IGNORED

3DO vs. CD-i

Tempest

Ok now here we have two systems I know almost nothing about. All I know is that they're both 32-bit (kinda) systems that were released in the early 90's. However I do have a few questions about the systems:

1. Which has the better graphics. I can honestly say I've only seen a few 3DO game screen shots and they kind of reminded me of early PC CD rom games. I've never seen any CD-i screen shots.

2. Which had the better games? From what I can tell the 3DO had a much better "game" library.

3. Which is more collectable? I've seen more 3DO collectors than CD-i.

Tempest

Hi!

I'm not an expert on either system, but I've been able to test some back in the day, so here are my 2 Euro cents ;):

1. Graphics-wise, the 3DO has 3d textured games, but they usually run very slow by any standard. The CD-I's games were mostly 2d or FMV IIRC, and the FMV ones usually required the MPEG module.

2. The 3DO's 3d games I've seen didn't impress me even back in the day. Anyway I remember it had a decent 2d library including a good version of Super Street Fighter 2. Most notably, if you like Laserdisc games, the 3DO has several (Dragon's Lair, Space Ace and Brain Dead 13 for sure). Anyway the FMV graphics are not DVD quality for sure :)

I think the CD-I has some lasergames ports as well.

You can also use the CD-I with mpeg module as a VCD player IIRC.

3. Collectible.. I wouldn't know, just go on and collect for the one you like the most ;)

BTW I've heard pretty bad stuff about 3DO's pads, but I don't know about CD-I's.

That's all I know.. 8)

Regards!

Rasty.-

Hi !

The 3DO came out in early 93. The CDi came out in 90.

The CDi is also based on the 68k like the Jag and even the CDi dev software was written by the same people as the Jag dev software (brainstorm).

However many people might mistake the 3DO and CDi. Big mistake. The CDi can't be compared to CDi.