IGNORED

Coleco Telstar Arcade (6071) Composite Video Mod

UnkieRobbie

I have been fortunate to get my hands on a Coleco Telstar Arcade Model 6071 (the triangular one). The RF modulator has deteriorated and I need to convert this system to composite video. This is where I need help. It looks like it would be pretty simple to do, but I'm a newbie and I don't completely understand the chips and pins and I don't want to risk destroying the console by experimenting.

I'm attaching some pics for reference. There is a single coax cable connecting the board to the RF converter. I would assume that this cable is carrying all of the video information. Can I just take this signal and convert to composite? Does anyone have instructions or pictures that are specific to the Model 6071?

I would greatly appreciate any assistance anyone could provide.

post-68566-0-95059500-1559919797_thumb.jpg

post-68566-0-33404200-1559919813_thumb.jpg

post-68566-0-30835400-1559919823_thumb.jpg

• Like 1

If the modulator has an RCA jack going in and another going out, you should be able to unplug the output cable from the modulator, and the input cable from the motherboard, then directly connect the output cable to the motherboard. That may do it, unless it needs amplification.

Oh, and while you have it open, could you take good pictures of the front/back the accessible PCBs? I'm going to (eventually) emulate the 7600-series chips (which are in the carts) and need to know what the inside of the console looks like and what glue logic ICs it uses.

• Like 1

Thanks, Programmer. I had wondered if it might be that easy. I tried bypassing the RF (connecting directly to the board), but my TV doesnt indicate a signal. Im guessing it needs amplification. Do you know of a simple amplifier that would work in this application?

Im in the process of cleaning the electronics as we speak and will take some pictures while I have everything apart.