Jump to content

Photo

Stone Age (CCE)


74 replies to this topic

#26 bfstats OFFLINE  

bfstats

    Dragonstomper

  • 573 posts

Posted Sun Dec 29, 2013 3:30 PM

Now we need a TechnoVision box for Stone Age.

 

Right, Marc?!



#27 PingvinBlueJeans OFFLINE  

PingvinBlueJeans

    River Patroller

  • 4,346 posts
  • Eat It

Posted Sun Dec 29, 2013 3:49 PM

Interesting info!

I'm now convinced that it's the TechnoVision game.


I can only wonder how these Brazilian pirates got their hands on unreleased titles like this one (or Donald Duck's Speedboat).
 

Now we need a TechnoVision box for Stone Age.


Someone needs to find the original CreatiVision box, and I don't know if it exists. It would be nice at least if someone hacked the ROM to replace the "CCE" logo with "TechnoVision", as it should be.

At least we have some artwork for Locomotive, if it ever turns up...

#28 Wickeycolumbus OFFLINE  

Wickeycolumbus

    Red Sea Crosser

  • 5,141 posts
  • Location:Michigan

Posted Sun Dec 29, 2013 4:32 PM

It would be nice at least if someone hacked the ROM to replace the "CCE" logo with "TechnoVision", as it should be.


Here you go:

Attached File  Stone Age logo hack.bin   4KB   75 downloads

#29 Omegamatrix OFFLINE  

Omegamatrix

    Quadrunner

  • 6,137 posts
  • Location:Canada

Posted Sun Dec 29, 2013 4:34 PM

Hacking a logo = 1.5 minutes of work.

 

Attached File  StoneAge(TechnoVisionLogo).zip   21.26KB   68 downloads



#30 PingvinBlueJeans OFFLINE  

PingvinBlueJeans

    River Patroller

  • 4,346 posts
  • Eat It

Posted Sun Dec 29, 2013 5:13 PM

Thank you, sirs.

Is there any particular reason why this game uses the right joystick port?

#31 Wickeycolumbus OFFLINE  

Wickeycolumbus

    Red Sea Crosser

  • 5,141 posts
  • Location:Michigan

Posted Sun Dec 29, 2013 6:31 PM

Thank you, sirs.

Is there any particular reason why this game uses the right joystick port?


No idea. I've never played the game so I didn't even realize that. Those are always a pain, here's a version with the proper logo, and joystick:

Attached File  Stone Age logo joystick hack.bin   4KB   78 downloads

#32 Omegamatrix OFFLINE  

Omegamatrix

    Quadrunner

  • 6,137 posts
  • Location:Canada

Posted Sun Dec 29, 2013 6:51 PM

I did one too, so I might as well post it.

 

 

Attached File  StoneAge(fix).zip   14.3KB   78 downloads

 

 

Perhaps they were using a pirate console which had the ports on the front, and reversed? Anyhow I switched the lives display so player 0 uses the left, and player 1 uses the right, which makes sense as the left joystick port is player 0.

 

 

I reversed the joysticks, added a black logo, and fixed the scanline count to 262 lines. :)



#33 bfstats OFFLINE  

bfstats

    Dragonstomper

  • 573 posts

Posted Sun Dec 29, 2013 6:59 PM

This is fun. Dueling ROM hacks. Who's gonna win?

 

(Oh, and nice work, gentlemen!)



#34 Wickeycolumbus OFFLINE  

Wickeycolumbus

    Red Sea Crosser

  • 5,141 posts
  • Location:Michigan

Posted Sun Dec 29, 2013 7:29 PM

Ha! Looks like the NTSC version is done... now for the PAL version (perhaps Omega will beat me to it)

#35 PingvinBlueJeans OFFLINE  

PingvinBlueJeans

    River Patroller

  • 4,346 posts
  • Eat It

Posted Sun Dec 29, 2013 7:40 PM

Perhaps they were using a pirate console which had the ports on the front, and reversed?


That's what I was thinking. 
 

I reversed the joysticks, added a black logo, and fixed the scanline count to 262 lines. :)


How many scanlines was the original? The problem with this latest hack is that the lives counter is chopped off the bottom of the screen (at least on my TV). Wickey's version is better in that regard.

#36 Omegamatrix OFFLINE  

Omegamatrix

    Quadrunner

  • 6,137 posts
  • Location:Canada

Posted Sun Dec 29, 2013 8:41 PM

How many scanlines was the original? The problem with this latest hack is that the lives counter is chopped off the bottom of the screen (at least on my TV). Wickey's version is better in that regard.

246 scanlines. The playing screen is very tall. I will take a look after dinner. There are lots of opportunities to gain scanlines back between the score and first row of blocks, for example. If it's still bad the score and logo could be alternated in the same area. Logo at startup, score while playing, alternating score and logo when dead.



#37 Wickeycolumbus OFFLINE  

Wickeycolumbus

    Red Sea Crosser

  • 5,141 posts
  • Location:Michigan

Posted Sun Dec 29, 2013 8:53 PM

246 scanlines. The playing screen is very tall.


That sort of makes sense now, it probably was a poor NTSC conversion of the original PAL TechnoVision game.

#38 Omegamatrix OFFLINE  

Omegamatrix

    Quadrunner

  • 6,137 posts
  • Location:Canada

Posted Sun Dec 29, 2013 9:00 PM

That sort of makes sense now, it probably was a poor NTSC conversion of the original PAL TechnoVision game.

It smells like a PAL game. The screen is just so tall.

 

I did another quick build. Decreased some of the unimportant parts of the screen. Can you see the lives now PBJ?

 

Attached File  StoneAge(fixv2).bin   4KB   77 downloads



#39 PingvinBlueJeans OFFLINE  

PingvinBlueJeans

    River Patroller

  • 4,346 posts
  • Eat It

Posted Sun Dec 29, 2013 9:51 PM

I did another quick build. Decreased some of the unimportant parts of the screen. Can you see the lives now PBJ?


Yes, you can. Graphically, that's probably as good as it can be. :thumbsup:

Unfortunately, the scoring is now totally screwed up for some reason. It looks like you're supposed to get 100 points for squishing a dino and 10 points for smashing a rock, but you now only get 1 point per dino and 0 points per rock. :!:

#40 Omegamatrix OFFLINE  

Omegamatrix

    Quadrunner

  • 6,137 posts
  • Location:Canada

Posted Sun Dec 29, 2013 10:08 PM

I'll take a look. I didn't go through and find any of the labels in the rom, so something is probably off.



#41 Omegamatrix OFFLINE  

Omegamatrix

    Quadrunner

  • 6,137 posts
  • Location:Canada

Posted Sun Dec 29, 2013 10:27 PM

Try this:

 

Attached File  StoneAge(fixv3).bin   4KB   82 downloads



#42 PingvinBlueJeans OFFLINE  

PingvinBlueJeans

    River Patroller

  • 4,346 posts
  • Eat It

Posted Sun Dec 29, 2013 10:33 PM

Okay, the scoring seems to be back to normal.

This game is hard, and just completing the first screen is a challenge. You really need to trap the enemies and then squish them. Otherwise, the last one is moving around so fast you can't possibly get him before he gets you. This game really would've benefitted from smaller, higher resolution graphics and more room to move around. Those big, chunky sprites and choppy animation certainly don't help anything. A pretty poor Pengo clone...not a surprise it wasn't released.

#43 Omegamatrix OFFLINE  

Omegamatrix

    Quadrunner

  • 6,137 posts
  • Location:Canada

Posted Sun Dec 29, 2013 10:54 PM

I never try trapping the dinosaurs. I just kick the block at them and squish them immediately. The last dinosaur is the tough one. Try to get in a good position when killing the third dinosaur to be able to kill the last one before he gets you.

 

User42 translated the instructions for Stone Age here:

 

http://atariage.com/...29#entry1699033



#44 PingvinBlueJeans OFFLINE  

PingvinBlueJeans

    River Patroller

  • 4,346 posts
  • Eat It

Posted Sun Dec 29, 2013 11:11 PM

User42 translated the instructions for Stone Age here...


Well, that certainly helps a bit. The main problem was that I had the difficulty switches set to "B", which is the hard setting on this particular game. The "A" setting is much more manageable.

#45 Serguei2 OFFLINE  

Serguei2

    Dragonstomper

  • 670 posts
  • Location:Canada

Posted Mon Dec 30, 2013 8:55 AM

This game is hard indeed.

 

I managed to reach to level 2.

 

Stone Age (1983) (CCE).png

 



#46 Omegamatrix OFFLINE  

Omegamatrix

    Quadrunner

  • 6,137 posts
  • Location:Canada

Posted Mon Dec 30, 2013 2:32 PM

That sort of makes sense now, it probably was a poor NTSC conversion of the original PAL TechnoVision game.

I believe the colors are all currently PAL. If you tell Stella to use PAL60 colors then the caveman has a pinkish color instead of blue or purple (I'm colorblind). This is just further evidence that it was a PAL game.



#47 Omegamatrix OFFLINE  

Omegamatrix

    Quadrunner

  • 6,137 posts
  • Location:Canada

Posted Tue Dec 31, 2013 4:01 PM

Current rom:

 

Attached File  StoneAge(ProperNTSC).zip   26KB   103 downloads

 

 

I've switched around the difficulty switches so that A=Pro, and B=Novice, as it should be. The left difficulty controls P0, and the right controls P1 (also as it should be). Next I converted the colors back to NTSC. The colors now appear as they were designed to be. The caveman is a pinkish skin color, and not a strange blue. I also got rid of an HMOVE bar in the score.

 

The current source is also included. I am still working on it, but I am running out of time today. I've added a marco which allows easy editing of the stone blocks, dinosaur and caveman starting positions. You can move the levels around to whatever order you like. :)

Level_10:
    stones __________
    stones _XXX____X_
    stones __X_______
    stones __X_______
    stones _______X__
    stones _______X__
    stones _X____XXX_
    stones __________

    dino1PosXY   5,8
    dino2PosXY   10,5
    dino3PosXY   1,4
    dino4PosXY   6,1
    cavemanPosXY 7,4

Level_04:
    stones __________
    stones _X_XXXXXX_
    stones _X_X____X_
    stones _X_X__X_X_
    stones _X_XXXX_X_
    stones _X______X_
    stones _XXXXXXXX_
    stones __________

    dino1PosXY   5,6
    dino2PosXY   3,3
    dino3PosXY   1,1
    dino4PosXY   10,1
    cavemanPosXY 1,8

In the above code there are a few lines that say "stones". The X's are where the stones get placed. The top line is the top of the screen, and the bottom line the bottom of the screen.

 

Following that are the starting positions for the caveman and dinosaur. The X column value can be 1-10, left to right. The Y Row value can be 1-8, bottom to top.

 

The order the levels appear in is here:

LevelConfigTab:
    .word Level_01
    .word Level_02
    .word Level_03
    .word Level_04
    .word Level_05
    .word Level_06
    .word Level_07
    .word Level_08
    .word Level_09
    .word Level_10
    .word Level_11
    .word Level_12
    .word Level_13
    .word Level_14
    .word Level_15
    .word Level_16

To change levels around simply move the order of the table around.



#48 PingvinBlueJeans OFFLINE  

PingvinBlueJeans

    River Patroller

  • 4,346 posts
  • Eat It

Posted Tue Dec 31, 2013 6:07 PM

Nice work, Omega.

#49 Thomas Jentzsch OFFLINE  

Thomas Jentzsch

    Thrust, Jammed, SWOOPS!, Boulder Dash, THREE·S, Star Castle

  • 22,848 posts
  • Always left from right here!
  • Location:Düsseldorf, Germany, Europe, Earth

Posted Wed Jan 1, 2014 8:07 AM

Very nice.

 

It would be good if you would use conditional assembler directives (e.g. IF ORIGINAL... ELSE...ENDIF). So that one can assemble the original version from the same source too.



#50 Thomas Jentzsch OFFLINE  

Thomas Jentzsch

    Thrust, Jammed, SWOOPS!, Boulder Dash, THREE·S, Star Castle

  • 22,848 posts
  • Always left from right here!
  • Location:Düsseldorf, Germany, Europe, Earth

Posted Wed Jan 1, 2014 8:32 AM

This game is hard indeed.

 

I managed to reach to level 2.

 

attachicon.gifStone Age (1983) (CCE).png

 

The 1st level is almost the most difficulty. The gameplay is definitely not well balanced yet.

Attached Thumbnails

  • StoneAge(ProperNTSC).png





0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users