IGNORED

2600 Jr problem

RonsWS6

Hi all! Newbie here with my first question.

Ok, I trying to fix a 2600 Jr for a friend. The image displays on the screen (but no sound?) but I couldn't actually start the game. If I remember correctly, you have to hit the reset or select button to start a game. When I did, nothing happend.

So, I pulled the cover and looked at the connection piece under the buttons. I'm refering to the clear plastic strip with the black metal strips which make a connection when you press down on the reset/select buttons. The black strips seem worn down where the plastic was bent to make the connection to the circuit board. Probably rubbing against the plastic housing when pushing the button? Was this a common problem and does that make sense as to the problem I have? If so, is there a replacement part available? Or how about an easy fix (I figure a solder connection would be too hot and melt the plastic, but what do you guys think)?

Thanks for your help! :D And this brought back many childhood memories; I think I'm gonna have to pick one up for myself!

I was taking a closer look at the piece (has "C022032" on it), and there's enough metal to complete the path of the circuit. Could the pads be in continuous contact? Here's a specific example:

I put Space Invaders in, turn on the power. The red LED light comes on, and the graphics start. With the joystick I can move the tank to the left or right, but the red button doesn't fire at the aliens nor do their bombs do any damage (like a screensaver). So, I push the reset button and nothing happens at all. Same with the Select button (though I dunno if anything should happen). What do you guru's think?

When I opened the system, this piece (the plastic "ribbon") slid easily out of the black housing that it connects to. I assume that's what's supposed to happen so you don't rib the ribbon when the system is opened up.