Jump to content

Photo

My 2600 demos here


74 replies to this topic

#1 LS_Dracon OFFLINE  

LS_Dracon

    Dragonstomper

  • 761 posts

Posted Mon Dec 11, 2006 12:33 PM

Hi people
I hope demos can be posted here...
I'm start do make demos, to get better atari hardware knowledge and programming itself before my first original game. I create this topic for don't need create one topic for every single demo that I finish... So all will post here.

At this time I brought to you a Donkey Kong sprite demo.
The port of 2600 had sad sprites, so I try make a better looking.
I don't know how to use both players at same time and same positioning using 16 bit sprite data (GRP0-RESP0-GRP0, GRP1-RESP1-GRP1?), so I use flickering sprites.
See above the image for comparission :

1- Original from arcade
2 - My try
3 - Official port for 2600 (get me sick :P )

This use 2 colors, 16 bit wide sprite, and a animation.
Ah, the white part is a ball hidden behind players ;)

What you think?

Here's the binary, it's just a graphic demo. (new version at bottom)
(Sorry my poor english)

Attached Images

  • dk_change.gif

Edited by LS_Dracon, Tue Dec 12, 2006 5:56 AM.


#2 Albert ONLINE  

Albert

    Quadrunner

  • 34,560 posts

Posted Mon Dec 11, 2006 1:11 PM

I tried this out in Stella 2.2 (in OS X) and poor Donkey Kong is split in half with a fair amount of distance between his two halves. Him and Mario look quite good outside of that, though.

..Al

#3 SpiceWare ONLINE  

SpiceWare

    Draconian

  • 12,295 posts
  • Medieval Mayhem
  • Location:Planet Houston

Posted Mon Dec 11, 2006 1:50 PM

Same here via XP in the office running Stella 2.2

Attached Thumbnails

  • dk_sprite_demo.bin.png


#4 SeaGtGruff OFFLINE  

SeaGtGruff

    Quadrunner

  • 5,566 posts
  • Location:South Carolina, USA

Posted Mon Dec 11, 2006 4:28 PM

What you think?

It looks good, but next time, can you post a larger image? It's a little hard to see it. :)

Michael

#5 Albert ONLINE  

Albert

    Quadrunner

  • 34,560 posts

Posted Mon Dec 11, 2006 4:49 PM

Same here via XP in the office running Stella 2.2

How did you get that screenshot? Did you composite two images?

..Al

#6 xybot67 OFFLINE  

xybot67

    Moonsweeper

  • 271 posts
  • Location:Montreal, Canada

Posted Mon Dec 11, 2006 6:10 PM

I tried it on Z26 (no split). It looks fantastic!! Keep up the good work.

#7 atari2600land ONLINE  

atari2600land

    Channel F Viewer

  • 11,344 posts
  • Location:Salem, Oregon

Posted Mon Dec 11, 2006 6:36 PM

Same here via XP in the office running Stella 2.2

How did you get that screenshot? Did you composite two images?

..Al

I tried to take a screenshot and only the light brown showed up. And they're split like in the photo.

#8 stephena OFFLINE  

stephena

    River Patroller

  • 3,256 posts
  • Stella maintainer
  • Location:Newfoundland, Canada

Posted Mon Dec 11, 2006 7:19 PM

Same here via XP in the office running Stella 2.2

How did you get that screenshot? Did you composite two images?

..Al

I tried to take a screenshot and only the light brown showed up. And they're split like in the photo.

This is happening with the CVS version of Stella as well. I don't know what's going on. As for the screenshot issue, this game seems to use 30Hz flicker mode. So if you take a snapshot, you're only going to get one half or the other. Turn on phosphor mode (Alt-p), then the snapshot will include both parts (phosphor mode actually blends two frames together).

#9 Albert ONLINE  

Albert

    Quadrunner

  • 34,560 posts

Posted Mon Dec 11, 2006 7:19 PM

Same here via XP in the office running Stella 2.2

How did you get that screenshot? Did you composite two images?

..Al

I tried to take a screenshot and only the light brown showed up. And they're split like in the photo.

That's normal because the full graphics are not displayed every frame (hence the flickering). If you take a snapshot, you'll only get what's on the screen during the frame the snapshot was taken. Normally in this case if you want a "full" screenshot, you need to composite the frames together (using Photoshop or some other image editing tool).

..Al

#10 Zach OFFLINE  

Zach

    Stargunner

  • 1,620 posts

Posted Mon Dec 11, 2006 7:19 PM

Just tried on a real Atari (used a Krok Cart), and z26 gives a more accurate picture than Stella. The flickering might look better if you do it Venetian style. :)

#11 Uzumaki OFFLINE  

Uzumaki

    River Patroller

  • 2,320 posts

Posted Mon Dec 11, 2006 7:47 PM

I tried it on my emu and I'm also getting a split DK plus there's a large white square appearing a lot next to the left half's face.

#12 Bakasama OFFLINE  

Bakasama

    Stargunner

  • 1,666 posts
  • Kitava is just too hard

Posted Mon Dec 11, 2006 8:20 PM

Despite a few obvious problems, this show a lot promise.

#13 SpiceWare ONLINE  

SpiceWare

    Draconian

  • 12,295 posts
  • Medieval Mayhem
  • Location:Planet Houston

Posted Mon Dec 11, 2006 8:32 PM

Same here via XP in the office running Stella 2.2

How did you get that screenshot? Did you composite two images?

..Al

Turned on phosphor mode - ALT-P under XP as I was in the office. At home I'd use APPLE-SHIFT-P under OS X.

#14 Albert ONLINE  

Albert

    Quadrunner

  • 34,560 posts

Posted Mon Dec 11, 2006 8:40 PM

Same here via XP in the office running Stella 2.2

How did you get that screenshot? Did you composite two images?

..Al

Turned on phosphor mode - ALT-P under XP as I was in the office. At home I'd use APPLE-SHIFT-P under OS X.

Oh duh! I didn't think to use phosphor mode! Thanks for the tip. That will save me a lot of time when trying to take snapshots of new games (which I've done a lot of in the past week!)

..Al

#15 SeaGtGruff OFFLINE  

SeaGtGruff

    Quadrunner

  • 5,566 posts
  • Location:South Carolina, USA

Posted Mon Dec 11, 2006 11:13 PM

What you think?

Tried it on z26 and it looks great! Weird about Stella splitting it up, though. By the way, z26 shows that you've got 263 lines, so you might want to fix that. It's no big deal for NTSC, but if your line count in off on PAL versions, they say it will mess up the colors.

Michael

#16 SpiceWare ONLINE  

SpiceWare

    Draconian

  • 12,295 posts
  • Medieval Mayhem
  • Location:Planet Houston

Posted Mon Dec 11, 2006 11:42 PM

Looks ok on a real Atari

#17 batari OFFLINE  

batari

    )66]U('=I;B$*

  • 6,666 posts
  • begin 644 contest

Posted Mon Dec 11, 2006 11:51 PM

The "split" in Stella seems to be due to a bug with RIOT emulation, i.e. the horizontal positioning uses the RIOT timer (TIM1T).

#18 LS_Dracon OFFLINE  

LS_Dracon

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 761 posts

Posted Tue Dec 12, 2006 5:53 AM

I tried this out in Stella 2.2 (in OS X) and poor Donkey Kong is split in half with a fair amount of distance between his two halves.

Same here via XP in the office running Stella 2.2


You're right, I tested only in Z26. Sorry, my fault :( But thanks to advice. :)
Fixed! Now works ok on stella too.

I tried it on Z26 (no split). It looks fantastic!! Keep up the good work

Tnx, but fantastic is that dragon from Medieval Mayhem, without flicker...

Just tried on a real Atari (used a Krok Cart), and z26 gives a more accurate picture than Stella. The flickering might look better if you do it Venetian style.


Venetian? Sorry I don't understand... you spoke interlaced lines? Like the letter code?

Looks ok on a real Atari

Really? cool :)

The "split" in Stella seems to be due to a bug with RIOT emulation, i.e. the horizontal positioning uses the RIOT timer (TIM1T).

Or this code aren't efficient :( I'm still learning...

Tanks for all.

New version :

Attached Files


Edited by LS_Dracon, Tue Dec 12, 2006 5:59 AM.


#19 Atariboy2600 OFFLINE  

Atariboy2600

    River Patroller

  • 2,039 posts

Posted Tue Dec 12, 2006 7:30 AM

FINALY a real looking DK arcade port I Really hope you complet this game and all FOUR stage levels :lust:

#20 LS_Dracon OFFLINE  

LS_Dracon

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 761 posts

Posted Wed Dec 13, 2006 11:26 AM

Tnx AtariBoy
Not so real, but I try more close as possible. This game is very hard to program, don't wait, in future maybe :cool:

There's a new update, more sprites like princess and that fire thing. Work on Z26 and Stella emulators.

Attached Thumbnails

  • dk_screen.gif

Attached Files



#21 Atariboy2600 OFFLINE  

Atariboy2600

    River Patroller

  • 2,039 posts

Posted Wed Dec 13, 2006 11:58 AM

Tnx AtariBoy
Not so real, but I try more close as possible. This game is very hard to program, don't wait, in future maybe :cool:

There's a new update, more sprites like princess and that fire thing. Work on Z26 and Stella emulators.



OH MY NINTENDO GOD :-o

#22 Gregory DG OFFLINE  

Gregory DG

    TAT IS BACK!

  • 11,238 posts
  • Go Cardinals!
  • Location:Winter Haven, FL

Posted Wed Dec 13, 2006 12:07 PM

I get a lot of flicker in z26, but aside from that, it looks great! (Dare I say better than the 8-bit version?)

#23 Albert ONLINE  

Albert

    Quadrunner

  • 34,560 posts

Posted Wed Dec 13, 2006 12:26 PM

I get a lot of flicker in z26, but aside from that, it looks great! (Dare I say better than the 8-bit version?)

That is beautiful--I may have to try this on a real television later to see how it looks..

..Al

#24 Atariboy2600 OFFLINE  

Atariboy2600

    River Patroller

  • 2,039 posts

Posted Wed Dec 13, 2006 12:42 PM

I get a lot of flicker in z26, but aside from that, it looks great! (Dare I say better than the 8-bit version?)



If he keeps up making this game more and more like the arcade I think its may well be better then the 8-bit DK I mean look at Mario from here and tell me hes looks more like the arcade then the XL vesion. :cool:

#25 Nathan Strum OFFLINE  

Nathan Strum

    Quadrunner

  • 8,017 posts
  • Enjoying a sandwich
  • Location:Newhall, CA

Posted Wed Dec 13, 2006 12:48 PM

There's a new update, more sprites like princess and that fire thing. Work on Z26 and Stella emulators.

That's astonishing!

Nice work! (You realize though... nobody is going to leave you alone until you actually program the whole game now.) ;)




0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users