Jump to content

Photo

Disk definition for Adam


8 replies to this topic

#1 Vorticon ONLINE  

Vorticon

    River Patroller

  • 3,791 posts
  • Location:Eagan, MN, USA

Posted Fri May 3, 2019 12:21 AM

Hi.

Does anyone know the disk definition for the Adam by any chance for CP/M? I've been trying to use CPMTOOLS to copy files to disk images using the following definition (trial and error), and I am able to get the directory to show the proper files but they don't run.

  seclen 512
  tracks 40
  sectrk 10
  blocksize 1024
  maxdir 128
  skew 4
  boottrk 2


#2 NIAD OFFLINE  

NIAD

    Quadrunner

  • 6,266 posts
  • Location:Chicago Suburb

Posted Fri May 3, 2019 4:04 PM

Hate to say it, but I can't recall for the life of me. I used 22Disk v1.40 by Sydex a lot BITD to transfer CP/M files and for earlier versions one would choose another computer disk format that was 100% compatible and then IIRC later versions added ADAM CP/M support as a choice for disk format.

 

You should try ADAM Image Maker by Eric Pearson. He released it a year ago and should handle all your needs.

 

I've also included ADAM Connection, which is an ADAM EOS specific version of 22Disk.

 

Also, I would recommend joining the Coleco ADAM Facebook page seeing as William Hicks and Eric Pearson are frequent posters on there compared to AtariAge.

 

 

Attached Files



#3 Vorticon ONLINE  

Vorticon

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 3,791 posts
  • Location:Eagan, MN, USA

Posted Fri May 3, 2019 6:49 PM

Thanks! It looks like the ADAM Image Manager will indeed solve all of my problems. I should have asked sooner rather than spend an entire evening trying to guess the disk structure of the Adam...

I did join the Facebook Adam page, although frankly I hardly ever go on Facebook anymore...



#4 NIAD OFFLINE  

NIAD

    Quadrunner

  • 6,266 posts
  • Location:Chicago Suburb

Posted Fri May 3, 2019 7:31 PM

Concerning the Adam, Facebook is a necessary evil and another big benefit is that Howard E. Is a frequent poster... he played a large part in the development of the Adam while working at Coleco.

#5 smyers OFFLINE  

smyers

    Combat Commando

  • 4 posts

Posted Wed May 8, 2019 3:38 PM

On this topic. When I have tried to use ADAM Image Maker, it seems to corrupt the files. I have tried moving basic programs to a .dsk file and the programs are always corrupt.



#6 Vorticon ONLINE  

Vorticon

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 3,791 posts
  • Location:Eagan, MN, USA

Posted Thu May 9, 2019 8:33 AM

On this topic. When I have tried to use ADAM Image Maker, it seems to corrupt the files. I have tried moving basic programs to a .dsk file and the programs are always corrupt.

 

I tried the Image Maker to transfer the Turbo Pascal 3 files to a CP/M blank image and it worked fine. Did you use the blank image provided with Image Maker?



#7 smyers OFFLINE  

smyers

    Combat Commando

  • 4 posts

Posted Fri May 10, 2019 7:07 AM

Not sure what I was doing wrong. I have a few basic programs that I copied from the DSK image to my PC. When I try to copy them back they are always corrupt. I think there is a bug in the interleaving that Image Maker Uses, the corruption starts always at the same spot. if I use a DDP image, it works fine.



#8 NIAD OFFLINE  

NIAD

    Quadrunner

  • 6,266 posts
  • Location:Chicago Suburb

Posted Fri May 10, 2019 9:52 AM

If there is indeed a bug in AIM, you could continue to use it with DDP images and then convert this image with Steve Pitman's Virtual ADAM to a Disk image which in turn adds the proper disk interleaving.

 

I'm not sure if Eric is a member here, but he is on the Coleco ADAM Facebook page.



#9 Milli Vee OFFLINE  

Milli Vee

    Chopper Commander

  • 161 posts

Posted Mon May 13, 2019 6:45 AM

On this topic. When I have tried to use ADAM Image Maker, it seems to corrupt the files. I have tried moving basic programs to a .dsk file and the programs are always corrupt.

Are you copying to DDP images or DSK images? DSK images are interleaved and DDP are not. I wrote a little utility to convert DDP to an interleaved image since the Emulator nor the VDD or ADE care about the size of the image. I'd share the utility but you need a 32 bit processor or DosBOX to use it since I like to write my utilities in Turbo Basic, a 1987 Borland program - I know I'm weird.

 

Milli






0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users