Jump to content

Photo

ST cartridge slot?


50 replies to this topic

#1 calfranklin OFFLINE  

calfranklin

    Moonsweeper

  • 351 posts
  • Location:Fremont, Nebraska

Posted Sat Feb 4, 2006 10:37 PM

What's the purpose of the cartridge slot on the ST? Where there any games released on carts for the ST? I have the ComputerEyes digitizer that uses the slot, but other than that, I'm really not sure why Atari included it.

#2 Tempest OFFLINE  

Tempest

    Monochrome Martinet

  • 25,374 posts
  • Location:Accardi-By-The-Sea

Posted Sat Feb 4, 2006 10:40 PM

No games used the cartridge slot. It was for utility carts, test carts, security dongles, and certain adapters.

Tempest

#3 Gregory DG OFFLINE  

Gregory DG

    TAT IS BACK!

  • 11,190 posts
  • Go Cardinals!
  • Location:Winter Haven, FL

Posted Sat Feb 4, 2006 11:10 PM

I have a real time clock cartridge for mine. I think the battery died years ago though. :|

Edited by Gregory DG, Sat Feb 4, 2006 11:10 PM.


#4 Rybags OFFLINE  

Rybags

    Quadrunner

  • 14,571 posts
  • Location:Australia

Posted Sun Feb 5, 2006 12:15 AM

Once it was established that the ST was to have a minimum config of 512K and have most of the OS in ROM, the cartridge became mostly redundant.

Plus the fact that there is no write line going out makes it only partially useful.

#5 Gunstar OFFLINE  

Gunstar

    Gunstar

  • 8,075 posts
  • Location:Kellyville, Oklahoma

Posted Sun Feb 5, 2006 8:09 AM

I currently have 4 periphrials that all plug into the cartridge port; Stereo Tek 3D cartridge that allows the use of LCD stereo-scopic shutter-lense glasses, Spectre GCR Macinstosh hardware emulator, Migraph hand-scanner and the Vidi-ST 12-bit video digitizing hardware. So actually, the cartridge slot can be very useful and was used a lot, just not for games. Just think of it as a non-standard PCB expansion port. It mainly has uses similiar to modern PC expansion slots that you would put PCB cards in for similiar hardware devices.

Edited by Gunstar, Sun Feb 5, 2006 8:10 AM.


#6 LYNXGUY OFFLINE  

LYNXGUY

    Stargunner

  • 1,439 posts
  • Location:At my computer

Posted Tue Feb 7, 2006 4:39 PM

My best friend used that slot for PC DITTO

#7 Curt Vendel OFFLINE  

Curt Vendel

    River Patroller

  • 4,481 posts
  • Location:Carmel, New York

Posted Tue Feb 7, 2006 5:38 PM

I Have an Atari VT-100 Terminal Emulator cartridge I use in that slot and I have an Ethernec Networking interface that I use in that slot as well.


Curt

#8 Paolo OFFLINE  

Paolo

    Dragonstomper

  • 910 posts
  • Location:Italy

Posted Tue Feb 7, 2006 6:28 PM

...and don't forget the dongles...

#9 crash OFFLINE  

crash

    Moonsweeper

  • 363 posts
  • Location:Honolulu, Hawaii

Posted Wed Feb 8, 2006 3:30 AM

My favorite are the Emagic Logic Log3 and C-Lab Unitor Interfaces. The Log3 provides four additional MIDI outs and a cartridge pass through where I attach a C-Lab Unitor which has two more MIDI outs and two MIDI ins. Unfortunately the Log3 also has the copy protection for Logic, which does NOT work reliably. The MIDI part always works, the copy protection fails often.

For Cubase, there are options such as the Steinberg Midex (not for Falcon, I believe) which holds four cartridges and provides four MIDI outs and two MIDI ins.

As others have mentioned, there are cartridges to:

Digitize audio
Digitize video
Expand MIDI
Synchonize music to SMPTE, VITC, or even live audio
Attach a hard disk
Attach to LAN and Internet
Attach scanners
Playback audio
Add a clock
Use 3D LCD Shutter glasses
Waste your cartridge port with infernal copy protection dongles
Run Diagnostics
and probably lots of other things...

The best way to look at it is to ask yourself what you want to do with the computer, and then see if there are cartridges that may help you to meet your needs.

Cheers!

#10 krupkaj OFFLINE  

krupkaj

    Stargunner

  • 1,204 posts
  • from 8 to 64 and beyond
  • Location:Czech Republic

Posted Wed Feb 8, 2006 3:51 AM

I Have an Atari VT-100 Terminal Emulator cartridge I use in that slot

 

It is interesting. How it works? Does it have its own serial port or is it software only? Can you post some info about it?

Edited by krupkaj, Wed Feb 8, 2006 3:52 AM.


#11 Inky OFFLINE  

Inky

    I'm going to try to come back and post here.

  • 24,506 posts
  • Awkwardness personified
  • Location:The Pie Factory Logistics Center

Posted Wed Feb 8, 2006 12:12 PM

No games used the cartridge slot.

 


Not entirely correct. there was one game that used it... RC Aerochopper. Granted, it wa used to hook the nifty "RC " controller to the computer

#12 calfranklin OFFLINE  

calfranklin

    Moonsweeper

  • Topic Starter
  • 351 posts
  • Location:Fremont, Nebraska

Posted Wed Feb 8, 2006 2:09 PM

My favorite are the Emagic Logic Log3 and C-Lab Unitor Interfaces.  The Log3 provides four additional MIDI outs and a cartridge pass through where I attach a C-Lab Unitor which has two more MIDI outs and two MIDI ins.  Unfortunately the Log3 also has the copy protection for Logic, which does NOT work reliably.  The MIDI part always works, the copy protection fails often.

For Cubase, there are options such as the Steinberg Midex (not for Falcon, I believe) which holds four cartridges and provides four MIDI outs and two MIDI ins.

As others have mentioned, there are cartridges to:

Digitize audio
Digitize video
Expand MIDI
Synchonize music to SMPTE, VITC, or even live audio
Attach a hard disk
Attach to LAN and Internet
Attach scanners
Playback audio
Add a clock
Use 3D LCD Shutter glasses
Waste your cartridge port with infernal copy protection dongles
Run Diagnostics
and probably lots of other things...

The best way to look at it is to ask yourself what you want to do with the computer, and then see if there are cartridges that may help you to meet your needs.

Cheers!

 

Wow, I never relized that all this stuff was released for the ST.

#13 Curt Vendel OFFLINE  

Curt Vendel

    River Patroller

  • 4,481 posts
  • Location:Carmel, New York

Posted Fri Feb 10, 2006 8:57 AM

Its a software package that turns the cartridge into a C: drive and boots from it, then the terminal comes up and you can use any of the serial ports to directly connect to a host or a modem...

It's quite useful as I use my ST with the cart as a terminal to access my DEC Vax mini-computers and its great to use to talk with various serial devices.



Curt

I Have an Atari VT-100 Terminal Emulator cartridge I use in that slot

 

It is interesting. How it works? Does it have its own serial port or is it software only? Can you post some info about it?

 



#14 Curt Vendel OFFLINE  

Curt Vendel

    River Patroller

  • 4,481 posts
  • Location:Carmel, New York

Posted Fri Feb 10, 2006 8:58 AM

Also, Atari put out the Lego Robotics Kit, I have never tried the one I have, but I want to give a whirl one of these days....



Curt

#15 calfranklin OFFLINE  

calfranklin

    Moonsweeper

  • Topic Starter
  • 351 posts
  • Location:Fremont, Nebraska

Posted Fri Feb 10, 2006 7:13 PM

Also, Atari put out the Lego Robotics Kit, I have never tried the one I have, but I want to give a whirl one of these days....



Curt

 

Where can I get one of these? Also, who sales the RC Aerochopper for the ST?

#16 nathanallan OFFLINE  

nathanallan

    Quadrunner

  • 5,639 posts
  • Location:Nashville, TN

Posted Sun Mar 12, 2006 3:45 AM

I have a terminal cart, too, and it's extremely useful. I can actually connect to a unix box and get on as my username. Unix loves it. I think it might be the same one that you have, Curt.

Nathan

#17 kevin242 OFFLINE  

kevin242

    Stargunner

  • 1,036 posts
  • I played Atari today
  • Location:Connecticut, USA

Posted Sun Mar 12, 2006 2:10 PM

I have a grey box that plugs into the cart slot and give's my 520 a 512k ram disk. I am
wondering (outloud) why noone has ever made a cart for the ST with say the 20/30 best games on it. That would be neat and you would not need to deal with load times or
floppy disks.

#18 Wrathchild OFFLINE  

Wrathchild

    Stargunner

  • 1,734 posts
  • Location:Reading, UK.

Posted Tue Mar 14, 2006 7:07 AM

The game B.A.T came with a soundcard that plugged into the cart port IIRC

#19 calfranklin OFFLINE  

calfranklin

    Moonsweeper

  • Topic Starter
  • 351 posts
  • Location:Fremont, Nebraska

Posted Tue Mar 14, 2006 8:17 AM

What the B.A.T. game about?

#20 Wrathchild OFFLINE  

Wrathchild

    Stargunner

  • 1,734 posts
  • Location:Reading, UK.

Posted Tue Mar 14, 2006 11:28 AM

http://www.atarimaga...132/110_BAT.php

and other such google responses...

#21 bluemonday OFFLINE  

bluemonday

    Space Invader

  • 49 posts

Posted Sat Aug 16, 2014 12:03 PM

Anyone know anything about what else you can use the BAT sound cartridge for? It says in this eBay listing you can use it for other software:

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/321488401642

I read that Music Master may be one such bit of software - anyone know anything about Music Master? I don't remember it!

#22 griz OFFLINE  

griz

    Star Raider

  • 89 posts
  • Location:Canada

Posted Mon Aug 18, 2014 3:54 PM

I too have Computereyes which uses the cartridge port to digitize video.

 

As well I have IMG-scan which turned a dot matrix printer into a scanner.

 

And finally STOS Maestro : a sound sampler.

 

 



#23 doctorclu OFFLINE  

doctorclu

    ******Blue Max****** *****Class 4***** **Moon Master**

  • 6,762 posts
  • Captain - Class 2
  • Location:Dallas, TX - U.S.A.

Posted Tue Aug 19, 2014 6:45 AM

Love the cartridge slot on the ST, and often wished that just for the fun of it they could make ONE GAME CARTRIDGE.

 

I often wanted to make a Star Raiders cartridge for the ST to complete my collection of Star Raiders games for the Atari systems.  As it is I have the floppy for the ST, but that is just not as fun as slapping in a cartridge and going.  But as Curt mentioned it would probably come up as a virtual drive, you select the game image and load from inside the drive... but you get the idea.

 

The problem was I believe the cartridge had a 128K ram limit.  Star Raiders was like a 256K game.  I'm sure bank switching would be possible like on other systems,

 

And I have used the Spectre and Spectre GCR carts a lot and enjoyed the Mac emulation from time to time.

 

Also have the time clock (what I wanted to use for the Star Raiders cart), some kind of testing cart which could also be used for the Mac emulation I believe, and the hand scanner.  And I have the VT-100 cart.   My experience as a BBS'er is the VT-100 cart, which is a dang cool cart for someone who just wants to slap in a cartridge and call a BBS, was good for basic VT-100.   Naturally no ANSI graphics emulation.  I remember the cartridge was a little rough in the translation, and the earlier ST's needed a driver as a patch for reliable 19.2K, which the cartridge did not have.   Aside from that, not bad for a quick simple solution.


Edited by doctorclu, Tue Aug 19, 2014 6:48 AM.


#24 DarkLord OFFLINE  

DarkLord

    River Patroller

  • 3,100 posts
  • Location:Prestonsburg, KY USA

Posted Wed Aug 20, 2014 7:33 AM

Where can I get one of these? Also, who sales the RC Aerochopper for the ST?

 

If you can catch one on Ebay, other than that...(I'm talking about both, btw).

 

Here you can see the robokit in action on an ST. Dal (Darren) is using it,

he posted a good message thread on it over at Atari Forum:

 

 

http://www.atari-for...hp?f=16&t=24741

 

and check out Dal's dedicated site:

 

http://www.robokit.info/

 

HTHs.  :)



#25 AtariGeezer OFFLINE  

AtariGeezer

    River Patroller

  • 2,249 posts
  • Location:Santee, CA

Posted Wed Aug 20, 2014 8:57 PM

I too have ComputerEyes and SpectreGCR,  plus  Fast Basic,  DeskCart!  ReplayST and some other one...






0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users