Jump to content

Photo

Another F6 bankswitching conversion...


42 replies to this topic

#26 Kroko OFFLINE  

Kroko

    Moonsweeper

  • 408 posts
  • Location:Germany

Posted Fri Jun 11, 2004 4:21 AM

Ok, I think I finally was successful, but somebody who knows the game better than me should it.


I don't know the game very well, but It runs without problems on my PAL TV :-)

#27 Thomas Jentzsch OFFLINE  

Thomas Jentzsch

    Thrust, Jammed, SWOOPS!, Boulder Dash, THREE·S, Star Castle

  • Topic Starter
  • 23,087 posts
  • Always left from right here!
  • Location:Düsseldorf, Germany, Europe, Earth

Posted Fri Jun 11, 2004 5:06 AM

[quote name='Kroko]I don't know the game very well' date=' but It runs without problems on my PAL TV :-)[/quote']
Now that it seems to be confirmed to work, I could quite easily also convert the PAL version. If there is any demand.

#28 Kroko OFFLINE  

Kroko

    Moonsweeper

  • 408 posts
  • Location:Germany

Posted Fri Jun 11, 2004 5:26 AM

Now that it seems to be confirmed to work, I could quite easily also convert the PAL version. If there is any demand.


DEMAND :D

On the one hand, this is not the most colorfull game, but where
colors are used, the NTSC version looks especially bad on PAL TVs if you ask me ....

#29 Thomas Jentzsch OFFLINE  

Thomas Jentzsch

    Thrust, Jammed, SWOOPS!, Boulder Dash, THREE·S, Star Castle

  • Topic Starter
  • 23,087 posts
  • Always left from right here!
  • Location:Düsseldorf, Germany, Europe, Earth

Posted Fri Jun 11, 2004 5:45 AM

DEMAND :D

Ok, but where can I find a PAL dump?

#30 Kroko OFFLINE  

Kroko

    Moonsweeper

  • 408 posts
  • Location:Germany

Posted Fri Jun 11, 2004 5:59 AM

Ok, but where can I find a PAL dump?


You should have mail ...

#31 Thomas Jentzsch OFFLINE  

Thomas Jentzsch

    Thrust, Jammed, SWOOPS!, Boulder Dash, THREE·S, Star Castle

  • Topic Starter
  • 23,087 posts
  • Always left from right here!
  • Location:Düsseldorf, Germany, Europe, Earth

Posted Fri Jun 11, 2004 8:01 AM

Try this one. :) (and please test again)

Are PAL Gyruss rare, or why are you interested?

Attached Files



#32 Kroko OFFLINE  

Kroko

    Moonsweeper

  • 408 posts
  • Location:Germany

Posted Fri Jun 11, 2004 10:38 AM

Wow that was quick and it works well !
Thanks :D

Are PAL Gyruss rare, or why are you interested?


Well, I don't own a lot of carts and I am not a collector. So I don't know if it is rare or not.

The reason why I am interested is, because I want to play it on the real thing. The new version of my flashcart will not support E0 bankswitching. So the only way to play it is a non E0 bankswitched version.

Gyruss actually was one of those games which made the decision not to support E0 bankswitching more difficult for me. But now that it is converted to F4, I don't worry too much about that :-)

#33 Tsukasa OFFLINE  

Tsukasa

    Dragonstomper

  • 579 posts
  • Boldly going where everyone else has been before
  • Location:Plain City,Ohio

Posted Sun Jun 13, 2004 11:41 PM

@Thomas
Now all I need to be able to play every good 2600 game is:
An eprom burner
An eprom eraser
A f4 bankswitch board from pixels past
And a dig dug cart.

Anyone willing to donate for my cause is welcome to. :)

#34 Thomas Jentzsch OFFLINE  

Thomas Jentzsch

    Thrust, Jammed, SWOOPS!, Boulder Dash, THREE·S, Star Castle

  • Topic Starter
  • 23,087 posts
  • Always left from right here!
  • Location:Düsseldorf, Germany, Europe, Earth

Posted Mon Jun 14, 2004 7:41 AM

@Thomas
Now all I need to be able to play every good 2600 game is:
An eprom burner
An eprom eraser
A f4 bankswitch board from pixels past
And a dig dug cart.

Sorry, I can't help you here, because I don't own anything on your list too.

:idea: But check for Susuwatari's last post in the Ewok Adventure thread. Maybe he can help you.

#35 Dav OFFLINE  

Dav

    Moonsweeper

  • 353 posts

Posted Mon Jun 14, 2004 9:33 AM

The cheap programmers are down to $30 now. For an eraser I'm using a g7 germicidal bulb in an old arcade marquee fixture in a homemade box. Alternately you can use nvrams so you don't have to erase. e.g. A dallas 1220 will work for a 2k rom. Add a zif socket to your cart and it couldn't get much easier.

Dave

#36 Susuwatari OFFLINE  

Susuwatari

    River Patroller

  • 2,701 posts
  • Location:Now in Ann Arbor, MI

Posted Wed Jun 16, 2004 9:30 PM

Don't go to eBay for germicidial bulb, those I've checked were nearly twice what I could get for elsewhere!

You could also get G5T5 or G8T5 bulb for about $10 and a cheap fxture from Walmart for under $10. T5 has 2 pins at each ends and is about 3/4" in diameter.

Just make sure whatever you use for a case can completely block the UV ray. direct exposure to UVC is extremely harmful and can cause blindness or other health issue.

#37 Susuwatari OFFLINE  

Susuwatari

    River Patroller

  • 2,701 posts
  • Location:Now in Ann Arbor, MI

Posted Wed Jun 16, 2004 9:44 PM

I forgot to add, the battery backed RAM like the Dallas chip are quite thick and may not fit inside a 2600 cart case.

Try using 28Fxxx EEPROM instead, they are pin for pin identical to 27Cxxx EPROM but doesn't need UV to be erased.

#38 Tsukasa OFFLINE  

Tsukasa

    Dragonstomper

  • 579 posts
  • Boldly going where everyone else has been before
  • Location:Plain City,Ohio

Posted Wed Jun 16, 2004 11:44 PM

I forgot to add, the battery backed RAM like the Dallas chip are quite thick and may not fit inside a 2600 cart case.


Well, If you have a socket in the board, It won't make a difference.

What is the cheapest I can get a programmer for? I mean one that works.
I bought a PCB for a Willem from anyway.no-ip and built it. It reads chips fine but It won't program anything. It's probably because I couldn't find the step up convertor chip, the Mc34063. As for an eraser, I'm not sure but aquatics direct has germicidal bulbs.
Why are all the eprom burners on Ebay so expensive?!?!?!?!?!
The usb ones are like $800! The good ones that are cheap($20.00) are sold by the bastards that make all of their profit on shipping. They charge $30+ for something that shouldn't cost more than $12.00 via usps.
I made labels of my own for my eprom carts. Here are a few pics.
Not very good pics though, I make my own labels for a lot of things.

Attached Thumbnails

  • img_0358.jpg
  • img_0356.jpg


#39 Cybergoth OFFLINE  

Cybergoth

    Quadrunner

  • 8,845 posts
  • This is Sparta!
  • Location:Bavaria

Posted Thu Jun 17, 2004 4:05 AM

Hi there!

Those of you following along with the home game might want this too.  It's esentially the same as stella.h but it's the one that I used with this.


Here's the home of DASM:

http://www.taswegian...Atari2600/dasm/

This is the assembler commonly used by 2600 developers. Also, there you find the 2600 specific support files vcs.h and macro.h

A large community supports and uses these, so it'd be nice if you could use and support this standardized environment too. It makes 2600 source code easy shareble, compilable and understandable.

Greetings,
Manuel

#40 Susuwatari OFFLINE  

Susuwatari

    River Patroller

  • 2,701 posts
  • Location:Now in Ann Arbor, MI

Posted Fri Jun 18, 2004 7:48 AM

I bought a fully assembled Willem programmer off eBay for under $50 (plus $15 shipping from Taiwan) and it works fine.

There's a message forum at http://www.willem.org/ and if you post your burning problem there, you should be able to get a few helpful solutions.

As for EPROM eraser, I used to find them for under $20 with shipping at or less than $10. The price jumped a few months ago and they are now setting starting price much too high.

Like I said in earlier post, get a germicidial bulb, a cheap bulb fixture from Walmart, and a box. ALso get an egg timer if you don't keep track of time so you'd be reminded to turn it off.

#41 Tsukasa OFFLINE  

Tsukasa

    Dragonstomper

  • 579 posts
  • Boldly going where everyone else has been before
  • Location:Plain City,Ohio

Posted Fri Jun 18, 2004 8:06 AM

Willems are fine for windows 9x, But unfortunately all of the machines in my house now have XP on them cuz they all crapped out on us and the place we sent them to get them repaired installed XP on them. XP doesn't allow direct access to ports.

#42 darleiv OFFLINE  

darleiv

    Combat Commando

  • 6 posts

Posted Wed Mar 28, 2018 7:52 AM

montezuma F6 no work in cartdride. i put rom in really cartdride and now work game, only in stella  work. really work atari sears activion in pixel past project


Edited by darleiv, Wed Mar 28, 2018 7:53 AM.


#43 darleiv OFFLINE  

darleiv

    Combat Commando

  • 6 posts

Posted Sun Apr 15, 2018 1:10 PM

:arrow:






0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users