IGNORED

synthcart beat editor/player/compiler?

Channel 2

I'm considering making an application in Java for editing beats, playing them so that you can hear them while you work on them, and creating bin files for emulator, supercharger/cuttlecart, or EPROM. I've got no talent for music myself, but I did find the synthcart concept interesting, I would like to contribute something to the Atari world, and I need some kind of project to do while I study Java.

I'd like to know how much interest there would be in this. It would be nice to have a little extra motivation if it gets difficult. I can't predict whether I'll complete it in any case. I'm not a programmer, though I have taken two classes in C++ and did very well. And when I finally found the right code to study, I didn't have too much trouble understanding how to emulate Tia sound.

I also need some information. How do the values that go into beatdata.h translate to the values that go in the sound control bytes?

I'd love to see that project done. If you do get it working, I could probably find time to enhance the beat player so it supports more than just two beats, but still works on the Supercharger.

I'll answer your question about beatdata.h when I get home and can look at my notes.

-Paul

IF I succeed with the first project, adding features shouldn't be a problem. The work would mostly be on your end, as long as compiling the bin file consists of plugging the beat data into an existing bin. Stuff like scripting in the data, let alone real compiling of code, I'm not going to think about at this point.

I thought of some more info I need. What's the duration of a single note? Anything else I forgot?