Jump to content

Photo

7800 computer - finally !


277 replies to this topic

#26 Curt Vendel OFFLINE  

Curt Vendel

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 4,912 posts
  • Location:Carmel, New York

Posted Tue Dec 13, 2005 7:29 AM

That is correct.


Curt

Are there any documents on the Basic, such as a command list or anything? It would be nice to try to convert some basic programs from other computers.

Allan

View Post


I think I remember hearing that the 7800 Basic was a slightly modified version of the Atari 8bit computer Basic.

Mitch

View Post



#27 Sayton OFFLINE  

Sayton

    Dragonstomper

  • 659 posts

Posted Tue Dec 13, 2005 7:57 AM

I don't exactly understand what all you can do with this. Can someone explain?

#28 Allan OFFLINE  

Allan

    Quadrunner

  • 6,381 posts
  • Location:Wallingford, CT

Posted Tue Dec 13, 2005 7:57 AM

Would there be anyway to increase the RAM on the RAM carts? Just curious. It would be nice to have 64K or more.

Did you ever figure out what that third cart was from this picture or find anything else interesting in the stuff that the GCC guys gave you at the Vintage Computer Festival East?

Woops, forgot the picture.

Allan

Attached Thumbnails

  • 3_comp_boards.jpg

Edited by Allan, Tue Dec 13, 2005 5:17 PM.


#29 Allan OFFLINE  

Allan

    Quadrunner

  • 6,381 posts
  • Location:Wallingford, CT

Posted Tue Dec 13, 2005 8:01 AM

I don't exactly understand what all you can do with this. Can someone explain?

View Post


Start by looking at Curt's site under the 7800 section. There are also some documents on the keyboard in Curt's document section.

http://www.atarimuse.../7800/7800menu/

http://archives.atar...s/archives.html

Allan

#30 MaDDuck OFFLINE  

MaDDuck

    Dragonstomper

  • 559 posts
  • Banned, not allowed to post again, ever!
  • Location:Missouri!

Posted Tue Dec 13, 2005 8:17 AM

And let's not forget that you will ALL need a 7800 *WITH* the expantion connector on it!

I'm personally VERY hyped about this, 2006 is the year of the 7800!!!

#31 DominiRican05 OFFLINE  

DominiRican05

    Chopper Commander

  • 196 posts

Posted Tue Dec 13, 2005 8:25 AM

Hmmm...I have a 7800 without an expansion slot....so this computer add-on won't be able to work with my 7800? :? Also, where would I be able to obtain a 7800 with an expansion module? I'd assume it would be very expensive since they were only produced in 84.


And let's not forget that you will ALL need a 7800 *WITH* the expantion connector on it!

I'm personally VERY hyped about this, 2006 is the year of the 7800!!!

View Post



#32 Tempest OFFLINE  

Tempest

    Fallen Moderator

  • 27,168 posts
  • Location:Dark Places

Posted Tue Dec 13, 2005 8:38 AM

And let's not forget that you will ALL need a 7800 *WITH* the expantion connector on it!

I'm personally VERY hyped about this, 2006 is the year of the 7800!!!

View Post


Actually I don't believe that is true. IIRC the keyboard hooked up through the joystick ports. Correct me if I'm wrong Curt.

Tempest

#33 MaDDuck OFFLINE  

MaDDuck

    Dragonstomper

  • 559 posts
  • Banned, not allowed to post again, ever!
  • Location:Missouri!

Posted Tue Dec 13, 2005 8:40 AM

Hmmm...I have a 7800 without an expansion slot....so this computer add-on won't be able to work with my 7800?  :?  Also, where would I be able to obtain a 7800 with an expansion module?  I'd assume it would be very expensive since they were only produced in 84. 


And let's not forget that you will ALL need a 7800 *WITH* the expantion connector on it!

I'm personally VERY hyped about this, 2006 is the year of the 7800!!!

View Post

View Post



Not really!
There are TONS of them out there. I have four, 1 from ebay, and 3 found in the wild. They all have the expantion port.
You may be able to solder the connector on the MLB yourself, I'm not sure if Atari removed/changed any of the internals when they removed the port.
Suggestions, anyone???

#34 MaDDuck OFFLINE  

MaDDuck

    Dragonstomper

  • 559 posts
  • Banned, not allowed to post again, ever!
  • Location:Missouri!

Posted Tue Dec 13, 2005 8:43 AM

I stand corrected, I just read on Curt's site that the KB plugs into joystick port #2!!!
Opps.

so, WTF was the expantion port supposed to be used for anyway????

Edited by MaDDuck, Tue Dec 13, 2005 8:47 AM.


#35 Allan OFFLINE  

Allan

    Quadrunner

  • 6,381 posts
  • Location:Wallingford, CT

Posted Tue Dec 13, 2005 8:43 AM

If you check Curt's website it says the keyboard uses the second joystick port. The docs say the same thing. No expansion port needed. :)

Allan

#36 Allan OFFLINE  

Allan

    Quadrunner

  • 6,381 posts
  • Location:Wallingford, CT

Posted Tue Dec 13, 2005 8:46 AM

I stand corrected, I just read on Curt's site that the KB pluggs into joystick port #2!!!
Opps.

so, WTF was the expantion port supposed to be used for anyway????

View Post


Laserdisc player.

Allan

#37 MaDDuck OFFLINE  

MaDDuck

    Dragonstomper

  • 559 posts
  • Banned, not allowed to post again, ever!
  • Location:Missouri!

Posted Tue Dec 13, 2005 8:51 AM

I stand corrected, I just read on Curt's site that the KB pluggs into joystick port #2!!!
Opps.

so, WTF was the expantion port supposed to be used for anyway????

View Post


Laserdisc player.

Allan

View Post


Intresting.....
I have a Firefox laserdisc and a Pioneer LD player with RS-232 I/O
Now if I only had Curt's brain! :idea:

#38 birdie3 OFFLINE  

birdie3

    River Patroller

  • 2,103 posts
  • Atari is good.
  • Location:Eastern Ontario, Canada

Posted Tue Dec 13, 2005 9:29 AM

It will be cool to see how this turns out. Maybe this will spawn some sort of game/application software development package. It will be nice to be able to interface with the 7800 directly. Hopefully there will be plenty of documentation to refer to for learning how to program for this machine.

Edited by birdie3, Tue Dec 13, 2005 9:30 AM.


#39 Tempest OFFLINE  

Tempest

    Fallen Moderator

  • 27,168 posts
  • Location:Dark Places

Posted Tue Dec 13, 2005 9:33 AM

I stand corrected, I just read on Curt's site that the KB pluggs into joystick port #2!!!
Opps.

so, WTF was the expantion port supposed to be used for anyway????

View Post


Laserdisc player.

Allan

View Post


Intresting.....
I have a Firefox laserdisc and a Pioneer LD player with RS-232 I/O
Now if I only had Curt's brain! :idea:

View Post

Funny, I have some Firefox boards and no laserdisc or player. If you need them let me know, I have no use for them.

Tempest

#40 MaDDuck OFFLINE  

MaDDuck

    Dragonstomper

  • 559 posts
  • Banned, not allowed to post again, ever!
  • Location:Missouri!

Posted Tue Dec 13, 2005 10:25 AM

I will probably get the Atarilab 7800 Temp and Light carts out first since those are straight rom carts not requiring the additional RAM like Basic and Videowriter.

View Post



So, will they be compatible with the temp/light probes and interface from the 8B line?

#41 Eckhard Stolberg OFFLINE  

Eckhard Stolberg

    Dragonstomper

  • 957 posts
  • Location:Germany

Posted Tue Dec 13, 2005 3:08 PM

1. I would like anyone who is interested in purchasing a computer module and carts to email me please:

View Post

I might be interested. But I'm wondering if the keyboard and the programs would work with the PAL 7800. Or will special PAL versions of the programs be available?


Ciao, Eckhard Stolberg

#42 Allan OFFLINE  

Allan

    Quadrunner

  • 6,381 posts
  • Location:Wallingford, CT

Posted Tue Dec 13, 2005 4:01 PM

Looking at the 7800_keyboard_document.pdf file, it mentions four source files which were suppose to be included with the document. Has anybody ever seen these?

They are:
TAPE.S
SIO.S
COMM.S
KEY.S

Allan

#43 bcprs1 OFFLINE  

bcprs1

    Stargunner

  • 1,554 posts
  • Location:Dedham, MA

Posted Tue Dec 13, 2005 4:13 PM

PM SENT

#44 Curt Vendel OFFLINE  

Curt Vendel

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 4,912 posts
  • Location:Carmel, New York

Posted Tue Dec 13, 2005 4:17 PM

The Expansion connector was for a LaserDisc system, not the computer keyboard.


The keyboard plugs into joystick port #2.



Curt

And let's not forget that you will ALL need a 7800 *WITH* the expantion connector on it!

I'm personally VERY hyped about this, 2006 is the year of the 7800!!!

View Post



#45 vespertillio OFFLINE  

vespertillio

    Moonsweeper

  • 331 posts
  • Location:Colorado

Posted Tue Dec 13, 2005 4:44 PM

Count me in as very interested. :D

#46 Tifany OFFLINE  

Tifany

    Chopper Commander

  • 150 posts
  • Location:oklahoma

Posted Tue Dec 13, 2005 5:10 PM

Hey guys! This looks really kewl! :-)

One quick question: Will this be able to work with a SIO2PC set up like the 8 bit computers?? If so, I am SO there!

Thanks, and keep up all the wonderful work! Its a great time to be an Atari fan! :-)

#47 Allan OFFLINE  

Allan

    Quadrunner

  • 6,381 posts
  • Location:Wallingford, CT

Posted Tue Dec 13, 2005 5:15 PM

Hey guys!  This looks really kewl! :-)

  One quick question:  Will this be able to work with a SIO2PC set up like the 8 bit computers??  If so, I am SO there!

  Thanks, and keep up all the wonderful work!  Its a great time to be an Atari fan! :-)

View Post


I don't think so. I think the APE software would have to be reprogrammed. I don't think this would be easy.

Allan

#48 Mitch OFFLINE  

Mitch

    Quadrunner

  • 6,643 posts
  • 7800 Guy
  • Location:Southern California, USA

Posted Tue Dec 13, 2005 7:53 PM

Hey guys!  This looks really kewl! :-)

  One quick question:  Will this be able to work with a SIO2PC set up like the 8 bit computers??  If so, I am SO there!

  Thanks, and keep up all the wonderful work!  Its a great time to be an Atari fan! :-)

View Post


I don't think so. I think the APE software would have to be reprogrammed. I don't think this would be easy.

Allan

View Post


Hmm, why do you say that, from what I see it should work without any modification at all.

Mitch

#49 Allan OFFLINE  

Allan

    Quadrunner

  • 6,381 posts
  • Location:Wallingford, CT

Posted Tue Dec 13, 2005 8:17 PM

Hey guys!  This looks really kewl! :-)

  One quick question:  Will this be able to work with a SIO2PC set up like the 8 bit computers??  If so, I am SO there!

  Thanks, and keep up all the wonderful work!  Its a great time to be an Atari fan! :-)

View Post


I don't think so. I think the APE software would have to be reprogrammed. I don't think this would be easy.

Allan

View Post


Hmm, why do you say that, from what I see it should work without any modification at all.

Mitch

View Post


Well I don't know for sure but it just seems to easy that it would work without any modification to the software at least. Maybe this is a better question for Classics. It would be great if it did.

Allan

#50 classics OFFLINE  

classics

    River Patroller

  • 2,106 posts
  • So many projects, so little time.
  • Location:Cleveland, Ohio

Posted Tue Dec 13, 2005 9:40 PM

It depends on the OS of the beast.

If it supports the same basic read/write/status commands of the Atari 8-bit computers SIO bus then it will work with APE, Atari810 and all the other SIO2PC type programs without modification.

Even if only the bus hardware is the same, the SIO2PC adapters will all still work, with some modifications to the software to support it.

Modifying/updating the various SIO2PC programs is easy. I would be more concerned with it being compatible with the hardware and having the correct connector on the console for using SIO cables and peripherals.




0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users