IGNORED

Practical life span of your 8-bit

The thread on how you got started has been quite fantastic with some

cool stories. Which has lead me to ponder how long did the Atari

computer last in your household as the main computer?

I am new to the 8-bit, having got my first an 800XL at a thrift last

spring but in the day I had a C=64 which we got around 1986 and

eventually sold :sad: in 1990. So we had a good 4 years of life out

of it.

John

My Atari 800 had a good 4 years of everyday usage too: 1983-1987. Played games, called BBSes, wrote school reports. Lots of memories there, so I couldn't get rid of it so it's in the closet. In 1987, I got an Atari ST and that lasted until 1995 and then a Falcon to 1999. Wrote all my college papers and senior thesis on TOS machines. Ooops, going OT now. :)

I still use all my Ataris for various uses, but since I enjoy using the WWW, I use my PC most of the time now.

These things are hard to kill... i got mine in 85, wrote all my high school papers, all my college papers, played games pretty much every day till i put it in storage when i moved in 2001, and it got destroyed in a nasty storm that blew over my moms storage building 2 months after that. *sigh* Was still going strong though! :D

Just got a new one off e-bay though! YAY!! Time to go play Miner and mule!

These things are hard to kill... i got mine in 85, wrote all my high school papers, all my college papers, played games pretty much every day till i put it in storage when i moved in 2001, and it got destroyed in a nasty storm that blew over my moms storage building 2 months after that. *sigh* Was still going strong though! :D

Just got a new one off e-bay though! YAY!! Time to go play Miner and mule!

I kept on using mine until I got an Amiga then I mostly used that. But funny thing is I sold my atari 130xe last... after selling all my other equipment.