Jump to content

Photo

2600 Defender Arcade - Pretty Much Complete!


236 replies to this topic

#26 Pac Munchkin OFFLINE  

Pac Munchkin

    Moonsweeper

  • 329 posts

Posted Wed Jul 26, 2006 1:23 AM

Ahhhhhhh :-( I am missing it for some reason I get a screen that says Defender arcade then the scaner and one person at the bottom, no mountains no enemies and no defender ship. as I press the button I can hear it shooting and see it on the scaner but nowhere else. :-(

Maybe it is something to do with Stella X?

As Zach said, you need to hit 'tab', click on 'Game Properties', then change the 'Type' dropdown to "F8SC". Click 'Ok', restart the game, and you should be fine.


Thank you very much, but since I am using an old version of Stella X because the new version runs way too slow on my computer, I don't understand that Pentium III 902 HMz and 384MB ram on this laptop. oh well maybe it uses a lot of memory my memory is very taxed most of the time, when I am on here (the net) I am runing at 100% memory usage.

I guess I'll use Z26 I may even switch to Z26 but if I do I will be changing the colors of my hacks to look good on Z26, they look lousy on Z26 compared to on Stella where they are beautiful hacks!

Thanks for the help again
Wade

#27 Lord Helmet OFFLINE  

Lord Helmet

    Don't forget your helmet!

  • 9,978 posts
  • Location:Denver, CO.

Posted Wed Jul 26, 2006 8:22 AM

Another observation...the lines that appear underneath the humanoids...could the color be changed to black, making them invisible?

#28 PacManPlus OFFLINE  

PacManPlus

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 4,610 posts
  • Atari 7800 & NES Developer
  • Location:Florida

Posted Wed Jul 26, 2006 10:39 AM

Cool Idea Dude!

I'll try and check that out... and while I'm doing that I'll see how your 'ship shape' looks :)

I have a funny feeling though, those lines are white for a reason... But I'll try and look.

Bob

Edited by PacManPlus, Wed Jul 26, 2006 10:39 AM.


#29 Pac Munchkin OFFLINE  

Pac Munchkin

    Moonsweeper

  • 329 posts

Posted Thu Jul 27, 2006 2:05 AM

Cool Idea Dude!

I'll try and check that out... and while I'm doing that I'll see how your 'ship shape' looks :)

I have a funny feeling though, those lines are white for a reason... But I'll try and look.

Bob



I liked your hack very much but I changed my copy to the a ship that looks more like the arcade defender also the reserves.

I'll try to copy here what I have in bit hacker if you would like to use it.

oxoooooo
xxxooooo
xxxxooox
xxxxxxxx
xxxxxxxx
oxxxoooo

For the reserves I just shortened the ship one pixal.

oxoooooo
xxxooooo
xxxxooxo
xxxxxxxo
xxxxxxxo
oxxxoooo

This looks very much like the arcade ship I think, I wonder if it could be white though?

I just wanted to show you what I did to mine, this is your hack so you may have other ideas even better yet. :D

Wade

#30 PacManPlus OFFLINE  

PacManPlus

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 4,610 posts
  • Atari 7800 & NES Developer
  • Location:Florida

Posted Thu Jul 27, 2006 6:46 AM

Hello:

Made some more changes:

Removed the 'line' under the humanoids (as per Lord Helmet) :) - it was part of the graphic!

Made the score font look like the arcade, with th exception of the number '1'; it shares a line with the number '7' so I had to change it.

I have made a new ship that (hopefully) looks more like the arcade as a combination of Lord Helmet's, Wade's, and my own design.

Binary to be posted later on tonight. (I want to look more for that flashing Stargate dot in the scanner... It's annoying me!) :roll:

Bob

Edited by PacManPlus, Thu Jul 27, 2006 6:47 AM.


#31 PacManPlus OFFLINE  

PacManPlus

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 4,610 posts
  • Atari 7800 & NES Developer
  • Location:Florida

Posted Thu Jul 27, 2006 4:59 PM

Ok , here's the updated bin. Still can't figure out that flashing dot in the scanner for the Stargate. Could really use some guidance or at least an explanation of how they do it. :(

I changed my mind obout the '1' (see above post). I kept the '1' so just now the '7' look a little funny.

Hope you guys like the ship shape. :)

Bob

Attached Files



#32 remowilliams OFFLINE  

remowilliams

    Quadrunner

  • 10,098 posts
  • Location:Detonation Boulevard

Posted Thu Jul 27, 2006 5:32 PM

Hope you guys like the ship shape. :)

Lookin' good on real hardware :)

That '7' number does look a bit odd. Humanoids are much better off without those lines, and the ship looks great :cool:

#33 Jerky OFFLINE  

Jerky

    Space Invader

  • 39 posts
  • Location:Land O' Lakes, FL

Posted Thu Jul 27, 2006 6:52 PM

You're doing a fantastic job on this hack!

Changing the numbers to the original format was beautiful!

Was there a problem with making the ship white?

#34 supercat OFFLINE  

supercat

    Quadrunner

  • 6,401 posts

Posted Thu Jul 27, 2006 7:17 PM

Was there a problem with making the ship white?


The ship has to be the same color as one "slope" of the landscape; player shots have to be the same color as the other "slope". Background stars are the same colors as well.

Making the ship white would change the slopes to white as well. This might make them "overpowering", though they could be softened up a bit by adjusting the data table at $1E00. Bits 4-5 of each entry give the NUSIZx/CTRLPF values for each scan line. So changing those bits from "10" to "01" would make the planet less pronounced.

#35 PacManPlus OFFLINE  

PacManPlus

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 4,610 posts
  • Atari 7800 & NES Developer
  • Location:Florida

Posted Thu Jul 27, 2006 7:27 PM

Lookin' good on real hardware :)
Humanoids are much better off without those lines, and the ship looks great :cool:


You're doing a fantastic job on this hack!
Changing the numbers to the original format was beautiful!

Thanks guys :)

Was there a problem with making the ship white?

Unfortunately yes, Making the ship white also makes the mountains white (they share the same color)

Bob

EDIT: Oops, didn't see supercat's post above mine until I posted... :P Hopefully Supercat can give me some pointers about the Stargate showing up in the scanner :D

Edited by PacManPlus, Thu Jul 27, 2006 7:30 PM.


#36 supercat OFFLINE  

supercat

    Quadrunner

  • 6,401 posts

Posted Thu Jul 27, 2006 7:59 PM

Ok , here's the updated bin. Still can't figure out that flashing dot in the scanner for the Stargate. Could really use some guidance or at least an explanation of how they do it. :(


The scanner is implemented using a small hires graphics buffer at Superchip addresses $F0CF-$F0F8 (six columns at seven bytes each). Dots are drawn into this area by code at $D8D0. This code seems to be reading off an object list. The Stargate seems to be object #15.

#37 supercat OFFLINE  

supercat

    Quadrunner

  • 6,401 posts

Posted Thu Jul 27, 2006 8:04 PM

Unfortunately yes, Making the ship white also makes the mountains white (they share the same color)


Have you tried making the mountains' appearance more 'subdued' as I described?

#38 supercat OFFLINE  

supercat

    Quadrunner

  • 6,401 posts

Posted Thu Jul 27, 2006 8:19 PM

EDIT: Oops, didn't see supercat's post above mine until I posted... :P Hopefully Supercat can give me some pointers about the Stargate showing up in the scanner :D


Change $886 from $0F to $0E.

#39 Atariboy2600 OFFLINE  

Atariboy2600

    Stargunner

  • 1,946 posts

Posted Thu Jul 27, 2006 11:00 PM

Lookin' good on real hardware :)
Humanoids are much better off without those lines, and the ship looks great :cool:


You're doing a fantastic job on this hack!
Changing the numbers to the original format was beautiful!

Thanks guys :)

Was there a problem with making the ship white?

Unfortunately yes, Making the ship white also makes the mountains white (they share the same color)

Bob

EDIT: Oops, didn't see supercat's post above mine until I posted... :P Hopefully Supercat can give me some pointers about the Stargate showing up in the scanner :D


Damn if only I can make this z26 emulator work on this linux but I cant and I have not play any emulators for over a year. I had to wait till I get my Xbox modded to play any of these hack and homebrew games. :x

#40 supercat OFFLINE  

supercat

    Quadrunner

  • 6,401 posts

Posted Thu Jul 27, 2006 11:28 PM

The scanner is implemented using a small hires graphics buffer at Superchip addresses $F0CF-$F0F8 (six columns at seven bytes each). Dots are drawn into this area by code at $D8D0. This code seems to be reading off an object list. The Stargate seems to be object #15.


The resolution of the scanner may be doubled, btw, by the following edits:

08AE: Turn $4A into $EA (Turn LSR into NOP)
08B1: Turn $EA into $0A (Turn "LDA $DCEA,Y" into "LDA $DD0A,Y")
08B2: Turn $DC into $DD
08B6: Turn $EE into $0A (Turn "LDA $DCEE,Y" into "LDA $DD0A,Y")
08B7: Turn $DC into $DD

Aesthetically, I'm not sure this is an improvement. It makes more noticeable the fact that the scanner is updated rather sluggishly, and it also makes it harder to distinguish the humanoids. Given a decent hackable .asm of the game, I might like to redo the scanner code. At present, on each frame the code erases one of six "columns" on the scanner, draws the humanoid (if any), and then draws the monsters/Stargate (since the Stargate seems to always be object #15, changing the code to only draw objects #0-#14 eliminates it).

My preferred change to the code (possibly pushing things into another bank) would be to clear the scanner on every frame, set the scanner color to green on even frames and pink on odd frames, and then draw humanoids on odd frames, landers on even frames, and mutants on both. Other enemies should be drawn at more "interesting" intervals to create a flashing pattern.

#41 Paranoid OFFLINE  

Paranoid

    River Patroller

  • 3,872 posts
  • Ahora Che es la comida para los gusanos

Posted Thu Jul 27, 2006 11:33 PM

So, when you're not making killer joystick mods, you code homebrew games?

Heh... I am Jack's green envy.

#42 supercat OFFLINE  

supercat

    Quadrunner

  • 6,401 posts

Posted Fri Jul 28, 2006 1:08 AM

My preferred change to the code (possibly pushing things into another bank) would be to clear the scanner on every frame, set the scanner color to green on even frames and pink on odd frames, and then draw humanoids on odd frames, landers on even frames, and mutants on both. Other enemies should be drawn at more "interesting" intervals to create a flashing pattern.


Here's my attempt at a scanner hack. I expanded the game to 16K, though it was rather a kludge since the existing games pretty much filled both banks. There would probably have been a better way to deal with the problem of the hotspot at $1FF6, but using the $F6 bank just to hold a few silly jump instructions seems to work even if it's nasty-looking.

Unfortunately, my code doesn't see the monsters at $F0A2,x. Not sure why.

Attached Files



#43 Pac Munchkin OFFLINE  

Pac Munchkin

    Moonsweeper

  • 329 posts

Posted Fri Jul 28, 2006 3:56 AM

Ok , here's the updated bin. Still can't figure out that flashing dot in the scanner for the Stargate. Could really use some guidance or at least an explanation of how they do it. :(

I changed my mind obout the '1' (see above post). I kept the '1' so just now the '7' look a little funny.

Hope you guys like the ship shape. :)

Bob


Execllent work!!!

Yes your ship is better than the one I came up with, and the people do look much better not standing on platforms like they are waiting for the bad guys to pick them up! lol

Wade

#44 Lord Helmet OFFLINE  

Lord Helmet

    Don't forget your helmet!

  • 9,978 posts
  • Location:Denver, CO.

Posted Fri Jul 28, 2006 7:58 AM

another observation...

In Defender, the mountains are more of an orangeish red than true red. Changing the color might further distinguish this game from Stargate.

Looking good guys...I'm brainstorming ways tom make it even better. I love Defender!!!

#45 PacManPlus OFFLINE  

PacManPlus

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 4,610 posts
  • Atari 7800 & NES Developer
  • Location:Florida

Posted Fri Jul 28, 2006 12:39 PM

WOW!

You guys have been busy since I went to bed last night. :)

OK. Hopefully final update (I know how I am, though - that '7' is going to bug me until I figure out a way to fix it) :-/

1) Planet surface made less pronounced as per Supercat (thanks!) :)
2) Planet surface (and therefore the ship) has been given more of an 'Orange' color - as per Lord Helmet (thanks!) :)
3) Thanks to Supercat and JohnnyWC, the Stargate blip on the scanner is now gone! :D

Enjoy!

Attached Files



#46 remowilliams OFFLINE  

remowilliams

    Quadrunner

  • 10,098 posts
  • Location:Detonation Boulevard

Posted Fri Jul 28, 2006 1:18 PM

Have you tried it on real hardware? The ship/landscape color looks waaaay to dark here.

#47 Vic George 2K3 OFFLINE  

Vic George 2K3

    Quadrunner

  • 5,598 posts
  • I was corn this way.
  • Location:Westfield, MA, USA

Posted Fri Jul 28, 2006 1:26 PM

The 7 in the digital score display is a bit messed up.

#48 PacManPlus OFFLINE  

PacManPlus

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 4,610 posts
  • Atari 7800 & NES Developer
  • Location:Florida

Posted Fri Jul 28, 2006 2:38 PM

I figured out how to fix the '7'! :D

I also made the ship lighter in color - let me know if this is ok.

Attached Files



#49 PacManPlus OFFLINE  

PacManPlus

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 4,610 posts
  • Atari 7800 & NES Developer
  • Location:Florida

Posted Fri Jul 28, 2006 2:43 PM

So, when you're not making killer joystick mods, you code homebrew games?

Heh... I am Jack's green envy.


Thanks, man :)

You know the saying 'Jack of all trades, master of none'? That's pretty much me. I'm good up to a certain point, then that's it. :-/

#50 remowilliams OFFLINE  

remowilliams

    Quadrunner

  • 10,098 posts
  • Location:Detonation Boulevard

Posted Fri Jul 28, 2006 2:49 PM

Yeah, color is much better. And the seven looks good ;)

It's looking like justice is finally done to the name Defender on the 2600 :cool:




0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users