Jump to content

Photo

Lynx II Won't Go Past Title Screen


19 replies to this topic

#1 Izen OFFLINE  

Izen

    Star Raider

  • 58 posts

Posted Thu May 16, 2019 8:18 PM

Hi everyone,

 

I purchased a dead Lynx II with the hope of reviving it. It had no power. I installed new components from Console5.com for the voltage refresh kit and replaced the MOSFET, Zener, Q7 and 8 and the power jack. I now have power. When I insert a game, it stays stuck at the title screen with no audio. Sometimes I can press A or B and get it off the title screen, but it goes to a black screen. I was wondering if anyone knows where I should check? I'm tempted to replace the capacitors to see if I'll get anything, but don't know if that will fix the issue and I'm not sure it's worth spending more money on.

 

Any help would be greatly appreciated! Thank you! 


Edited by Izen, Thu May 16, 2019 8:22 PM.


#2 karri OFFLINE  

karri

    River Patroller

  • 2,691 posts
  • Location:Espoo, Finland

Posted Thu May 16, 2019 10:33 PM

I would start with fixing the power. Start with the caps. Just changing the largest caps will probably get it to work. Because getting a title screen means that CPU, RAM, Suzy works.



#3 Izen OFFLINE  

Izen

    Star Raider

  • Topic Starter
  • 58 posts

Posted Fri May 17, 2019 4:06 AM

I would start with fixing the power. Start with the caps. Just changing the largest caps will probably get it to work. Because getting a title screen means that CPU, RAM, Suzy works.


That's good to hear. I was worried that it was one of the chips. Maybe it is worth the $5 investment to see if it will work.

#4 Izen OFFLINE  

Izen

    Star Raider

  • Topic Starter
  • 58 posts

Posted Fri May 17, 2019 4:40 AM

Out of curiosity, how would this be a capacitor issue and not a chip issue? I'd be happy if replacing the caps would get me past the title screen, but just want to know for my own knowledge.

#5 Izen OFFLINE  

Izen

    Star Raider

  • Topic Starter
  • 58 posts

Posted Fri May 17, 2019 5:31 AM

So this is what it gets up to...

Don't mind the messed up image. I want to replace the screen with a McWill.

Attached Thumbnails

  • IMG_20190517_072752.jpg


#6 Nop90 OFFLINE  

Nop90

    Chopper Commander

  • 145 posts
  • Location:Italy

Posted Fri May 17, 2019 7:14 AM

Don't mind the messed up image.

 

Why do you think the the problems on the screen are related to the LCD.

 

It doesn't seems to me a common behaviour of a fault LCD, so I suspect that what the image shows are wrong values in the ram, and the capacitors could be a possible reason for errors while writing/reading.

 

If the same problem happens to the game code data, it's very likely that the Lynx hangs.  



#7 bdoi OFFLINE  

bdoi

    Chopper Commander

  • 158 posts

Posted Fri May 17, 2019 7:31 AM

No it s clearly a bad lcd.
Already have some lynx like that. Replace lcd and it will work:)

#8 Izen OFFLINE  

Izen

    Star Raider

  • Topic Starter
  • 58 posts

Posted Fri May 17, 2019 8:23 AM

 

Why do you think the the problems on the screen are related to the LCD.

 

It doesn't seems to me a common behaviour of a fault LCD, so I suspect that what the image shows are wrong values in the ram, and the capacitors could be a possible reason for errors while writing/reading.

 

If the same problem happens to the game code data, it's very likely that the Lynx hangs.  

The game does work as I have tested on my working Lynx I. All games I put in this Lynx II behave the same.

 

No it s clearly a bad lcd.
Already have some lynx like that. Replace lcd and it will work:)

So a good recap and a McWill or BennVenn should solve the issue of not getting past the title and no sound?



#9 bdoi OFFLINE  

bdoi

    Chopper Commander

  • 158 posts

Posted Fri May 17, 2019 9:33 AM

The game does work as I have tested on my working Lynx I. All games I put in this Lynx II behave the same.

 

So a good recap and a McWill or BennVenn should solve the issue of not getting past the title and no sound?

You can try the recapped and see if the lynx past the title. I spoke about the LCD issue that can be solved by a new LCD (mcwill, bennvenn or stock one)



#10 Izen OFFLINE  

Izen

    Star Raider

  • Topic Starter
  • 58 posts

Posted Fri May 17, 2019 9:37 AM

You can try the recapped and see if the lynx past the title. I spoke about the LCD issue that can be solved by a new LCD (mcwill, bennvenn or stock one)

 

I will definitely want/need to replace the LCD, but the main issue is getting past the title screen and no sound. I would be happy if I can replace the LCD and that will get things going, but I want to make sure that this is something that is repairable (not a chip) before I spend money on a screen.



#11 Izen OFFLINE  

Izen

    Star Raider

  • Topic Starter
  • 58 posts

Posted Yesterday, 12:51 PM

So I replaced all the capacitors and I still cannot get past the intro screen. I have heard from a few people who repair things by me and Brad from Best Electronics that it is possibly the RAM. Can anyone confirm?

Attached Thumbnails

  • post-64605-0-20327100-1558092698_thumb.jpg


#12 karri OFFLINE  

karri

    River Patroller

  • 2,691 posts
  • Location:Espoo, Finland

Posted Yesterday, 1:57 PM

The RAM is extensively used during the decryption process. So I don't see it to be likely.

#13 Izen OFFLINE  

Izen

    Star Raider

  • Topic Starter
  • 58 posts

Posted Yesterday, 2:10 PM

I know that I need a new screen, but my issue is with the system not getting past the title. Would that be a RAM issue?

#14 karri OFFLINE  

karri

    River Patroller

  • 2,691 posts
  • Location:Espoo, Finland

Posted Yesterday, 2:26 PM

It could be RAM. Those chips are cheap so just change them.



#15 Izen OFFLINE  

Izen

    Star Raider

  • Topic Starter
  • 58 posts

Posted Yesterday, 2:41 PM

Ok, do you know what the equivalent chips would be? Thanks!

#16 karri OFFLINE  

karri

    River Patroller

  • 2,691 posts
  • Location:Espoo, Finland

Posted Yesterday, 2:47 PM

D41464C-10 NEC DIP18 10NS NEW Z6

 

Lots of these on ebay 



#17 Izen OFFLINE  

Izen

    Star Raider

  • Topic Starter
  • 58 posts

Posted Yesterday, 3:09 PM

Thanks! Just to make sure, that's a replacement for HY53C464LS-10?

#18 karri OFFLINE  

karri

    River Patroller

  • 2,691 posts
  • Location:Espoo, Finland

Posted Yesterday, 9:37 PM

I bought a pack of 10 RAM chips for $6 that had the marking I wrote about. They worked perfectly on a Lynx I.



#19 Izen OFFLINE  

Izen

    Star Raider

  • Topic Starter
  • 58 posts

Posted Yesterday, 9:46 PM

Is the RAM the same in a Lynx I and Lynx II? I need for a Lynx II.

#20 karri OFFLINE  

karri

    River Patroller

  • 2,691 posts
  • Location:Espoo, Finland

Posted Yesterday, 9:59 PM

From Console5 Wiki page: https://console5.com...ri_Lynx#Lynx_II

 

The chips are different that were used in Lynx I and Lynx II. Search for the Lynx II parts.






0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users