Jump to content

Photo

8k Atari Pac-Man


210 replies to this topic

#151 Lord Helmet OFFLINE  

Lord Helmet

    Don't forget your helmet!

  • 9,963 posts
  • Location:Denver, CO.

Posted Fri Jul 8, 2005 7:41 AM

I love this hack, however, I noticed that on real hardware, in this case my 7800, the screen rolls on the title screen and during the intermissions. During Gameplay, there is no problem at all.

Edited by Lord Helmet, Fri Jul 8, 2005 9:10 PM.


#152 Laner OFFLINE  

Laner

    Moonsweeper

  • 416 posts
  • Location:Spring Hill, TN

Posted Fri Jul 8, 2005 3:39 PM

I live this hack, however, I noticed that on real hardware, in this case my 7800, the screen rolls on the title screen and during the intermissions. During Gameplay, there is no problem at all.

View Post

Yep, I have the same issue

#153 keilbaca OFFLINE  

keilbaca

    Fight like a robot!

  • 7,659 posts
  • Berzerk (Atari 2600) champ
  • Location:Wyano, PA

Posted Fri Jul 8, 2005 4:57 PM

I live this hack, however, I noticed that on real hardware, in this case my 7800, the screen rolls on the title screen and during the intermissions. During Gameplay, there is no problem at all.

View Post

Yep, I have the same issue

View Post


He didn't get the right amount of scanlines yet, he isn't bothering with that though, at least not right now.

It works on mine though, but then again it auto sync's to play PAL games too... :)

#154 Lord Helmet OFFLINE  

Lord Helmet

    Don't forget your helmet!

  • 9,963 posts
  • Location:Denver, CO.

Posted Fri Jul 8, 2005 9:11 PM

Ah. That explains it.

#155 Nukey Shay OFFLINE  

Nukey Shay

    Sheik Yerbouti

  • Topic Starter
  • 21,536 posts
  • Location:The land of Gorch

Posted Sat Jul 9, 2005 12:23 PM

Ah. That explains it.

View Post


The main problem is finding a good spot to leap out of one display and execute another instead...that is where the sync. problem comes in (causing the screen to jump on some televisions).

#156 delennd OFFLINE  

delennd

    Combat Commando

  • 7 posts

Posted Thu Sep 1, 2005 2:50 PM

Still need a side tunnel (imho).

#157 NE146 ONLINE  

NE146

    Dumbass Atari Fan

  • 14,413 posts
  • Location:Seattle, WA

Posted Thu Sep 1, 2005 3:01 PM

Still need a side tunnel (imho).

View Post


But that would go against the whole spirit of this hack :) This one is just to max out how the original 2600 Pacman could be.

Side tunnels are already in Nukey's other Pacman creation (w/ the faithful maze) and of course in Raindog's "A Better Pacman".

#158 delennd OFFLINE  

delennd

    Combat Commando

  • 7 posts

Posted Mon Sep 5, 2005 1:37 PM

Point taken and conceded :cool: Would've been fun though. :D

#159 Ringman OFFLINE  

Ringman

    Star Raider

  • 70 posts

Posted Wed Sep 7, 2005 6:49 PM

This is the coolest! I personally see nothing wrong with keeping the original maze, but it'd be nice to see some different mazes after the first two stages. JMO, keep up the good work!

#160 sukotsu9 OFFLINE  

sukotsu9

    Chopper Commander

  • 138 posts
  • All dressed up with nowhere to go
  • Location:Denver, CO

Posted Sun Oct 9, 2005 10:00 PM

Finally got my CC2 and 7800 and this (as well as Hack'Em) was one of the first hacks I wanted to play. AWESOME! For realistic Pac action, don't approach the Atari version (hacked or not). But for a real head trip at "what could've been if Atari had devoted 8k to the top seller Pac-Man", this game is tops. Intermissions were a surprise, even if rolling (how do you pack it in there?!) and sounds are way improved. Keep trucking, Nukey!

#161 Nukey Shay OFFLINE  

Nukey Shay

    Sheik Yerbouti

  • Topic Starter
  • 21,536 posts
  • Location:The land of Gorch

Posted Fri Oct 14, 2005 2:05 PM

(how do you pack it in there?!)

View Post


I didn't. Doubling the rom size provided space to add in pretty much anything. And reusing ram locations needed by the display kernal keeps track of intermission variables. The problem is that I never found proper entry/exit points to the intermission kernal, and never bothered to correct the scanline count until I found them (which is why the display rolls).

#162 Atariboy2600 OFFLINE  

Atariboy2600

    Stargunner

  • 1,943 posts

Posted Fri Oct 28, 2005 2:02 AM

Well I done it! It took me some time but I gone and re-made an old origanl 1982 Pac-Man label and re-drew for the new Pac-Man 8K call 'Pac-Man Arcade Edition' and I hand drew it 95% in GIMP and only use a mouse the 5% I used a Pacman text :cool:

Here's some of my images I use for the Pac-Man label I first drew Pac-Man in that same old pose from the origanl Pac-Man label then drew the Ghosts and even had to draw the maze it self and the two High Rez JPG images for the label print and a zip file with BMP of the same label, hope you guys and Nukey Shay like it :D

Attached Thumbnails

  • pacman_art01.jpg
  • pacman_art02.jpg
  • pacman_art03.jpg
  • a26_pac_man_arcade_edition_label.jpg
  • a26_pac_man_arcade_edition_end.jpg

Attached Files



#163 Wonder007 OFFLINE  

Wonder007

    River Patroller

  • 2,749 posts
  • There's the truth, and then, there is the TRUTH.
  • Location:Alhambra, CA (next to L.A.)

Posted Wed Nov 2, 2005 6:51 PM

Is this going to be available in cart form? If so, I am interested in a copy! :)

#164 Breakpack OFFLINE  

Breakpack

    Breakpack for the new millenium :D

  • 4,249 posts
  • Location:Dallas, GA

Posted Thu Nov 3, 2005 12:33 AM

Is this going to be available in cart form?  If so, I am interested in a copy!  :)

View Post


Yes,yes it does.hmmmmmmmmmmmm :ponder:

#165 Lord Helmet OFFLINE  

Lord Helmet

    Don't forget your helmet!

  • 9,963 posts
  • Location:Denver, CO.

Posted Thu Nov 3, 2005 9:36 AM

I also made a label for this game based on the original box artwork for Atari Pac-Man...as an alternative to AtariBoy's great label.

The zip file is the hi-rez version. It looks GREAT on a cart.

Attached Thumbnails

  • 8KPacManYellow.JPG

Attached Files


Edited by Lord Helmet, Thu Nov 3, 2005 9:37 AM.


#166 sukotsu9 OFFLINE  

sukotsu9

    Chopper Commander

  • 138 posts
  • All dressed up with nowhere to go
  • Location:Denver, CO

Posted Sat Nov 5, 2005 2:33 PM

Nice label, Lord Helmet. It reflects the styling of '82 and keeps with the spirit of "what if...?". Really, what if this had been Atari's Pac-Man? Could they have staved off the crash another year or so? Or were they not up to this programming standard at that time (8k and programming methods/tricks)?

#167 Nukey Shay OFFLINE  

Nukey Shay

    Sheik Yerbouti

  • Topic Starter
  • 21,536 posts
  • Location:The land of Gorch

Posted Sat Nov 5, 2005 5:04 PM

Not a chance it would have "saved" the industry (or any game, for that matter). The home console market was oversaturated as the public was losing interest in them, making a crash inevitable.

And bankswitching was already in use at the time (Tod Frye supposedly lobbied -unsuccessfully- for an 8k version of the game to limit sprite flicker, ala Ms.PacMan).

#168 supercat OFFLINE  

supercat

    Quadrunner

  • 6,401 posts

Posted Sat Nov 5, 2005 6:38 PM

Not a chance it would have "saved" the industry (or any game, for that matter).  The home console market was oversaturated as the public was losing interest in them, making a crash inevitable.

View Post


I think Atari might have averted the crash if they'd made sure that every single released game of theres (well, since they started getting good) was at least halfway decent. If the public knew that buying a $10 off-brand game might be to but a piece of junk but that buying a $30 Atari game would be to buy quality, then the glut of garbage on the market wouldn't have hurt Atari too much (though it would have hurt fledgeling third-party producers of quality products). But when Atari released Pac Man, it sent a clear public message that it didn't care about the quality of the goods it sold. And it thus had a harder time demanding a premium price over the third-party junk in the market.

#169 Nukey Shay OFFLINE  

Nukey Shay

    Sheik Yerbouti

  • Topic Starter
  • 21,536 posts
  • Location:The land of Gorch

Posted Sat Nov 12, 2005 5:11 PM

Atari wasn't the only game company. Nothing that any one company did would have avoided the crash.

#170 Nukey Shay OFFLINE  

Nukey Shay

    Sheik Yerbouti

  • Topic Starter
  • 21,536 posts
  • Location:The land of Gorch

Posted Sat Nov 19, 2005 10:58 AM

Found proper entry points (which eliminates flicker at the start of intermissions). Now I just need to know how to exit :P I also altered the intermission screens a bit (the nail looks like a nail, for example).

Attached Files



#171 bowser724 OFFLINE  

bowser724

    Moonsweeper

  • 257 posts
  • ONLY 1 SOLVALOU LEFT!
  • Location:Richfield, MN

Posted Thu Feb 2, 2006 5:37 PM

I enjoy this version even more than Rob Kudla's version in the store! Will it be available any time soon?

#172 ILA2600 OFFLINE  

ILA2600

    Chopper Commander

  • 213 posts
  • Location:Michigan, USA

Posted Fri Feb 3, 2006 1:32 PM

Thank you Nukey Shay for doing justice to the old pacman game for the Atari 2600, Pac Man was one out of two games that were the worst for Atari 2600, Et was the second, have you ever thought of tackling ET to make it better!!, and again thank you for helping me before on other game hacks I was working on!!

#173 Lucky Man OFFLINE  

Lucky Man

    Dragonstomper

  • 775 posts
  • Happy Happy Joy Joy!
  • Location:Los Angeles, CA

Posted Mon May 1, 2006 4:21 PM

Nukey, I know you've been busy working on Hack'Em, but I'm sure I'm not the only one that loves what you've done with Atari's original Pac-Man. I still see 2 problems with the latest version, though...

When playing it through the Cuttle Cart, I'm getting a fast roll on the intermission screen like what was happening with the title screen before you fixed it. I don't know if it does this through the emulator because I can't get that far with these damn directional buttons (How do you guys play like this?). Also, the fruit looks very strange superimposed over the white wafer. Can anything be done to fix this?

Sorry to complain, but I'm loving this hack(homebrew) and I can't wait to see it finished. Thanks for giving Pac-Man the love he so richly deserves! :D

#174 Nukey Shay OFFLINE  

Nukey Shay

    Sheik Yerbouti

  • Topic Starter
  • 21,536 posts
  • Location:The land of Gorch

Posted Wed May 3, 2006 3:48 PM

Everybody gets the fast roll (as far as I know)...because I never found a proper exit from that kernal. It should be just the same state as when entering the intermission, but for some reason I couldn't nail it. :P

And yeah...editing the "fill screen with dots" loop should eliminate the 2 offending wafers. The existing routine just fills the all of the dot ram locations with #FF's. Following that loop with lower values would do the trick (at a cost of only a few rom bytes). I'll add that to the next assembly I post.

Finishing it was another problem, since I sort of lack direction with this hack (given that Hack'Em already covered making a more faithful hack).

#175 Lucky Man OFFLINE  

Lucky Man

    Dragonstomper

  • 775 posts
  • Happy Happy Joy Joy!
  • Location:Los Angeles, CA

Posted Wed May 3, 2006 4:19 PM

Everybody gets the fast roll (as far as I know)...because I never found a proper exit from that kernal. It should be just the same state as when entering the intermission, but for some reason I couldn't nail it. :P

And yeah...editing the "fill screen with dots" loop should eliminate the 2 offending wafers. The existing routine just fills the all of the dot ram locations with #FF's. Following that loop with lower values would do the trick (at a cost of only a few rom bytes). I'll add that to the next assembly I post.

Finishing it was another problem, since I sort of lack direction with this hack (given that Hack'Em already covered making a more faithful hack).

I see seven pages of very enthusiastic direction here. ;)

Come on Nukey, give us the Pac-Man that Atari should have made! :-D




0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users