IGNORED

8-bit XEGS cartridge dumps

capnarrr

Hey, anyone know if there are any rom images of some of the better atari XEGS cartridges floating around? From my personal collection, I have the good XE cartridges of Mario Bros, Crystal Castles, Desert Falcon, maybe one or two more I can't think of. I'm interested in dumping these if they are simply unavailable, however I have no dumping experience. Any software/hardware for this you could point me towards would be much appreciated!

hi, i've also searched for them, and asked for them but it seems that they aren't available to download anywhwere. i've found this page, the atari cartrideg dumping project which contains many dumped ones: http://www2.asw.cz/~kubecj/acartdp.htm

but they say you should not ask for roms so i dont . But i would like to have them... well you could make your own cartridge reader/writer..but it isn't fun to read out only your cartridges and write them to a ram cart.

please tell it if you have found some roms

Thelen

• 4 weeks later...

The Atari Cartridge Dumping project is bullsh*t

he provides a program that makes an image of the cartridge, but it does not make a cart rom image.

You must send him the image you create and he will send you the ROM image back.

That way he gets a copy of all cartridges.

But he refuses to release the images to the public because "There is huge difference between having the cartridge and 'playing the emulators'" & "It isn't also the way to ruin the remaining Atari vendors"

We all know that 99.99999% of atari 8-bit games have be released in atr or exe format. Any damage that could be done to the vendors has already been done

How many people out there owns an eprom burner and gives two sh*ts about making and selling atari cartridges that can be bought on Ebay for $5

It is a lot easier to make a sio2pc adapter and tranfer atr images to atari floppies than it is to build and program a cartridge

Like I said the damage is already done.