IGNORED

Changing The Kernel/Inline ASM

MausBoy

This is a request thread for some random things I've been wanting to do in bB games, that can't be done without making changes to the kernel or using asm.

The first thing I've been trying to do is alter the background (not the playfield) to be two colors, alternating every other line. Is it possible? I'm studying the asm tutorials I've found and I don't really know where to start. Thanks in advance for any replies, I really appreciate help with this.

This is a request thread for some random things I've been wanting to do in bB games, that can't be done without making changes to the kernel or using asm.

The first thing I've been trying to do is alter the background (not the playfield) to be two colors, alternating every other line. Is it possible? I'm studying the asm tutorials I've found and I don't really know where to start. Thanks in advance for any replies, I really appreciate help with this.

There are (at least) two ways you could do this in bB.

One way is to create your own kernel using inline assembly, without changing bB's "canned kernel"-- i.e., your custom kernel wouldn't replace the existing kernel, it would be a second kernel within the code. An advantage to doing this would be that the standard kernel would still be intact and available for use whenever you wanted to call it (using "drawscreen"). But some disadvantages are that the standard kernel would still be there taking up ROM space, so it would eat up more ROM to have a second kernel in the game; and also, your custom kernel might not have all of the features of the standard kernel, meaning there might be some things you wouldn't be able to use when calling your custom kernel.