Jump to content

Photo

'Super Pac-Man' TV Games Pictures


47 replies to this topic

#1 PacManPlus OFFLINE  

PacManPlus

    River Patroller

  • 4,961 posts
  • Atari 7800 & NES Developer
  • Location:Florida

Posted Fri May 12, 2006 8:22 PM

Hi all:

Just picked this up a little while ago - cool! It's the first retail 'home' version of Pac-Man Plus I've seen...

Will be trying it shortly..

Bob

Attached Thumbnails

  • DSCN0195.JPG
  • DSCN0196.JPG
  • DSCN0197.JPG


#2 jboypacman OFFLINE  

jboypacman

    Quadrunner

  • 5,202 posts
  • Location:saginaw,michigan

Posted Fri May 12, 2006 8:29 PM

sweet i got to get this soon

#3 Atari Dogs OFFLINE  

Atari Dogs

    Stargunner

  • 1,673 posts
  • Location:ohio

Posted Fri May 12, 2006 9:58 PM

What store did you get it at?

#4 NE146 OFFLINE  

NE146

    Dumbass Atari Fan

  • 16,060 posts
  • Location:Seattle, WA

Posted Fri May 12, 2006 10:17 PM

ok.. I dig it. I am definitely getting one of those.

#5 PacManPlus OFFLINE  

PacManPlus

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 4,961 posts
  • Atari 7800 & NES Developer
  • Location:Florida

Posted Fri May 12, 2006 10:23 PM

I got it at target. And now that I've played it I'm not crazy about it. The monsters' personalities in Pac Man and Plus still aren't right. This is definately *not* emulation.

Super and Pal seem a little better.

#6 SteveW OFFLINE  

SteveW

    Quadrunner

  • 6,240 posts
  • Location:Grand Prairie, TX

Posted Fri May 12, 2006 10:24 PM

Pac-N-Pal? I don't recall ever playing that one. Nice! I've got to locate one of these soon!

#7 Atariboy OFFLINE  

Atariboy

    Quadrunner

  • 7,805 posts
  • River Raider
  • Location:North Country

Posted Fri May 12, 2006 10:39 PM

Wish there was a place online to buy them.

#8 jboypacman OFFLINE  

jboypacman

    Quadrunner

  • 5,202 posts
  • Location:saginaw,michigan

Posted Fri May 12, 2006 10:40 PM

how much was it at target?i saw it at toys r us for $25 but i was going to hold off getting it if i can get it cheaper else where.

#9 PacManPlus OFFLINE  

PacManPlus

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 4,961 posts
  • Atari 7800 & NES Developer
  • Location:Florida

Posted Fri May 12, 2006 10:46 PM

It was about $20 at Target, and the funny thing is the receipt reads, "Atari PacMan"! 25 years later and people *still* associate Atari with Pac-Man even though this is a Namco product... :-/
  • Lynxpro likes this

#10 Jess Ragan OFFLINE  

Jess Ragan

    Phanto of the Opera

  • 10,236 posts
  • Keys and Thank You
  • Location:The Arid Zone

Posted Fri May 12, 2006 11:03 PM

Why didn't I know about this!? Exciting New Pac-Man Plus on a TV Games unit? Wow, I never thought I'd see the day. I thought that was tied up in licensing issues, along with Jr. Pac-Man and that crappy Baby Pac-Man pinball game.

JR

#11 jboypacman OFFLINE  

jboypacman

    Quadrunner

  • 5,202 posts
  • Location:saginaw,michigan

Posted Sat May 13, 2006 6:34 PM

hope someone gives us a full report on this one am really interested in this one but i want to know how the conversion of this game faired on to the plug-n-play.

#12 Vic George 2K3 OFFLINE  

Vic George 2K3

    Quadrunner

  • 5,598 posts
  • I was corn this way.
  • Location:Westfield, MA, USA

Posted Thu May 18, 2006 2:02 PM

Hope to get this one locally, if not by eBay or Amazon.com.

#13 sidcrowe OFFLINE  

sidcrowe

    Dragonstomper

  • 549 posts
  • Oui, I love zee Grames

Posted Thu May 18, 2006 7:49 PM

PMP: So, it's original, super, PnP and Plus.

Which ones are emulated? Which ones are simply approximations?

Good? Bad?

#14 NE146 OFFLINE  

NE146

    Dumbass Atari Fan

  • 16,060 posts
  • Location:Seattle, WA

Posted Thu May 18, 2006 8:15 PM

I'd rather have approximations actually. Seriously! It mixes it up a bit. You can get emu'd versions anytime :) But I mean.. it has to at least look and sound accurate. I like the ghost behavior to not be arcade accurate though.

#15 PacManPlus OFFLINE  

PacManPlus

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 4,961 posts
  • Atari 7800 & NES Developer
  • Location:Florida

Posted Thu May 18, 2006 8:29 PM

Hey Guys:

With Pac-Man and Pac Plus, the monsters' behavior is *definately* different from the arcade. Clyde (for instance) chases you much more actively than in the arcade.

Also, (I know this is a nitpick) the 'sprite priorities' are wrong... the Monsters are supposed to overlap Pac-Man when in close proximity... instead Pac-Man shows on top of the monsters! It just doesn't look correct... Now in Super PacMan and PAc & Pal this is ok, because for some reason it's like that in the arcade. But not for PacMAn and Plus.

Super Pac and 'Pac & PAl' are somewhat closer to the arcade than the other two.

Either Way, I'm still kind of glad I picked this up :)

Edited by PacManPlus, Fri May 19, 2006 4:15 AM.


#16 jferio OFFLINE  

jferio

    Dragonstomper

  • 604 posts
  • I mash buttons randomly.
  • Location:Denver, Colorado

Posted Thu May 18, 2006 9:59 PM

Well, it's nice that we have a way to get Super PacMan without having to hit ePay for the old Namco Museum Volume 2 for Playstation. Hell, the fact that Super PacMan is available again in general is reason to celebrate, even if it's not quite right.

#17 sidcrowe OFFLINE  

sidcrowe

    Dragonstomper

  • 549 posts
  • Oui, I love zee Grames

Posted Fri May 19, 2006 3:11 AM

Erg...they never get it quite perfect. For 20 bones it's okay, though.

(grumble) still not perfect...

#18 jboypacman OFFLINE  

jboypacman

    Quadrunner

  • 5,202 posts
  • Location:saginaw,michigan

Posted Fri May 19, 2006 7:14 AM

awesome thanks for the info now i will have to pick it up.

#19 sidcrowe OFFLINE  

sidcrowe

    Dragonstomper

  • 549 posts
  • Oui, I love zee Grames

Posted Fri May 19, 2006 10:01 PM

Gimme a shot outta the box....please.

#20 onmode-ky OFFLINE  

onmode-ky

    Dragonstomper

  • 836 posts

Posted Fri May 19, 2006 10:35 PM

BestBuy.com has this image:
Posted Image

However, this is not exactly the same unit as what PacManPlus has in his images. The most obvious difference is the second button in Best Buy's image. Also, in Best Buy's, there is a black circle on the base at its upper right hand corner; this is the "GameKey Ready" seal that's on some of Jakks' newer units. Lastly, note that the upper right area of the unit in this image protrudes slightly. I believe that is a GameKey slot. I am guessing that this means Jakks is doing with the Super Pac-Man unit the same thing they did a couple of months ago with their Justice League unit: first release a non-GameKey version, then release a GameKey-capable version with an extra button. So, this might be the one to hold out for, rather than going out and buying the Super Pac-Man TV Game which Toys 'R Us and Target have right now. I'm not going to return the one I bought a week ago, but I'm not opening it yet, either, just in case a GameKey version does come out in a month or so.

For the record, no plug-and-play unit uses emulation. The word "emulation" means that non-native code is running on the hardware through a software interpretation layer. This is not cost-effective for a consumer product, as you'd have to have faster (i.e., pricier) hardware to make up for the interpretation latency. I'd guess something on the scale of a Pentium to fully emulate all the original arcade hardware at the proper speed. It wouldn't cost $20 anymore. Instead, these are all ported to this platform. Jakks contracts with mostly GBA developers to make their TV Games (in the case of this one, it's British developer HotGen, which has done the previous Namco TV Games, as well as some other TV Games).

onmode-ky

#21 PacManPlus OFFLINE  

PacManPlus

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 4,961 posts
  • Atari 7800 & NES Developer
  • Location:Florida

Posted Sat May 20, 2006 7:51 AM

Sorry for the delay, sidcrowe - just came back to this thread.

That's odd - mine does not have the gamekey port on it. (Maybe that picture is a mock up)

Here's mine:

Attached Thumbnails

  • DSCN0205.JPG
  • DSCN0206.JPG


#22 jboypacman OFFLINE  

jboypacman

    Quadrunner

  • 5,202 posts
  • Location:saginaw,michigan

Posted Sat May 20, 2006 7:58 AM

ok the wife was at target yesterday and when she got home she had pick me up this plug n play unit i was thrilled.she said it was $19.98 or something close to that so its afew dollers cheaper than what it was at toys r us which is cool.i have enjoyed this plug n play so far and i thought it was great it keeps your high score.i havnt played super pac-man or pac-man plus in years and i have never played pac-pal so that was a treat.get this if your a pac-fan you will love it.

#23 jboypacman OFFLINE  

jboypacman

    Quadrunner

  • 5,202 posts
  • Location:saginaw,michigan

Posted Sat May 20, 2006 7:59 AM

ok the wife was at target yesterday and when she got home she had pick me up this plug n play unit i was thrilled.she said it was $19.98 or something close to that so its afew dollers cheaper than what it was at toys r us which is cool.i have enjoyed this plug n play so far and i thought it was great it keeps your high score.i havnt played super pac-man or pac-man plus in years and i have never played pac-pal so that was a treat.get this if your a pac-fan you will love it.

#24 sidcrowe OFFLINE  

sidcrowe

    Dragonstomper

  • 549 posts
  • Oui, I love zee Grames

Posted Sat May 20, 2006 11:20 AM

PMP: Thanks. Even though the games are not perfect, it's a nice unit for the stick ALONE!

#25 onmode-ky OFFLINE  

onmode-ky

    Dragonstomper

  • 836 posts

Posted Sat May 20, 2006 4:11 PM

PacManPlus wrote:

That's odd - mine does not have the gamekey port on it. (Maybe that picture is a mock up)


While the picture may be a mockup, I think you misunderstood what I was saying. Going by my theory, it's not odd at all that your stick does not have the GameKey port. Yours and the one I have may both be the first-wave release, without the port, and there may be a later release of the stick that does have the port (and extra button). This would not be the first time Jakks has done this. There's the Star Wars one, which was first released as a no-port Vader model and was released shortly thereafter with the port. More recently, the Justice League model came out first with no GameKey port, and then a few weeks or so later, it was out again with the port and a third button.

I'm going to wait a few weeks to see if a GameKey-enabled model of Super Pac-Man comes out. If not, then I'll open the (no-port) model that I have sitting in my living room. After all, Toys 'R Us policy says I have until the end of June before I can't return it anymore.

onmode-ky




0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users