Jump to content

Photo

Offtopic and no C64 stuff... ;) - 1e78 demo released for 7800


16 replies to this topic

#1 Heaven/TQA OFFLINE  

Heaven/TQA

    Quadrunner

  • 11,258 posts
  • Location:Baden-Württemberg, Germany

Posted Wed Apr 24, 2019 1:46 AM

We have just released our 2nd Atari 7800 demo called "1E78"...

 

most routines are from my Atari Lynx and Atari 800 archive while I adapted and ported Pr0be's 3d engine used in Control and made my own objecrts and scene/flight.

 

all fx need somewhere around 4k ram and sometimes the additional 16k ram on cart.

 

Unfortunately we needed to use TIA chip which is a bunch of "sh.." but thanks to TIA tracker Triace did his best... 2 channels haha... ;)

 

MARIA is strange but good gfx chip.

 



#2 carlsson OFFLINE  

carlsson

    Metagalactic Mule

  • 9,006 posts
  • Location:Västerås, Sweden

Posted Wed Apr 24, 2019 2:25 AM

No C64 stuff? I thought the scroll text font in the beginning looked familiar...

 

Good work! It seems most Atari systems have a lot of capacity, though not always easy to tame them (*). Whether that was intended or a coincidence is beyond my knowledge.

 

(*) Perhaps they should've named all the systems after ferocious cats, not just Lynx, Panther, Jaguar.



#3 Heaven/TQA OFFLINE  

Heaven/TQA

    Quadrunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 11,258 posts
  • Location:Baden-Württemberg, Germany

Posted Wed Apr 24, 2019 4:51 AM

I ment here in thread not wining about C64 ;)

Well spotted... ;) checked the Twitch live video of the compo how many recognized my inside of using cbm rom font in an Atari demo ;)

#4 Mclaneinc ONLINE  

Mclaneinc

    Retro Madman

  • 6,722 posts
  • Location:Northolt, UK

Posted Wed Apr 24, 2019 5:01 AM

I imagine you must be running scared of the mob with pitch forks after you now :)

 

There's a boundary you cannot cross with them and that, was it!!



#5 Rybags ONLINE  

Rybags

    Gridrunner

  • 16,148 posts
  • Location:Australia

Posted Wed Apr 24, 2019 5:38 AM

Saw this the other day @ AtariOnline.pl - wondered about the 1E78 thing thinking it was some memory mapping offset or something - but no, not that complex.

 

Nice to see some stuff there that you just don't see on normal 7800 programs.  I guess this is based on using a big ROM size and the stock 4K Ram?

Probably would be better if it used Pokey but I suppose that limits who can run it.



#6 sanny OFFLINE  

sanny

    Moonsweeper

  • 398 posts
  • Location:Bavaria

Posted Wed Apr 24, 2019 5:49 AM

$1E78 = 7800 :)



#7 Mclaneinc ONLINE  

Mclaneinc

    Retro Madman

  • 6,722 posts
  • Location:Northolt, UK

Posted Wed Apr 24, 2019 5:55 AM

Take your time Sanny, we will wait :)

 

I still tend to think in HEX DEC even these days....Shame I could not do much with it :)



#8 Heaven/TQA OFFLINE  

Heaven/TQA

    Quadrunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 11,258 posts
  • Location:Baden-Württemberg, Germany

Posted Wed Apr 24, 2019 5:58 AM

Saw this the other day @ AtariOnline.pl - wondered about the 1E78 thing thinking it was some memory mapping offset or something - but no, not that complex.

 

Nice to see some stuff there that you just don't see on normal 7800 programs.  I guess this is based on using a big ROM size and the stock 4K Ram?

Probably would be better if it used Pokey but I suppose that limits who can run it.

 

 

it uses a 128kb rom cart with onboard 16k as the base 4k sux... ;) its fragmented and Maria expects the DLL there... so the first fx and the zoom rotator would have fit into standard 4k ram machine but the Voxel, depacked bitmaps, 3d engine no way. Pr0be's engine needs at least around 12kb RAM tables.

 

so... 4000-7fff RAM, 8000-bfff, rom bank 0-6, and c000-ffff bank 7.... nothing special as it was a comman atari "super game cartridge"... 

 

those 8mbit carts are for pussies like Titan on the Sega Mega Drive or Genesis :D ;)


Edited by Heaven/TQA, Wed Apr 24, 2019 6:02 AM.


#9 Heaven/TQA OFFLINE  

Heaven/TQA

    Quadrunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 11,258 posts
  • Location:Baden-Württemberg, Germany

Posted Wed Apr 24, 2019 6:01 AM

the 12 color bitmaps (yeah.... FREELY usable ;)) are inflate packed and depacked to 16k RAM. the memory layout of Maria (16 scanline height zones, decrementing hi byte per line of adress etc)... Twirl, Voxel, 3d stuff are using that "2x2 12 color custom mode"). in Maria speech "160b" mode.

 

each fx fit into 1 16kb rom bank...that was the challenge in the end of the day.

 

ah and that is the reason for the "small 64x32" window... I simply have no more RAM esp. when you need to double buffer.


Edited by Heaven/TQA, Wed Apr 24, 2019 6:03 AM.


#10 carlsson OFFLINE  

carlsson

    Metagalactic Mule

  • 9,006 posts
  • Location:Västerås, Sweden

Posted Wed Apr 24, 2019 6:33 AM

If you make another one, you can call it 78E2. The third one is a little more tricky, 7E3.047 if that syntax even is allowed.


Edited by carlsson, Wed Apr 24, 2019 6:36 AM.


#11 ivop OFFLINE  

ivop

    Dragonstomper

  • 929 posts
  • Location:The Netherlands

Posted Wed Apr 24, 2019 8:24 AM

Wow, Triace did great with only 2 TIA channel!



#12 jefffulton OFFLINE  

jefffulton

    Chopper Commander

  • 150 posts

Posted Thu Apr 25, 2019 1:47 PM

We have just released our 2nd Atari 7800 demo called "1E78"...

 

most routines are from my Atari Lynx and Atari 800 archive while I adapted and ported Pr0be's 3d engine used in Control and made my own objecrts and scene/flight.

 

all fx need somewhere around 4k ram and sometimes the additional 16k ram on cart.

 

Unfortunately we needed to use TIA chip which is a bunch of "sh.." but thanks to TIA tracker Triace did his best... 2 channels haha... ;)

 

MARIA is strange but good gfx chip.

 

 

Somewhere I always imagined that Atari would make an upgraded XE system that added Maria graphics modes. It would have been cool to be able to add them to a display list and run with GTIA modes. 



#13 emkay OFFLINE  

emkay

    Quadrunner

  • 9,892 posts
  • What's up?
  • Location:Holy Grail ;)

Posted Thu Apr 25, 2019 2:13 PM

Wow, Triace did great with only 2 TIA channel!

TIA has 100% stable sounds.... :sleep:



#14 Stephen OFFLINE  

Stephen

    Quadrunner

  • 7,651 posts
  • A8 Gear Head
  • Location:No longer in Crakron, Ohio

Posted Thu Apr 25, 2019 5:43 PM

TIA has 100% stable sounds.... :sleep:

You wouldn't like tracking for it then, since you seem to prefer out of tune stuff (in other words, it would be hard to make TIA make our ears bleed).  Also, there's 2 channels not 4, so go ahead, crank out some nice out of tune 2-channel music so we can compare to what we have here.  You could even have enough left over cycles for an awesome mode D screen :)



#15 miker OFFLINE  

miker

    Stargunner

  • 1,904 posts
  • Stay Atari!
  • Location:Warsaw, Poland

Posted Thu Apr 25, 2019 10:59 PM

And has no hardsynth... Arrrrgggh! :grin: :grin: :grin:



#16 Heaven/TQA OFFLINE  

Heaven/TQA

    Quadrunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 11,258 posts
  • Location:Baden-Württemberg, Germany

Posted Thu Apr 25, 2019 11:00 PM

Haha... yeah ask Triace... ;) or Miker about TIAs brilliant synth capacities.

Btw. Not sure if you had noticed but Triace was ranked 3rd placed at Revision oldschool music compo... with a 4 channel POKEY track among tons of SIDS... ;)

https://www.twitch.t...3943362?t=2026s

Edited by Heaven/TQA, Thu Apr 25, 2019 11:15 PM.


#17 emkay OFFLINE  

emkay

    Quadrunner

  • 9,892 posts
  • What's up?
  • Location:Holy Grail ;)

Posted Fri Apr 26, 2019 12:18 AM

You wouldn't like tracking for it then, since you seem to prefer out of tune stuff (in other words, it would be hard to make TIA make our ears bleed).  Also, there's 2 channels not 4, so go ahead, crank out some nice out of tune 2-channel music so we can compare to what we have here.  You could even have enough left over cycles for an awesome mode D screen :)


Well, Master of Satire, I'll not explain things on and on. But, one thing is really sure: Guys like you, weren't here in the forums for any Atari related stuff.




0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users