Jump to content

Photo

Atari 2600 GUI


155 replies to this topic

#1 Dragnerok X OFFLINE  

Dragnerok X

    Dragonstomper

  • 741 posts
  • Location:Bend, Oregon U.S.A.

Posted Thu Aug 3, 2006 10:17 AM

Here it is, one of the first and probably one of the only GUI's for the atari 2600. It is one of my first sucessful atari games/programs and I thought I'd like give it a little more exposure from the '2600 programming forum. Any comments, questions and suggestions would be appreciated. :)

Attached File  Atari_OS_version_1.0.bin   4KB   1072 downloads

Edited by Dragnerok X, Thu Aug 3, 2006 9:20 PM.


#2 Paul Slocum OFFLINE  

Paul Slocum

    Stargunner

  • 1,640 posts
  • Location:Pasadena, CA

Posted Mon Aug 28, 2006 4:42 PM

awesome. I made a demo video on youtube.

Edited by Paul Slocum, Mon Aug 28, 2006 4:43 PM.


#3 pmpddytim OFFLINE  

pmpddytim

    River Patroller

  • 2,260 posts
  • Location:Oklahoma

Posted Tue Aug 29, 2006 7:38 PM

Are you planning to add any other programs?

-Tim

#4 Dragnerok X OFFLINE  

Dragnerok X

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 741 posts
  • Location:Bend, Oregon U.S.A.

Posted Tue Aug 29, 2006 8:04 PM

Are you planning to add any other programs?

-Tim


Hmm.....maybe :) . If not there is a dev-kit (a little outdated), source code and what-not here. Right now I'm a liitle too busy making a cart of this (ironically) to add anything, but maybe I might do some updating. My original goal with this was to do what atari failed to-do (i.e. the graduate) so making this better would be totally fine with me!!! Maybe one day we might be able to *gasp* access AA with the '2600 herself! (though that might be pushing it)

--Dragnerok X

#5 Room 34 OFFLINE  

Room 34

    Quadrunner

  • 8,280 posts
  • room34.com
  • Location:Tha 612

Posted Tue Aug 29, 2006 8:27 PM

Heh, that's pretty cool. Thanks Paul for the YouTube link. I always wish homebrewers would put screenshots up instead of just the .bin. Come on guys, entice me!

:)

I may have to DL the .bin now and give this thing a try!

#6 Dragnerok X OFFLINE  

Dragnerok X

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 741 posts
  • Location:Bend, Oregon U.S.A.

Posted Tue Aug 29, 2006 8:41 PM

....I always wish homebrewers would put screenshots up instead of just the .bin. Come on guys, entice me!.....


Well I don't want to give this all away, but here is a screenshot.

Atari_OS_version_1_1_.0.bin.png

#7 Dragnerok X OFFLINE  

Dragnerok X

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 741 posts
  • Location:Bend, Oregon U.S.A.

Posted Wed Aug 30, 2006 5:46 PM

Are you planning to add any other programs?

-Tim


Hmm.....maybe :) . If not there is a dev-kit (a little outdated), source code and what-not here. Right now I'm a liitle too busy making a cart of this (ironically) to add anything, but maybe I might do some updating. My original goal with this was to do what atari failed to-do (i.e. the graduate) so making this better would be totally fine with me!!! Maybe one day we might be able to *gasp* access AA with the '2600 herself! (though that might be pushing it)

--Dragnerok X


What am I thinking!!! :o :o :o I should update this first before I make a cartridge of it. Well then, does anyone have any ideas on what I could do to improve this?

#8 Dragnerok X OFFLINE  

Dragnerok X

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 741 posts
  • Location:Bend, Oregon U.S.A.

Posted Thu Aug 31, 2006 10:15 AM

...does anyone have any ideas on what I could do to improve this?


...anyone? :ponder:

#9 vdub_bobby OFFLINE  

vdub_bobby

    Quadrunner

  • 5,832 posts
  • Boom bam.
  • Location:Seattle, WA

Posted Thu Aug 31, 2006 10:50 AM

Add more programs, more icons. Add a blue screen of death. :evil: Add a shutdown routine.

#10 128bytes OFFLINE  

128bytes

    River Patroller

  • 3,124 posts
  • Debaser
  • Location:your worst nightmare

Posted Thu Aug 31, 2006 11:01 AM

Great job on the GUI.


My idea is that you can make an Adventure-type game, with the hero (the square cursor of course) wandering around the GUI looking for bugs. Literally, crawling insects. If you can capture 3 bugs and bring them back to the home screen and put them into the "trash" bin in the GUI, you win!

#11 Bucket OFFLINE  

Bucket

    Chopper Commander

  • 178 posts
  • Location:PA, USA

Posted Thu Aug 31, 2006 11:24 AM

Some ideas off the top of my head:

- screen saver
- support for other peripherals (number pad especially)
- window dragging
- text
- make-your-own pong game!
- paint program

This looks awesome, by the way. Reminds me of the cool 2600 stuff I used to see, like that webserver.

#12 Dragnerok X OFFLINE  

Dragnerok X

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 741 posts
  • Location:Bend, Oregon U.S.A.

Posted Thu Aug 31, 2006 11:26 AM

Add more programs, more icons.


THAT I can do. However, I would have to make a small sacrifice for it. The icons would have to all look the same (have the same sprite), because i'm in sprite shortage right now and what I would have to do would be to make copies of the player and let my software (yay! :) ) collision detection do the rest. Here's about what it would look like.

Atari_OS_version_1_1_.0.bin.png

The only problem with this setup would be the user would have to memorize the icon's contents.

BTW: I still haven't utilized the "ball" object, so if anyone has any ideas on what to do with that, tell me!

Edited by Dragnerok X, Thu Aug 31, 2006 11:29 AM.


#13 Dragnerok X OFFLINE  

Dragnerok X

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 741 posts
  • Location:Bend, Oregon U.S.A.

Posted Thu Aug 31, 2006 11:39 AM

- screen saver


Maybe, I tryed that once before and it probably would be realistic.

- support for other peripherals (number pad especially)


Sorry, it doesn't look like I could add it with my existing setup.

- window dragging


That too.

- text


maybe, in it's own program.

- make-your-own pong game!


;)

- paint program


Sure, why not?

This looks awesome, by the way. Reminds me of the cool 2600 stuff I used to see, like that webserver.


Thanks, I've been working on this quite some time now (months, actually) and my perfectionistic attitude has helped contribute to it's "look".

#14 Dragnerok X OFFLINE  

Dragnerok X

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 741 posts
  • Location:Bend, Oregon U.S.A.

Posted Thu Aug 31, 2006 11:54 AM

Add more programs, more icons.


THAT I can do. However, I would have to make a small sacrifice for it. The icons would have to all look the same (have the same sprite), because i'm in sprite shortage right now and what I would have to do would be to make copies of the player and let my software (yay! :) ) collision detection do the rest. Here's about what it would look like.

Atari_OS_version_1_1_.0.bin.png

The only problem with this setup would be the user would have to memorize the icon's contents.

BTW: I still haven't utilized the "ball" object, so if anyone has any ideas on what to do with that, tell me!


Scratch that. I just tried it out and guess what happened....

Atari_OS_version_1_1_.0.bin.png

....kind of funny actually. :)

So right now, as it seems, I only have room to add non-program based additions (i.e. additions to the GUI: screensavers, tweaks, etc.)

Edited by Dragnerok X, Thu Aug 31, 2006 12:00 PM.


#15 vdub_bobby OFFLINE  

vdub_bobby

    Quadrunner

  • 5,832 posts
  • Boom bam.
  • Location:Seattle, WA

Posted Thu Aug 31, 2006 3:43 PM

Scratch that. I just tried it out and guess what happened....

Atari_OS_version_1_1_.0.bin.png

....kind of funny actually. :)

So right now, as it seems, I only have room to add non-program based additions (i.e. additions to the GUI: screensavers, tweaks, etc.)

Make them vertical instead of horizontal. ;)

#16 Dragnerok X OFFLINE  

Dragnerok X

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 741 posts
  • Location:Bend, Oregon U.S.A.

Posted Thu Aug 31, 2006 4:52 PM

Make them vertical instead of horizontal. ;)


...as in...I'm sorry, this may be a bit late, but I am making this with batari basic, so try to think within it's limitations.

Edited by Dragnerok X, Thu Aug 31, 2006 5:29 PM.


#17 supercat OFFLINE  

supercat

    Quadrunner

  • 6,401 posts

Posted Thu Aug 31, 2006 6:10 PM

...as in...I'm sorry, this may be a bit late, but I am making this with batari basic, so try to think within it's limitations.


BB allows sprites to be nearly unlimitted in height. So make one sprite picture which contains several icons, stacked.

#18 Dragnerok X OFFLINE  

Dragnerok X

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 741 posts
  • Location:Bend, Oregon U.S.A.

Posted Thu Aug 31, 2006 7:26 PM

BB allows sprites to be nearly unlimitted in height. So make one sprite picture which contains several icons, stacked.


Do you mean like this.... :ponder:

Attached File  Atari_OS_83106.bin   4KB   532 downloads

Edited by Dragnerok X, Thu Aug 31, 2006 7:26 PM.


#19 atari2600land OFFLINE  

atari2600land

    Channel F Viewer

  • 11,614 posts
  • Location:Salem, Oregon

Posted Fri Sep 1, 2006 4:16 PM

Finally, Pong with bBasic!

#20 Dragnerok X OFFLINE  

Dragnerok X

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 741 posts
  • Location:Bend, Oregon U.S.A.

Posted Fri Sep 1, 2006 4:18 PM

Finally, Pong with bBasic!


;)

#21 Dragnerok X OFFLINE  

Dragnerok X

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 741 posts
  • Location:Bend, Oregon U.S.A.

Posted Fri Sep 1, 2006 4:24 PM

So...is there anything else GUI-wise that anyone would like to see me add because I want to make it as perfect as possible before moving on to programs and such.

#22 vdub_bobby OFFLINE  

vdub_bobby

    Quadrunner

  • 5,832 posts
  • Boom bam.
  • Location:Seattle, WA

Posted Fri Sep 1, 2006 4:33 PM

BB allows sprites to be nearly unlimitted in height. So make one sprite picture which contains several icons, stacked.


Do you mean like this.... :ponder:

Attached File  Atari_OS_83106.bin   4KB   532 downloads

Yep. ;)

You'll have to do some checking to figure out which icon was clicked, but that isn't too hard.

#23 jbanes OFFLINE  

jbanes

    River Patroller

  • 3,080 posts
  • Coming soon to a natural satellite near you...

Posted Fri Sep 1, 2006 4:36 PM

So...is there anything else GUI-wise that anyone would like to see me add because I want to make it as perfect as possible before moving on to programs and such.

There's some sort of corruption in the score when it gets over 5. You might want to look into that. While you're at it, perhaps you could add the blank sprite for the number $A so that it doesn't need to be zero filled? :)

#24 Dragnerok X OFFLINE  

Dragnerok X

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 741 posts
  • Location:Bend, Oregon U.S.A.

Posted Fri Sep 1, 2006 4:57 PM

So...is there anything else GUI-wise that anyone would like to see me add because I want to make it as perfect as possible before moving on to programs and such.

There's some sort of corruption in the score when it gets over 5. You might want to look into that. While you're at it, perhaps you could add the blank sprite for the number $A so that it doesn't need to be zero filled? :)


I just fixed that. Now just a quick question before I add the blank sprite. HOW DO I add the blank sprite?

Attached File  Atari_OS_9106.bin   4KB   454 downloads

Edited by Dragnerok X, Fri Sep 1, 2006 4:59 PM.


#25 jbanes OFFLINE  

jbanes

    River Patroller

  • 3,080 posts
  • Coming soon to a natural satellite near you...

Posted Fri Sep 1, 2006 6:29 PM

I just fixed that. Now just a quick question before I add the blank sprite. HOW DO I add the blank sprite?

There's a thread explaning the "extra" characters available here. Generally speaking, you should be able to just plug in the score_graphics.asm file I posted for Deimos Lander. It will reduce your available space by a few bytes, but otherwise it shouldn't have any real effect on your code. You can either look at the Deimos Lander code for an example of how to eliminate numbers (specifically, look at the Level Display) or you can wait until I get a chance to patch your code.

BTW, if you're looking for more programs, might I suggest finishing the calculator? :)




0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users