Jump to content

Photo

Atari 2600 GUI


155 replies to this topic

#51 Dragnerok X OFFLINE  

Dragnerok X

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 741 posts
  • Location:Bend, Oregon U.S.A.

Posted Tue Sep 5, 2006 1:10 PM

Well what is the color/bw switch going to do then?

I don't see why it has to do anything, but if you want to be 7800 compliant, you could use it as a pause for Pong. Make sure you toggle the pause only when then switch is toggled to black and white. Toggling back to color should NOT unpause the game.


.....I guess the switch is not THAT important then. However it sounds like a screensaver is in order!!! Does anyone have any good ideas?

#52 diggs130 OFFLINE  

diggs130

    Stargunner

  • 1,337 posts
  • Location:minnesota

Posted Tue Sep 5, 2006 10:16 PM

yours!

#53 atari2600land ONLINE  

atari2600land

    Channel F Viewer

  • 11,609 posts
  • Location:Salem, Oregon

Posted Tue Sep 5, 2006 10:39 PM

I like the "Flying Windows" screensaver. Why not make a "Flying Atari" screensaver. It'd be like Windows logos flying through space, but replacing Windows logos with Atari logos.

#54 Dragnerok X OFFLINE  

Dragnerok X

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 741 posts
  • Location:Bend, Oregon U.S.A.

Posted Fri Sep 8, 2006 7:29 PM

I'm back and I'd like to say this project isn't abandoned yet! I've just been very busy lately and hope you haven't given up after 3+ days ;) . Oh well. Back to what we were talking about, screensavers!
My original idea is something like this....

There would be a 3d vector-based rotating logo going from...

ex.PNG

....and would fit within a 16 pixel (8x2) sprite.

What do you think?

Edited by Dragnerok X, Fri Sep 8, 2006 7:31 PM.


#55 atari2600land ONLINE  

atari2600land

    Channel F Viewer

  • 11,609 posts
  • Location:Salem, Oregon

Posted Fri Sep 8, 2006 7:55 PM

Cool! I think the background should change color while the Atari logo is spinning. That would be even more cool.

#56 Dragnerok X OFFLINE  

Dragnerok X

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 741 posts
  • Location:Bend, Oregon U.S.A.

Posted Fri Sep 8, 2006 8:39 PM

Cool! I think the background should change color while the Atari logo is spinning. That would be even more cool.


That's a possibility, too. The only problem thus far is I'm not that great of an artist and thus can't transfer my idea onto a 16-pixel sprite. Anyone want to help me out here?

#57 Dragnerok X OFFLINE  

Dragnerok X

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 741 posts
  • Location:Bend, Oregon U.S.A.

Posted Sat Sep 9, 2006 3:31 PM

.....I guess that's a no :( . I guess I better start plunking along on these myself and see how far I get...

Edited by Dragnerok X, Sat Sep 9, 2006 3:32 PM.


#58 atari2600land ONLINE  

atari2600land

    Channel F Viewer

  • 11,609 posts
  • Location:Salem, Oregon

Posted Sat Sep 9, 2006 4:38 PM

How about this? It's 15 pixels wide.

Attached Images

  • atarilogo.GIF


#59 Nathan Strum OFFLINE  

Nathan Strum

    Quadrunner

  • 8,305 posts
  • Enjoying a sandwich
  • Location:Newhall, CA

Posted Sun Sep 10, 2006 2:39 AM

That's a possibility, too. The only problem thus far is I'm not that great of an artist and thus can't transfer my idea onto a 16-pixel sprite. Anyone want to help me out here?


I could maybe help out in a week or two. But right now I'm too swamped.

#60 supercat OFFLINE  

supercat

    Quadrunner

  • 6,401 posts

Posted Sun Sep 10, 2006 12:33 PM

That's a possibility, too. The only problem thus far is I'm not that great of an artist and thus can't transfer my idea onto a 16-pixel sprite. Anyone want to help me out here?


Actually, I think you could go a fair bit wider than 16 pixels if you use one player and missile for the left half of the Fuji, one player and missile for the right half, and the Ball for the middle.

#61 jbanes OFFLINE  

jbanes

    River Patroller

  • 3,080 posts
  • Coming soon to a natural satellite near you...

Posted Sun Sep 10, 2006 12:53 PM

Actually, I think you could go a fair bit wider than 16 pixels if you use one player and missile for the left half of the Fuji, one player and missile for the right half, and the Ball for the middle.

I was thinking the same thing, but Dragnerok X wants a psuedo-vectorish by making the Fuji hollow. While the missiles, ball, and playfield could be used to come up with the center outline, bBASIC just isn't precise enough with the playfield to make it happen.

#62 supercat OFFLINE  

supercat

    Quadrunner

  • 6,401 posts

Posted Sun Sep 10, 2006 1:41 PM

Actually, I think you could go a fair bit wider than 16 pixels if you use one player and missile for the left half of the Fuji, one player and missile for the right half, and the Ball for the middle.

I was thinking the same thing, but Dragnerok X wants a psuedo-vectorish by making the Fuji hollow. While the missiles, ball, and playfield could be used to come up with the center outline, bBASIC just isn't precise enough with the playfield to make it happen.


Set playfield color to black. Use one player for the left half of the Fuji; the other for the right half. Use a one or both missiles for the center of the Fuji, but block out the middle portion using the Ball (CTRLPF should be set appropriately).

#63 Dragnerok X OFFLINE  

Dragnerok X

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 741 posts
  • Location:Bend, Oregon U.S.A.

Posted Sun Sep 10, 2006 1:47 PM

Well, I'm back again, and I guess I'm a bit better artist than I thought.....

atari_3d.PNG

...what do you think? I'm not sure how easily I'll be able to sqeeze this into 600k but, hey!

BTW: I'm only using a max of 15 pixels a time and it's working out fine.

Edited by Dragnerok X, Sun Sep 10, 2006 1:48 PM.


#64 Dragnerok X OFFLINE  

Dragnerok X

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 741 posts
  • Location:Bend, Oregon U.S.A.

Posted Sun Sep 10, 2006 7:04 PM

Updated it a little more....Just about perfect now.
Sorry it's kind of hard to see. I'm doing pixel-by-pixel drawing.

atari_3d_v2.PNG

Any opinions yet?

#65 SeaGtGruff OFFLINE  

SeaGtGruff

    Quadrunner

  • 5,566 posts
  • Location:South Carolina, USA

Posted Sun Sep 10, 2006 7:21 PM

Updated it a little more....Just about perfect now.
Sorry it's kind of hard to see. I'm doing pixel-by-pixel drawing.

atari_3d_v2.PNG

Any opinions yet?

You might get more opinions if it were easier to see. :) But I copied it into a Paint program and blew it up REALLY big so I could see it, and it should look really good in action!

MR

#66 Dragnerok X OFFLINE  

Dragnerok X

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 741 posts
  • Location:Bend, Oregon U.S.A.

Posted Sun Sep 10, 2006 7:32 PM

You might get more opinions if it were easier to see. :) But I copied it into a Paint program and blew it up REALLY big so I could see it, and it should look really good in action!

MR


Blowing it up distorted the graphics a bit but.....I guess it was a fair trade-off :) .

atari_3d_v2_BIG.PNG

BTW: I've already started animating this in Bb so expect a cool 3d thing in 2-3 days!!!

Edited by Dragnerok X, Sun Sep 10, 2006 7:36 PM.


#67 Jacob Rose OFFLINE  

Jacob Rose

    Dragonstomper

  • 545 posts
  • Location:Brooklyn, New York

Posted Sun Sep 10, 2006 7:43 PM

I like the "Flying Windows" screensaver. Why not make a "Flying Atari" screensaver. It'd be like Windows logos flying through space, but replacing Windows logos with Atari logos.


All this talk about this made me look into doing this on my Mac. If you have OS X, please see my blog and let me know what you think!

#68 MausBoy OFFLINE  

MausBoy

    Moonsweeper

  • 385 posts
  • bB Fan
  • Location:MO, USA

Posted Sun Sep 10, 2006 8:19 PM

I really like it, you did a fantastic job! I'm happy my logo inspired such a cool graphic.

For those who are impatient like me...

fujispin.gif

#69 atari2600land ONLINE  

atari2600land

    Channel F Viewer

  • 11,609 posts
  • Location:Salem, Oregon

Posted Sun Sep 10, 2006 8:45 PM

Very nice! :cool: It'd be great if it kept on spinning and didn't stop, like MausBoy's avatar.

Edited by atari2600land, Sun Sep 10, 2006 8:46 PM.


#70 Dragnerok X OFFLINE  

Dragnerok X

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 741 posts
  • Location:Bend, Oregon U.S.A.

Posted Sun Sep 10, 2006 9:11 PM

Thanks for all the nice comments everyone. Actually it appears I'm days ahead of schedule because I just finished. Check it out! :D

Attached File  3d_vectari.bas.bin   4KB   205 downloads

#71 jbanes OFFLINE  

jbanes

    River Patroller

  • 3,080 posts
  • Coming soon to a natural satellite near you...

Posted Sun Sep 10, 2006 9:16 PM

Thanks for all the nice comments everyone. Actually it appears I'm days ahead of schedule because I just finished. Check it out! :D

Very nice! My only request is, can you double or quadruple size the sprite(s)? It's kind of tiny right now. :)

#72 Dragnerok X OFFLINE  

Dragnerok X

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 741 posts
  • Location:Bend, Oregon U.S.A.

Posted Sun Sep 10, 2006 9:18 PM

Thanks for all the nice comments everyone. Actually it appears I'm days ahead of schedule because I just finished. Check it out! :D

Very nice! My only request is, can you double or quadruple size the sprite(s)? It's kind of tiny right now. :)


Maybe, I guess so. I did it with the Atari OS logo why can't I do it with this? O.K. :)

#73 mojofltr OFFLINE  

mojofltr

    River Patroller

  • 2,632 posts

Posted Sun Sep 10, 2006 11:01 PM

You could also recycle the Pong game into another screensaver/clock ie... On startup have the user set the time, then have two computer players go at it, only scoring every 60 seconds as the time changes.

#74 jbanes OFFLINE  

jbanes

    River Patroller

  • 3,080 posts
  • Coming soon to a natural satellite near you...

Posted Mon Sep 11, 2006 8:20 AM

On startup have the user set the time

Just a thought, but if you go as far as allowing the user to set the time, you could use the score field on the GUI screen as a clock. Just add a colon to the list of extra characters, then modify the score to only show the numbers/characters of the time.

#75 atari2600land ONLINE  

atari2600land

    Channel F Viewer

  • 11,609 posts
  • Location:Salem, Oregon

Posted Mon Sep 11, 2006 12:24 PM

Since cartridges have no internal batteries, setting the time on startup every time would be kind of annoying IMHO.

Edited by atari2600land, Mon Sep 11, 2006 12:26 PM.





0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users