Jump to content

Photo

Does anyone have Atari Game Recorder Information???


23 replies to this topic

#1 Maniac3389 OFFLINE  

Maniac3389

    Combat Commando

  • 9 posts

Posted Wed Jun 25, 2003 7:49 PM

I wanted to know if anyone could post information about the AGR, and blueprints. Thanks.

#2 CPUWIZ OFFLINE  

CPUWIZ

    Rarity 11

  • 27,717 posts
  • Cartridge Recycler
  • Location:SoCal

Posted Wed Jun 25, 2003 7:49 PM

:?

#3 Mock OFFLINE  

Mock

    River Patroller

  • 2,318 posts
  • Location:VA

Posted Wed Jun 25, 2003 8:28 PM

:? :?

#4 jetset OFFLINE  

jetset

    Quadrunner

  • 11,141 posts
  • Location:5200 Island

Posted Wed Jun 25, 2003 9:03 PM

:? :? :?

I had to do it.

#5 Atariboy OFFLINE  

Atariboy

    River Patroller

  • 4,780 posts
  • River Raider
  • Location:North Country

Posted Wed Jun 25, 2003 9:08 PM

:? :? :? :?

:)

#6 Agent X OFFLINE  

Agent X

    Dragonstomper

  • 703 posts
  • Fortune Hunter
  • Location:New Jersey

Posted Wed Jun 25, 2003 9:28 PM

:? :? :? :? :?

:D

#7 Maniac3389 OFFLINE  

Maniac3389

    Combat Commando

  • Topic Starter
  • 9 posts

Posted Wed Jun 25, 2003 9:53 PM

Funny, i saw it in a faq file somewhere, and it stated that it was in Radio Electronics Magazine in the Mid-Eighties. I just wanted to know if anyone had a copy of the articles. I guess this applies to me: :? :? :? :? :? :?

#8 Mock OFFLINE  

Mock

    River Patroller

  • 2,318 posts
  • Location:VA

Posted Wed Jun 25, 2003 9:58 PM

http://www.atariage....i game recorder

:? :? :? :? :? :? :?

#9 ussexplorer OFFLINE  

ussexplorer

    Dragonstomper

  • 749 posts
  • Location:Boise, ID

Posted Wed Jun 25, 2003 10:56 PM

I found a website with the correct scans and a follow up. I copied the scans to my computer. I have no idea where they are at. I think they are on a backup cd of mine. I'll look for them this weekend if I have time. One of the things that was needed was a rom chip. The rom chip was still available. To bad I don't have the website. You know I think it was atarihq.com though. Not sure.

To make sure what you are talking about. You download the 2600 cart down to a audio tape. Then turn around and load it backup into memory (On the board you built). So you can play the game on the 2600 system.

Later,

Josh

#10 Ehrbad OFFLINE  

Ehrbad

    Star Raider

  • 76 posts
  • Location:Nova Scotia, Canada

Posted Thu Jun 26, 2003 5:06 AM

:ponder: :?:

Just to be different........... :razz:

#11 ussexplorer OFFLINE  

ussexplorer

    Dragonstomper

  • 749 posts
  • Location:Boise, ID

Posted Thu Jun 26, 2003 10:25 AM

I found them. I asume if somebody was smarter than me. Alot of this can be redesigned and updated. If I remeber correctly. The site I pulled it from was interested in wanting one themselves for their collection.

Later,

Josh

Attached Thumbnails

  • p1.jpg
  • p2.jpg
  • p3.jpg
  • p4.jpg
  • p5.jpg


#12 ussexplorer OFFLINE  

ussexplorer

    Dragonstomper

  • 749 posts
  • Location:Boise, ID

Posted Thu Jun 26, 2003 10:29 AM

Pictures 6-10

Attached Thumbnails

  • p6.jpg
  • p7.jpg
  • p8.jpg
  • p9.jpg
  • p10.jpg


#13 ussexplorer OFFLINE  

ussexplorer

    Dragonstomper

  • 749 posts
  • Location:Boise, ID

Posted Thu Jun 26, 2003 10:31 AM

Final Picture 11

:)

One more time, the persons website I pulled this from said the roms obtainable. However, it was a few years since he tracked them down. No I do not have the site I pulled this from.

Later,

Josh

Attached Thumbnails

  • p11.jpg


#14 player 0ne OFFLINE  

player 0ne

    Chopper Commander

  • 160 posts
  • apprentice repair tech
  • Location:usa

Posted Sun Oct 30, 2011 12:55 AM

WoW!

#15 Schizophretard OFFLINE  

Schizophretard

    River Patroller

  • 2,778 posts

Posted Sun Oct 30, 2011 1:07 AM

WoW!


You bumped this just to say,"Wow!"? Okay, you win. The idea of dumping a cart to a cassette is pretty rad. WoW!

#16 SoulBlazer OFFLINE  

SoulBlazer

    River Patroller

  • 3,613 posts
  • Location:Providence RI

Posted Sun Oct 30, 2011 2:14 AM

There sure seems to be a lot of necro posting these days..... :ponder:

Although I admit I'd never heard of this device. Pretty interesting.

#17 high voltage OFFLINE  

high voltage

    River Patroller

  • 3,427 posts
  • Location:America, Asia, Europe, Aus, Antartica, Africa, Outer Space

Posted Sun Oct 30, 2011 3:33 AM

The info cuts off on the last page. Do we know what's missing?

#18 alex_79 OFFLINE  

alex_79

    Moonsweeper

  • 372 posts
  • Location:Italy

Posted Sun Oct 30, 2011 4:34 AM

I found the complete article online a few years ago but I don't remember where.
Here is what I have.
Attached File  AGR.zip   1.29MB   115 downloads
The archive includes the article in djvu format (I don't have the original pdf file I converted it from), a hi-res scan of the board template and a text file with the source (it must be checked for errors, as I never tried assembling it)

There are various free djvu viewer for download; I use djview which is available for Linux, Windows and MacOs.

#19 Wickeycolumbus OFFLINE  

Wickeycolumbus

    River Patroller

  • 4,587 posts
  • Location:Michigan

Posted Sun Oct 30, 2011 9:59 AM

DP has a pdf posted:

http://www.digitpres...me_recorder.pdf

#20 jhd OFFLINE  

jhd

    Dragonstomper

  • 787 posts
  • Location:Calgary, Alberta, Canada

Posted Mon Oct 31, 2011 2:24 PM

I wonder how practical this device would be; it was apparently limited to 4K games (as built), but by 1984 most games were significantly larger.

Can anybody tell if this device would support bankswitching?

#21 Wickeycolumbus OFFLINE  

Wickeycolumbus

    River Patroller

  • 4,587 posts
  • Location:Michigan

Posted Mon Oct 31, 2011 2:36 PM

I wonder how practical this device would be; it was apparently limited to 4K games (as built), but by 1984 most games were significantly larger.

Can anybody tell if this device would support bankswitching?


The design given only supports up to 4K. I'm sure it could be modified to support more, but there's really no point with all the other solutions out there (Harmony, Krok cart, Cuttle cart, etc...).

#22 player 0ne OFFLINE  

player 0ne

    Chopper Commander

  • 160 posts
  • apprentice repair tech
  • Location:usa

Posted Mon Oct 31, 2011 6:15 PM

my main interest was trying to find more info to decode the audio output from the compumate. it saves its music, graphic, and basic programming data as audio. the goal is to be able to write basic programs on the computer and save them as audio which can be shared and ran on other people's compumate. thats how i stubles across this.

if anyone has any information about this sort of data to audio and back stuff please PM me.

#23 Pioneer4x4 OFFLINE  

Pioneer4x4

    River Patroller

  • 2,014 posts
  • Atari + R.O.B. = Completed
  • Location:PA

Posted Tue Nov 1, 2011 6:27 AM

Bob Colbert fully decoded the Supercharger audio format and wave forms, perhaps his info can help.

#24 stephena OFFLINE  

stephena

    River Patroller

  • 2,488 posts
  • Stella maintainer
  • Location:Newfoundland, Canada

Posted Thu Mar 22, 2012 6:41 AM

my main interest was trying to find more info to decode the audio output from the compumate. it saves its music, graphic, and basic programming data as audio. the goal is to be able to write basic programs on the computer and save them as audio which can be shared and ran on other people's compumate. thats how i stubles across this.

if anyone has any information about this sort of data to audio and back stuff please PM me.


I'm also interested in this, to improve the CompuMate emulation in Stella. Does anyone have any info that can help me??




0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users