IGNORED

BOYCOTT ULTRACADE!

Stingray

The short version is that David Foley of Ultracade is attempting to trademark the name MAME and the MAME logo. This person had nothing to do with the development of MAME nor did he design the logo.

He's currently harrassing people who sell MAME cabs and artwork for MAME cabs. He's having ebay pull auctions that use the word MAME and he's attempting to extort royalties from people who sell MAME related products. His actions are very sleazy at best and probably illegal, though not being a lawyer I can't say for sure what the legalities are.

There's a very lengthy thread running on the BYOAC board where you can read more about this.

http://forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/...ic,32339.0.html

If you are currently in the market for a Multi-Arcade system, I would like to strongly request that you take your business to someone other than Ultracade. This person is doing his best to destroy the MAME hobby.

-S

So his goal is to stop MAME cabs which use pirated games so that he can sell his with licensed games. That makes sense. But if a MAME cab is sold without any illegal ROMs then no harm, no foul.

This is what he claims, yet he has emailed several people on the BYOAC board who sell marquees and control panle overlays (not cabs) and demanded that they start paying him royalties. He certainly tries to make himself out to be a noble crusader out to stop piracy, but he's clearly out to make a buck.

F ultracade. I just played one of their shitty machines last week. MS. Pacman on an 8-way stick, no way

Thats why you should build your own, to your own specs. I plan on making removable joysticks (via LAN cable) so I can swap out between a 4 way and 8 way joystick for my minimame.

first: he can't tell people what to do with their computers at home.

second: he dosen't own the licenses of all the arcades out there.

third: all you have to do is not to mention the word mame in auctions or whatever.