Jump to content

Photo

Pitfall 2 map


13 replies to this topic

#1 Fretwobbler OFFLINE  

Fretwobbler

    River Patroller

  • 2,616 posts
  • Location:England

Posted Wed Dec 12, 2001 12:47 AM

I know Ive seen it somewhere but I cant find it. Its not appearing on thelist of 2600 hints and tips

Could someone post a link pleeeeeeease

Thanks my electric eel avoiding buddies

Adam

#2 MattyXB OFFLINE  

MattyXB

    River Patroller

  • 2,655 posts
  • Location:Berlin, Germany

Posted Wed Dec 12, 2001 12:58 AM

Pitfall 2 Graphic Map

Here is it, in the archives.
I think somewhere I have see the second level too, but not here on AtariAge. And the second level is only in the Atari 800 version.

Matthias

#3 -^CrožBow^- OFFLINE  

-^CrožBow^-

    River Patroller

  • 3,916 posts
  • Collector of Fine Atari and Sega Antiquities!
  • Location:Ivory Tower, Fantasia (Oklahoma)

Posted Tue Dec 11, 2001 2:03 PM

Matty:

The second level exists in the 5200 version as well...

but then..since it is a straight port over...from the 800 version...that would stand to reason.

#4 Albert OFFLINE  

Albert

    Greetings, Avatar!

  • 30,179 posts
  • Location:Sosaria

Posted Tue Dec 11, 2001 2:08 PM

We do have the map linked from our Pitfall II entry, it's listed under the Related Links header (along with a few other interesting things). However, we don't have the map linked from the 5200 version. Is the layout the same for the first level? And does someone have a map of the second level we can link to or include on AtariAge?

..Al

[ 12-11-2001: Message edited by: Albert ]

#5 NE146 OFFLINE  

NE146

    Dumbass Atari Fan

  • 13,339 posts
  • Location:Seattle, WA

Posted Sun Jul 21, 2002 1:09 AM

So how do you get to the 2nd level in Atari 800 Pitfall? .. just complete level 1? (find Rhonda, Quickclaw, and the Diamond?).. and what is the goal for the 2nd map? The same thing? :?

#6 MattyXB OFFLINE  

MattyXB

    River Patroller

  • 2,655 posts
  • Location:Berlin, Germany

Posted Sun Jul 21, 2002 2:31 AM

Yes, if you complete level 1 on the Atari 800 version, Pitfall Harry jump up and down, like in all others games. But then in the left there open a black door and then he walk in there and start in level 2. But what you must do there I have no idea. Never played the second level, because it was to hard. :D

#7 t.skid OFFLINE  

t.skid

    Stargunner

  • 1,708 posts
  • Location:Italy

Posted Sun Jul 21, 2002 3:39 PM

Yes, if you complete level 1 on the Atari 800 version, Pitfall Harry jump up and down, like in all others games. But then in the left there open a black door and then he walk in there and start in level 2. But what you must do there I have no idea. Never played the second level, because it was to hard. :D


Question: the map is the same, but only more difficult to play?

#8 NE146 OFFLINE  

NE146

    Dumbass Atari Fan

  • 13,339 posts
  • Location:Seattle, WA

Posted Sun Jul 21, 2002 4:15 PM

Question: the map is the same, but only more difficult to play?


No way dude.. the map is much BIGGER and you have 4 other items to find, The Golden Rope, The Flute, The Flute Charmer, and The Basket! (Thanks to Tempest for this info over at digitpress).
That's what just got me intrigued about the 8-bit Pitfall II.
Here are the maps for Level 1 and Level 2
Posted Image
Posted Image

#9 t.skid OFFLINE  

t.skid

    Stargunner

  • 1,708 posts
  • Location:Italy

Posted Tue Sep 3, 2002 5:15 PM

Question: the map is the same, but only more difficult to play?


No way dude.. the map is much BIGGER and you have 4 other items to find, The Golden Rope, The Flute, The Flute Charmer, and The Basket! (Thanks to Tempest for this info over at digitpress).
That's what just got me intrigued about the 8-bit Pitfall II.
Here are the maps for Level 1 and Level 2


Finally, last sunday I find the time to play Pitfall II with my XE; ending the first level and DISCOVERED the second level.. WOW!!! Second level it's beautiful :D Harder, but beautiful! You know, I complete Pitfall II with the VCS, with Commodore 64, but never on the Atari 8 bit version, and find another level it's like a 'new version' of pitfall II. Bats that fly up and down, ants... it's great :D :D

#10 Fretwobbler OFFLINE  

Fretwobbler

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 2,616 posts
  • Location:England

Posted Tue Sep 3, 2002 8:14 PM

This thread is crazy :? :D :?

Im down as the thread starter, but Albert answers my question a day before I asked it :o time machine!

Then the first post is by Crossbow answering MattyXB's question, a day before he asked it :)

Adam

#11 tyranthraxus OFFLINE  

tyranthraxus

    Stargunner

  • 1,231 posts
  • Location:Vancouver

Posted Tue Sep 3, 2002 10:43 PM

I've never played Pitfall 2 on any system. This thread is making me
want to get a copy. As I understand it this 2nd level is only on the
800/5200 version? How does it play on the 2600, Colecovision or C=64?

John

#12 Albert OFFLINE  

Albert

    Greetings, Avatar!

  • 30,179 posts
  • Location:Sosaria

Posted Tue Sep 3, 2002 11:16 PM

This thread is crazy :?  :D  :?  

Im down as the thread starter, but Albert answers my question a day before I asked it :o time machine!

Then the first post is by Crossbow answering MattyXB's question, a day before he asked it :)


Yeah, it appears there was a bug in the conversion process from the old forums. Some messages were imported in the wrong order in a few threads, including this one apparently. :) This wasn't noticed until after the new forums were running for a day or three, and by then it was really too late to do anything about it.

..Al

#13 Fretwobbler OFFLINE  

Fretwobbler

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 2,616 posts
  • Location:England

Posted Wed Sep 4, 2002 9:18 AM

I've never played Pitfall 2 on any system. This thread is making me
want to get a copy. As I understand it this 2nd level is only on the
800/5200 version? How does it play on the 2600, Colecovision or C=64?

John


The one level you get plays brilliantly on the 2600, the music is some of the best you'll hear on it as well. You owe it to yourself to buy it immediately.

Adam

#14 Chris++ OFFLINE  

Chris++

    God of Thunder

  • 7,986 posts
  • Location:Albuquerque

Posted Wed Sep 4, 2002 10:01 AM

John,
The 2600, ColecoVision and C-64 versions of Pitfall II, while not harboring the secret level, are all excellent.

I've beat the secret level ONCE (on the 8-bit). Every subsequent time I play it, those damn Wacky-Bats (as I call them) frustrate me and I turn the game off, wondering why I'm wasting so much time. Regardless, you can't go wrong with this title on any system, unless you hate adventures or platform games.


CF




0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users