 2019 2:17 AM

One of the next evolutions of the ROMable code will be to shove all the touch drivers in the ROM and be able to bank switch them in. 

I have no idea how to do this, yet.

 

-Thom

Why not first go the path you know?
Look for a "config" file on drive 1.

If the file is present, process it as directed.

On any error, use the default conditions.

So without a pointer-driver.



#32 mr-atari OFFLINE  

mr-atari

    Dragonstomper

  • 586 posts
  • Location:netherlands

Posted Mon May 13, 2019 3:47 AM

Currently at version 1.2.3 FAST-IO!
with modified Xon/Xoff parameters.

Running my ESP8266 @ 4800 baud. -Oh yeah-

 

Almost running fine.
The server IRATA.ONLINE needs a bit tweaking on Xon-handling and we are off to the next level.


Edited by mr-atari, Mon May 13, 2019 3:48 AM.


#33 _The Doctor__ ONLINE  

_The Doctor__

    Flux Capacitor Master Craftsman

  • 6,948 posts
  • Location:10-0-11-00:02

Posted Mon May 13, 2019 8:25 AM

are you using the raw tcp/ip connection or a telnet tunnel  to make the connection? I've experienced less issues of all kinds when using a raw connect with bbs's that support it. None of that nastiness associated with telnet acting on certain characters or data in the stream... especially when uploading and downloading.


Edited by _The Doctor__, Mon May 13, 2019 8:26 AM.


#34 manterola OFFLINE  

manterola

    Moonsweeper

  • 355 posts
  • Location:Washington metropolitan area, USA

Posted Mon May 13, 2019 12:37 PM

Currently at version 1.2.3 FAST-IO!
with modified Xon/Xoff parameters.

Running my ESP8266 @ 4800 baud. -Oh yeah-

 

Almost running fine.
The server IRATA.ONLINE needs a bit tweaking on Xon-handling and we are off to the next level.

Couldn't find it in your website... I want to try the 4800 blazing speed tonite! i am sure i'll be amazing



#35 _The Doctor__ ONLINE  

_The Doctor__

    Flux Capacitor Master Craftsman

  • 6,948 posts
  • Location:10-0-11-00:02

Posted Mon May 13, 2019 3:09 PM

BTW 4800 seems to be a sweet spot for dealing with the widest variety of internet conditions when reaching about the globe. Never have an upload download issue at 4800 but some of the laggy high ping connections don't seem to like 192000 or faster for our old u/l d/l protocols...



#36 Kyle22 OFFLINE  

Kyle22

    River Patroller

  • 4,097 posts
  • broadway1.lorexddns.net 10001
  • Location:McKees Rocks (Pittsburgh), PA

Posted Mon May 13, 2019 5:07 PM

Any chance of 9600?



#37 mr-atari OFFLINE  

mr-atari

    Dragonstomper

  • 586 posts
  • Location:netherlands

Posted Tue May 14, 2019 12:10 AM

Any chance of 9600?

Yes, sure.

Already working.
I even have a rough 19k2 working.

But not on IRATA.ONLINE

Connected to CYBER1 it works.

(CYBERSERV.ORG : 8005)



#38 tschak909 OFFLINE  

tschak909

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 3,246 posts
  • Location:USA

Posted Tue May 14, 2019 4:16 PM

I have modified a version of PLATOTERM to not transmit while XOFF is asserted, and have sent it over.

 

If it works, I will need to work with Sijmen to patch in the improved serial routines, going forward.

 

-Thom







Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: platoterm, irata.online, cyber1.org, mr. atari, fast sio, r-verter, 850

0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users