IGNORED

128 colors squared possible?

MayDay

Hello,

I was going through information about 2600 prototypes and ran across the venetian (spelling?) blind demo. That got me to thinking if colors on the 2600 could be interlaced by frame to produce a lot more colors... not in actuality, but in perception to the human eye.

Please see the attachment. The idea was to make a red square, a yellow square, and a square in between that alternated between the two to make an orange (percieved) color. I'm new to programming and maybe more importantly, up past my bedtime but hopefully you can understand what I was trying to do here. I quickly threw this together without a ton of thought, and I'm sure it will show.

colordemo.ZIP

I know this isn't optimized or probably even practical, I just wondered if it was possible? I'm curious to see what you guys have to say, and will try to play around with it some this weekend.

-JD

Edited by MayDay

I was going through information about 2600 prototypes and ran across the venetian (spelling?) blind demo.  That got me to thinking if colors on the 2600 could be interlaced by frame to produce a lot more colors... not in actuality, but in perception to the human eye. 

963105[/snapback]

It's not really practical to get 16,384 colors via that method, but it can certainly be used to increase the number of simultaneous colors available. You're not the first person to think of it. I'd actually thought of implementing a game using that approach in 1994, and posted a demo earlier this year (in the thread http://www.atariage.com/forums/index.php?showtopic=70712 I give a little seven-color paint program). The paint program doesn't work as well as I'd like on a real machine (the colors come out a bit muddy) but it shows the technique.