Jump to content

Photo

Most Amazing Atari EVER


35 replies to this topic

#1 toddtmw OFFLINE  

toddtmw

    Dragonstomper

  • 630 posts
  • Location:Cincinnati, Ohio

Posted Wed Apr 24, 2019 5:07 PM

So, first of all, can all of these coexist?

Second, is there anything better, or in addition to what I've listed here that I could add?

Would the Atari replacement machines be better? (Which one?)

 

 

Screen Shot 2019-04-24 at 7.03.52 PM.png

 



#2 IndusGT OFFLINE  

IndusGT

    Moonsweeper

  • 403 posts
  • Location:Florida USA

Posted Wed Apr 24, 2019 5:34 PM

i'd like to know, someone should sell built systems with all of these !



#3 toddtmw OFFLINE  

toddtmw

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 630 posts
  • Location:Cincinnati, Ohio

Posted Wed Apr 24, 2019 5:36 PM

But, would you pay ~$700 for one?

#4 DrVenkman OFFLINE  

DrVenkman

    River Patroller

  • 4,082 posts
  • Back off, man! I'm a scientist.
  • Location:KMBT

Posted Wed Apr 24, 2019 5:40 PM

I'm pretty sure Jon (flashjazzcat) has installed U1MB, Rapidus, stereo POKEY and VBXE into the same machine before. I don't know if he's ever installed one of Mytek's TK-II PS/2 keyboard interfaces, however. The SIDE2 cart will work with any A8 machine - using it with an Ultimate 1MB installed only add more functionality (ATR support, for instance).



#5 vitoco OFFLINE  

vitoco

    Moonsweeper

  • 349 posts

Posted Wed Apr 24, 2019 7:44 PM

Second, is there anything better, or in addition to what I've listed here that I could add?

 

 

SIO2BT. I don't know if the OS modified by Montezuma for Bluetooth support could be included in other multi-OS mods.



#6 slx ONLINE  

slx

    Stargunner

  • 1,876 posts
  • Location:Vienna, Austria

Posted Wed Apr 24, 2019 10:28 PM

Its probably easier but not cheaper to install all this on the new ITX-sized motherboard.

#7 Rybags ONLINE  

Rybags

    Gridrunner

  • 16,144 posts
  • Location:Australia

Posted Thu Apr 25, 2019 12:11 AM

I've got some of those but I do suspect some coexistence issues might arise.

 

Stereo + a PS2 interface might present a problem.

 

Rapidus with VBXE and U1Meg - I don't know but it would be a really nice combo (I have VBXE and U1Meg).



#8 pirx OFFLINE  

pirx

    Moonsweeper

  • 457 posts
  • Location:Poland

Posted Thu Apr 25, 2019 4:10 AM

Rapidus with VBXE and U1Meg - I don't know but it would be a really nice combo (I have VBXE and U1Meg).

 

Yea, it works and even has got full ZX Spectrum emulator :] http://drac030.krap....n-acc-pliki.php



#9 skr OFFLINE  

skr

    Dragonstomper

  • 674 posts
  • Ready
  • Location:Hamburg

Posted Thu Apr 25, 2019 4:19 AM

For me, this is the most amazing Atari: 

 

xel.JPG

 

Actually, I don´t feel the need for a Rapidus at all.



#10 toddtmw OFFLINE  

toddtmw

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 630 posts
  • Location:Cincinnati, Ohio

Posted Thu Apr 25, 2019 4:57 AM

For me, this is the most amazing Atari: 
 
xel.JPG
 
Actually, I don´t feel the need for a Rapidus at all.

What is that?

#11 DrVenkman OFFLINE  

DrVenkman

    River Patroller

  • 4,082 posts
  • Back off, man! I'm a scientist.
  • Location:KMBT

Posted Thu Apr 25, 2019 5:46 AM

What is that?


It’s a 1088XEL board, without a case. :)

02e8a07e060dd7c995e56d26200ae90e.jpg

#12 DrVenkman OFFLINE  

DrVenkman

    River Patroller

  • 4,082 posts
  • Back off, man! I'm a scientist.
  • Location:KMBT

Posted Thu Apr 25, 2019 5:48 AM

I've got some of those but I do suspect some coexistence issues might arise.
 
Stereo + a PS2 interface might present a problem.


It works great in Mytek’s 1088XEL/XLD designs, but they are designed from the get-go to do so.

#13 flashjazzcat OFFLINE  

flashjazzcat

    Quadrunner

  • 14,601 posts
  • Location:United Kingdom

Posted Thu Apr 25, 2019 5:53 AM

I'm pretty sure Jon (flashjazzcat) has installed U1MB, Rapidus, stereo POKEY and VBXE into the same machine before. I don't know if he's ever installed one of Mytek's TK-II PS/2 keyboard interfaces, however. The SIDE2 cart will work with any A8 machine - using it with an Ultimate 1MB installed only add more functionality (ATR support, for instance).

 

Yep: I don't know what the target machine is (XL or XE), but U1MB, VBXE, Stereo POKEY, Rapidus and SIDE2 is completely doable (and done, several times here). Not sure about additional daughterboards, since space is getting pretty tight by the time that little lot's done. Mytek did design a Stereo POKEY board which connected straight to U1MB and included a PS/2 keyboard interface, etc, so that would kill two birds with one stone. I don't own a Covox and have never installed one.

 

 

SIO2BT. I don't know if the OS modified by Montezuma for Bluetooth support could be included in other multi-OS mods.

 

U1MB's PBI driver takes care of SIO2BT without the need for a patched OS (unless one is determined to use the device with a 400/800 OS, in which case a patched OS becomes useful, and you can keep same in an U1MB OS slot).



#14 toddtmw OFFLINE  

toddtmw

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 630 posts
  • Location:Cincinnati, Ohio

Posted Thu Apr 25, 2019 8:36 AM

Now I know why it is called 1088:

E4EA7965-CE2A-4F64-AA8D-FD4E71CE3612.png

#15 DrVenkman OFFLINE  

DrVenkman

    River Patroller

  • 4,082 posts
  • Back off, man! I'm a scientist.
  • Location:KMBT

Posted Thu Apr 25, 2019 8:40 AM

Now I know why it is called 1088:

attachicon.gifE4EA7965-CE2A-4F64-AA8D-FD4E71CE3612.png


Only if you buy one fully tricked out and built by someone else. ;)

Otherwise the “1088” = 64K base memory + 1024K expansion RAM in the U1MB.

#16 ZuluGula OFFLINE  

ZuluGula

    Chopper Commander

  • 164 posts
  • Location:Chicago, Il

Posted Thu Apr 25, 2019 9:07 AM

Or you could run 99.9% of Atari software on $30 800XL and $20 SDrive-MAX. Atari is amazing.

#17 SS OFFLINE  

SS

    Quadrunner

  • 6,321 posts
  • Location:Lehigh Valley, Pennsylvania

Posted Thu Apr 25, 2019 9:11 AM

Or you could run 99.9% of Atari software on $30 800XL


It's pretty hard to find an XL at those kind of prices any more. :(

#18 toddtmw OFFLINE  

toddtmw

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 630 posts
  • Location:Cincinnati, Ohio

Posted Thu Apr 25, 2019 9:25 AM

Mostly, I just dont want to have to run translator to run older titles.

#19 ZuluGula OFFLINE  

ZuluGula

    Chopper Commander

  • 164 posts
  • Location:Chicago, Il

Posted Thu Apr 25, 2019 10:07 AM

It's pretty hard to find an XL at those kind of prices any more. :(


Most of the time, you have to wait for a untested and dirty computer, and clean it yourself.

#20 _The Doctor__ OFFLINE  

_The Doctor__

    Flux Capacitor Master Craftsman

  • 6,943 posts
  • Location:10-0-11-00:02

Posted Thu Apr 25, 2019 10:10 AM

It's pretty hard to find an XL at those kind of prices any more. :(

true sort of, 39.99 or so is still possible, unless you like getting raped...



#21 Wrathchild OFFLINE  

Wrathchild

    River Patroller

  • 2,233 posts
  • Location:Reading, UK.

Posted Thu Apr 25, 2019 10:11 AM

Don't forget this one :)

 

stoned_atari.png



#22 ZuluGula OFFLINE  

ZuluGula

    Chopper Commander

  • 164 posts
  • Location:Chicago, Il

Posted Thu Apr 25, 2019 10:58 AM

This would cost much less if they use regular 800XL instead of 1200XL. Those twelve hundreds can get expensive.

#23 SS OFFLINE  

SS

    Quadrunner

  • 6,321 posts
  • Location:Lehigh Valley, Pennsylvania

Posted Thu Apr 25, 2019 11:49 AM

Mostly, I just dont want to have to run translator to run older titles.


Maybe Video61's "Translator Cart" might help? Since it is a plug-n-play cartridge, it at least cuts out the wait time that you have when loading a disk based translator program.

..

Edited by SS, Thu Apr 25, 2019 11:49 AM.


#24 Wrathchild OFFLINE  

Wrathchild

    River Patroller

  • 2,233 posts
  • Location:Reading, UK.

Posted Thu Apr 25, 2019 11:53 AM

If you are not running original 400/800 tapes or disks then the vast majority of them have been patched as either a target agnostic or XL/XE specific version so it would be easier to replace those in your file collection


  • SS likes this

#25 IndusGT OFFLINE  

IndusGT

    Moonsweeper

  • 403 posts
  • Location:Florida USA

Posted Thu Apr 25, 2019 1:21 PM

But, would you pay ~$700 for one?

I would, except dont need rapidus and already have an SIDE 2 cart. So price adjusted






0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users