Jump to content

Photo

batari Basic - READ ME FIRST


39 replies to this topic

#26 jonfin826 OFFLINE  

jonfin826

    Star Raider

  • 54 posts
  • New and improved!
  • Location:Virginia

Posted Fri Apr 25, 2008 4:05 AM

It worked!!! Thanks, I was wondering why it always said Files\Atari unexpected.


> Terminated with exit code 0
Hell yeah it was!!! :]


Never mind, It terminates with the right exit code now but when i tried to run the compiled program, a popup box for z26 said it couldn't find the zombiechase.bas.bin file. So i went to edit the Run bB Program and put quotes around $(FilePath).bin and when i went to run thecompiled program again it opened it in z26 like it should but all i got was a blanks screen with a few static-type-moving white lines.

Edited by jonfin826, Fri Apr 25, 2008 4:13 AM.


#27 SeaGtGruff OFFLINE  

SeaGtGruff

    Quadrunner

  • 5,558 posts
  • Location:Georgia, USA

Posted Fri Apr 25, 2008 7:24 AM

Never mind, It terminates with the right exit code now but when i tried to run the compiled program, a popup box for z26 said it couldn't find the zombiechase.bas.bin file. So i went to edit the Run bB Program and put quotes around $(FilePath).bin and when i went to run thecompiled program again it opened it in z26 like it should but all i got was a blanks screen with a few static-type-moving white lines.

Is the .bin file the right size (exactly 2048 bytes for a 2K game, 4096 bytes for a 4K game, 8192 bytes for an 8K game, etc.)? If it is (I don't remember if that's supposed to be 4K or what), then check the setup of z26, especially any command switch settings in your Argument field, as well as the general setup of your tool to run the game in the emulator.

Michael

#28 jonfin826 OFFLINE  

jonfin826

    Star Raider

  • 54 posts
  • New and improved!
  • Location:Virginia

Posted Fri Apr 25, 2008 12:58 PM

Oh wait, I just noticed a little z26 popup comes up that says "Couldn't lock display surface: DirectDrawSurface3::Lock: Surface was lost. Exiting..." and then when i press ok the z26 window and popup exit. I don't know if knowing what the message said changes much, so i'll try what you already said, and if you can, please tell me what exactly the popup meant.

Edit: It's the right size (4096 bits) but i don't know how to check the setup of z26. I feel so computer retardedddd

Edit (again): I fixed it, somehow the apostrophes in the Remarks in the code were messing it up. It said (3) Parse error: unrecognized character "'"

But it's all good...at least until I run into some other problem to bug y'all with :]

Edited by jonfin826, Fri Apr 25, 2008 1:26 PM.


#29 SeaGtGruff OFFLINE  

SeaGtGruff

    Quadrunner

  • 5,558 posts
  • Location:Georgia, USA

Posted Fri Apr 25, 2008 6:03 PM

Oh wait, I just noticed a little z26 popup comes up that says "Couldn't lock display surface: DirectDrawSurface3::Lock: Surface was lost. Exiting..." and then when i press ok the z26 window and popup exit. I don't know if knowing what the message said changes much, so i'll try what you already said, and if you can, please tell me what exactly the popup meant.

Edit: It's the right size (4096 bits) but i don't know how to check the setup of z26. I feel so computer retardedddd

Edit (again): I fixed it, somehow the apostrophes in the Remarks in the code were messing it up. It said (3) Parse error: unrecognized character "'"

But it's all good...at least until I run into some other problem to bug y'all with :]

No worries-- I'm glad you figured it out! :)

Michael

#30 Random Terrain OFFLINE  

Random Terrain

    Visual batari Basic User

  • 28,021 posts
  • Controlled Randomness
    Replay Value
    Nonlinear
  • Location:North Carolina (USA)

Posted Fri Apr 25, 2008 6:26 PM

jonfin826, have you tried Visual batari Basic? It's easier to set up and it has cool tools and features.

#31 kisrael OFFLINE  

kisrael

    HMBL 2600 coder

  • Topic Starter
  • 4,025 posts
  • Location:Boston Burbs, MA

Posted Wed Dec 24, 2008 3:31 PM

I've unlocked this thread... I would like to make the "READ ME FIRST" link a more useful launching point than it has been, in part by keeping it a really great set of useful links. (In trying to get back on the bB horse, I've realized how confusing some if it can be when you're starting from scratch, and want to get something going in a hurry!)

So if you have suggestions for links, post them here, and I will edit the first post to keep it as useful but focused as possible.

Edited by kisrael, Wed Dec 24, 2008 3:33 PM.


#32 johnny_boy OFFLINE  

johnny_boy

    Chopper Commander

  • 148 posts

Posted Mon Jan 5, 2009 3:35 PM

kernel-dont-panic link is wrong. Should remove "%5b/url" from the end.

#33 kisrael OFFLINE  

kisrael

    HMBL 2600 coder

  • Topic Starter
  • 4,025 posts
  • Location:Boston Burbs, MA

Posted Mon Jan 5, 2009 4:18 PM

thanks fixed

#34 yuppicide OFFLINE  

yuppicide

    I am the Black Knight. Give me your money!

  • 6,933 posts
  • Location:New Jersey

Posted Thu May 7, 2009 11:46 AM

I haven't really ever looked at this thread much until now.

Thanks for the AAbBCc link. That's great!

#35 Random Terrain OFFLINE  

Random Terrain

    Visual batari Basic User

  • 28,021 posts
  • Controlled Randomness
    Replay Value
    Nonlinear
  • Location:North Carolina (USA)

Posted Tue May 21, 2013 4:38 PM

So if you have suggestions for links, post them here, and I will edit the first post to keep it as useful but focused as possible.


You could add links to Stella and JAVATARI. JAVATARI is a very good emulator that can also be embedded on your own web site so people can play the games you make online. It's much better than JStella.

#36 Private Eye OFFLINE  

Private Eye

    Space Invader

  • 29 posts

Posted Sun Aug 17, 2014 8:50 AM

Can someone teach me how to compile with Basic please? I have always had that problem. And if youwish to explain it would be greatly apperciated if you explained it in the simplist ways posible.



#37 uNi73 OFFLINE  

uNi73

    Star Raider

  • 73 posts

Posted Thu Oct 23, 2014 5:05 PM

Looks like

 

http://www.atari2600.org/DASM

 

is completly down.

 

DASM is not really needed when using a Windows system and Batari contains a MS-DOS executable of the assembler, but here is

the newest version (looks like, DASM has no own HP?)

 

http://sourceforge.n...ts/dasm-dillon/

 

(in case you dont work on a win-system or you want the documentation)

 



#38 high voltage OFFLINE  

high voltage

    Quadrunner

  • 6,179 posts
  • Location:europe

Posted Fri Mar 13, 2015 5:02 AM

Is there a print out version for the batari Basic manual?

If not, could there be one perhaps?


Edited by high voltage, Fri Mar 13, 2015 5:02 AM.


#39 Random Terrain OFFLINE  

Random Terrain

    Visual batari Basic User

  • 28,021 posts
  • Controlled Randomness
    Replay Value
    Nonlinear
  • Location:North Carolina (USA)

Posted Sat Mar 14, 2015 1:54 AM

Is there a print out version for the batari Basic manual?
If not, could there be one perhaps?


The bB page is constantly changing, so it would be kind of hard to keep updating a print version. I'm sure people would complain that the page is too wide for printing, so a lot of the page would have to be redone (and redone and redone and redone and redone every time the bB page changes).



#40 high voltage OFFLINE  

high voltage

    Quadrunner

  • 6,179 posts
  • Location:europe

Posted Sat Mar 14, 2015 4:12 AM

ok true that makes sense






0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users