Jump to content

Photo

Accurancy of the printer emulation


32 replies to this topic

Poll: Accurancy of the printer emulation (13 member(s) have cast votes)

How accurate should the emulation be?

  1. It should look like it looks on the original printer. (9 votes [69.23%])

    Percentage of vote: 69.23%

  2. It suffices when it fits on the line like on the original printer. (0 votes [0.00%])

    Percentage of vote: 0.00%

  3. Main point is I can print something (4 votes [30.77%])

    Percentage of vote: 30.77%

  4. I don't care (0 votes [0.00%])

    Percentage of vote: 0.00%

How accurate should the proportional font emulation be.

  1. The spacing should be accurate, so a line behaves like on the original printer. The characters could overlap on the output device. (9 votes [69.23%])

    Percentage of vote: 69.23%

  2. The spacing should be so like the selected font on the output device. It could be that the line wraps around, where it doesn't on the original printer. (1 votes [7.69%])

    Percentage of vote: 7.69%

  3. I don't care. (3 votes [23.08%])

    Percentage of vote: 23.08%

Vote Guests cannot vote

#26 _The Doctor__ OFFLINE  

_The Doctor__

    Flux Capacitor Master Craftsman

  • 6,943 posts
  • Location:10-0-11-00:02

Posted Mon May 13, 2019 2:49 PM

I'll set up a printer and check it by the end of the week, while kyle has such needs and devices, currently a stubborn roofing issues prevents him from testing. No one wants water in the printer :)

 

Should be fine. If it works, I will more than likely leave it set up that way.


Edited by _The Doctor__, Mon May 13, 2019 2:49 PM.


#27 flashjazzcat OFFLINE  

flashjazzcat

    Quadrunner

  • 14,601 posts
  • Location:United Kingdom

Posted Mon May 13, 2019 2:56 PM

I have to test this... soon, I promise. :)



#28 flashjazzcat OFFLINE  

flashjazzcat

    Quadrunner

  • 14,601 posts
  • Location:United Kingdom

Posted Yesterday, 2:26 PM

Had anyone success with the passthrough option?

 

Finally gave it a try this evening (using the Windows build), but no response from my laser printer. Not entirely sure I have it set up correctly:

 

P1: Passthru, Raw Output, and the Canon printer selected in the settings.

 

The Atari communicates with the P: device OK and believes it's sent the print job and the data shows up in the RespeQt console window, but nothing happens beyond that.

 

I'll try the macOS version next, anyway.



#29 JoSch OFFLINE  

JoSch

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 569 posts
  • Location:Germany

Posted Yesterday, 2:43 PM

 
Finally gave it a try this evening (using the Windows build), but no response from my laser printer. Not entirely sure I have it set up correctly:
 
P1: Passthru, Raw Output, and the Canon printer selected in the settings.
 
The Atari communicates with the P: device OK and believes it's sent the print job and the data shows up in the RespeQt console window, but nothing happens beyond that.
 
I'll try the macOS version next, anyway.

I assume, you printed some native codes of your Canon printer.
Can you send me your test file and tell me the model of your printer? Perhaps I can replicate the printing problem.

While developing, I was only testing blindly, because I have no Esc/p printer to test printing directly to it. So maybe Windows is still doing something to the raw output.

#30 _The Doctor__ OFFLINE  

_The Doctor__

    Flux Capacitor Master Craftsman

  • 6,943 posts
  • Location:10-0-11-00:02

Posted Yesterday, 3:13 PM

dug up a star nx 10, more to follow... I don't have standard PC printer cable handy :o


Edited by _The Doctor__, Yesterday, 3:13 PM.


#31 JoSch OFFLINE  

JoSch

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 569 posts
  • Location:Germany

Posted Yesterday, 3:16 PM

I want to add a major caveat of the printer emulation: The RespeQt print job is only finished, when the printer emulation is disconnected again.
The code has to rely on this manual process, because it doesnt know when the printing is finished.

Edited by JoSch, Yesterday, 3:18 PM.


#32 flashjazzcat OFFLINE  

flashjazzcat

    Quadrunner

  • 14,601 posts
  • Location:United Kingdom

Posted Yesterday, 3:33 PM

I assume, you printed some native codes of your Canon printer.
Can you send me your test file and tell me the model of your printer?


Canon LBP3010, and I have no idea of the native codes understood by the printer. I should probably not expect plain text to appear on a printer which runs by default in bit-mapped graphics mode (or PostScript, or whatever it is). :)
 

I want to add a major caveat of the printer emulation: The RespeQt print job is only finished, when the printer emulation is disconnected again.


That was definitely a factor in my lack of success. :) Will try again tomorrow.

Edited by flashjazzcat, Yesterday, 3:34 PM.


#33 JoSch OFFLINE  

JoSch

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 569 posts
  • Location:Germany

Posted Yesterday, 9:33 PM

The passthrough mode is intended for using e.g. a FX-80 with Print Shop to print without interference from RespeQt. RespeQt then does no translation (except for 155).

Here's what you have to do: Select a printer to simulate, e.g. a 1029, from the left selection.

Then select your printer from the right selection. Press the "Connect" button.

Print stuff. Press the "Disconnect button".

Wait for it ;-)

You should have a print out.

 

I certainly need a manual for the functions.


Edited by JoSch, Yesterday, 9:34 PM.




Reply to this topic



  


0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users