Jump to content

Photo

Pacman help please


9 replies to this topic

#1 BornOfFire OFFLINE  

BornOfFire

    Combat Commando

  • 2 posts

Posted Thu Nov 2, 2006 3:17 PM

I recently installed a sit down Ms Pacman machine in my store and heard there was a code book that would allow the game to play in turbo, play as regular Mr. Pacman, extra lives, and more. Been searching the internet and just can't find it. I have read thread about people talking about a secert manual with all this stuff in it, but can't find it. Could someone please help. Thank you

#2 Brian R. OFFLINE  

Brian R.

    River Patroller

  • 2,534 posts
  • Location:Pittsburgh, Pa.

Posted Thu Nov 2, 2006 3:53 PM

I recently installed a sit down Ms Pacman machine in my store and heard there was a code book that would allow the game to play in turbo, play as regular Mr. Pacman, extra lives, and more. Been searching the internet and just can't find it. I have read thread about people talking about a secert manual with all this stuff in it, but can't find it. Could someone please help. Thank you



You might want to ask in the arcade coin-ops forum. May be a better chance of finding someone there who can answer this.

And welcome! :)

#3 Nukey Shay OFFLINE  

Nukey Shay

    Sheik Yerbouti

  • 21,124 posts
  • Location:The land of Gorch

Posted Sat Nov 4, 2006 3:47 PM

No code book...but the game's DIP switch settings allow you to change the speed and number of reserve lives. Of course, you'd need to be the machine owner to access these toggle switches. Playing M.A.M.E. at home allows you to change them (as well as a plethora of other cheating options).

#4 BornOfFire OFFLINE  

BornOfFire

    Combat Commando

  • Topic Starter
  • 2 posts

Posted Sat Nov 4, 2006 3:53 PM

No code book...but the game's DIP switch settings allow you to change the speed and number of reserve lives. Of course, you'd need to be the machine owner to access these toggle switches. Playing M.A.M.E. at home allows you to change them (as well as a plethora of other cheating options).

I heard from the guy who gave me the machine that there is a manual that has codes to play the orginal pacman on the ms pacman machine and also play in turbo mode and others. I thought if i search the internet i could find it. All I found was this http://www.toolprice.../product/7787XX which says this "FREE- I will include a "secret" service manual that contains "cheat" codes for free lives, extra games, and hidden settings (like "super speed") in Ms Pac-Man (a $39.95 value FREE)" Someone at my shop said they saw someone playing the machine in turbo a couple of days so I know its out there.

#5 Nukey Shay OFFLINE  

Nukey Shay

    Sheik Yerbouti

  • 21,124 posts
  • Location:The land of Gorch

Posted Thu Nov 9, 2006 4:55 PM


No code book...but the game's DIP switch settings allow you to change the speed and number of reserve lives. Of course, you'd need to be the machine owner to access these toggle switches. Playing M.A.M.E. at home allows you to change them (as well as a plethora of other cheating options).

I heard from the guy who gave me the machine that there is a manual that has codes to play the orginal pacman on the ms pacman machine and also play in turbo mode and others. I thought if i search the internet i could find it. All I found was this http://www.toolprice.../product/7787XX which says this "FREE- I will include a "secret" service manual that contains "cheat" codes for free lives, extra games, and hidden settings (like "super speed") in Ms Pac-Man (a $39.95 value FREE)" Someone at my shop said they saw someone playing the machine in turbo a couple of days so I know its out there.


News to me. But I still think it's complete bunk. Dav?

#6 jbanes OFFLINE  

jbanes

    River Patroller

  • 3,079 posts
  • Coming soon to a natural satellite near you...

Posted Thu Nov 9, 2006 5:00 PM

FREE- I will upgrade the video card to a super VGA (a $300 value FREE)

Sounds like either a MAME reproduction cabinet, or a scam. If it's the former, then the "codebook" would simply tell you how to mess with MAME.

#7 Dav OFFLINE  

Dav

    Moonsweeper

  • 353 posts

Posted Wed Feb 7, 2007 11:11 AM



No code book...but the game's DIP switch settings allow you to change the speed and number of reserve lives. Of course, you'd need to be the machine owner to access these toggle switches. Playing M.A.M.E. at home allows you to change them (as well as a plethora of other cheating options).

I heard from the guy who gave me the machine that there is a manual that has codes to play the orginal pacman on the ms pacman machine and also play in turbo mode and others. I thought if i search the internet i could find it. All I found was this http://www.toolprice.../product/7787XX which says this "FREE- I will include a "secret" service manual that contains "cheat" codes for free lives, extra games, and hidden settings (like "super speed") in Ms Pac-Man (a $39.95 value FREE)" Someone at my shop said they saw someone playing the machine in turbo a couple of days so I know its out there.


News to me. But I still think it's complete bunk. Dav?


If he has the ms pac/galaga aniversary edition then yes there is a joystick code to play regular pacman and the speed is adjustable in the dip menu.

If you have the original ms pacman you can play pacman by removing the ribbon cable that goes from the 40 pin cpu socket to the ms pac daughterboard. Remove the cpu from the daughterboard and place in the main boards now empty cpu socket. The graphics will be a little off but you'll be playing pacman :)

To change the speed on the original one you will need a replacement rom called a speedup chip. The difficulty setting will speedup gameplay also if it's too easy for you. In mame it lists it as a dip switch but on an actual board it's actually a solder pad you'll have to solder.

I don't usually read this forum any more ;) I'll try to check it more often.

#8 awace OFFLINE  

awace

    Dragonstomper

  • 544 posts
  • Location:MN,USA

Posted Sat Jul 14, 2007 6:00 PM

REMOVED LAME POST

Edited by awace, Sat Sep 6, 2008 10:56 AM.


#9 awace OFFLINE  

awace

    Dragonstomper

  • 544 posts
  • Location:MN,USA

Posted Sat Jul 14, 2007 6:00 PM

removed lame post again.
I think once you enter up up down code and get into pacman you can enter dip switch mode once in pacman to set pacmans dip settings...? I dont know i dont have a reunion pcb.

Edited by awace, Thu May 28, 2009 2:58 AM.


#10 awace OFFLINE  

awace

    Dragonstomper

  • 544 posts
  • Location:MN,USA

Posted Sat Sep 6, 2008 10:54 AM

1981 with Namco! If game is on coin play, insert a coin(s) to add a credit.
Press any start button. The "start" screen will display, allowing you to choose Ms. Pac-Man or Galaga.
Make the following moves with the joystick:
UP, UP, UP
DOWN, DOWN, DOWN
LEFT, RIGHT, LEFT, RIGHT, LEFT
P1 (START!!!!!!!!!!!!!)
If you did it right, you'll START PLAYING PACMAN


The "start" screen will display, allowing you to choose Ms. Pac-Man or Galaga.
Make the following moves with the joystick:
UP, UP, UP
DOWN, DOWN, DOWN
LEFT, RIGHT, LEFT, RIGHT, LEFT
If you did it right, you'll see Blinky- the red "ghost"- turn from red to pink ("Pinky"), and hear a corresponding series of tones from the game ("extra life" tone). @ THIS POINT THEN ENTER THE SETTINGS MENU W DIP OR BUTTON!
THEN REBOOT THEN LEAVE IN MSPACMAN/GALAGA MODE THEN RE ENTER DIP MODE CAUSE ITS NOT THE SAME AS PACMAN.
GOOD LUCK!
Press either 1 player or 2 player Ms. Pac-Man button to play regular Pac-Man. The regular Pac-Man game will display and play on the screen.

Edited by awace, Thu May 28, 2009 2:57 AM.





0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users